We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so, experience varies depending on day and location of room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Warrensburg, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“So-so, experience varies depending on day and location of room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I've stayed here twice now for business in the past month. The first time (early October) I was not that impressed. It was taking awhile to get people checked in (this was after the 4pm check-in time had started) because rooms had still not been cleaned. I was able to get in within a few minutes, but people were being turned away who had been guaranteed their room would be ready at 4pm. The most frustrating part was that there were 5 to 6 of us waiting, it was taking a few minutes per person to get checked in, but they waited a good 5 minutes before finally getting another employee to come out and operate the third computer.

My other complaint was that the floor I was on (first) was noisy; there's a decent gap under the door that let in a lot of noise, whether it was a housekeeper rolling her cart or guests talking.

The second stay I had was MUCH better. It was during the week and it seemed a lot less busy, so I would recommend this hotel if you're going during the middle of the week. This time I got the top floor, and the noise level was also much better.

Mixed feelings, I would stay again if it was during the week, but for my next stay I am trying a different hotel just to see how it compares.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, and ask for one on the south side of the hotel away from I-70.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Rebecca C, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our efforts to improve the service level and facilities. I am pleased to know that you recently had a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered in the past. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    37
    38
    23
    16
See reviews for
49
16
9
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and two good friends spent three nights here on a trip to watch a MIZZOU football game. The hotel was clean, very well appointed, the furniture and beds and pillows were quite comfortable and the rooms spacious. There was an excellent complimentary breakfast buffet featuring a variety of hot and cold items, pretty much anything you might want. Anticipating a larger crowd due to the football weekend, the hotel opened a full an additional breakfast buffet in one of their banquet rooms to accomodate everyone and make sure all the fans were fed and off to the game in plenty of time. Most impressive were the people. Every member of the staff we encountered was cheerful, helpful, eager to please - no one waited for us to ask for anything, they asked what they could do for us. In addition to the sports bar/restaurant on premises, there was also a fine dining restaurant that we did not visit, but the menu looked very inviting. Because it was a football weekend, the rates for two of the nights were a bit pricey, but that is to be expected at any facility. When we return to Columbia (and we will, those Missourians are great folks!) we will most certainly stay at the Holiday Inn Select.

Room Tip: The hotel is just off Interstate 70 by a mall and among various chain outlets, but we had adjoining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear garyjane89, Thank you for taking the time to respond to your experience at the hotel. We're happy to hear you found the staff and facilities top notch. We always strive for great service and love to hear feedback that we're hitting our goal. We value your comments and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed from Sat. to Thurs. here and was pleased with the room. Our room was clean. They kept the towels stocked each day and we were pleased that feature. The staff seemed nice and we had no problem with any of them. The price was a little pricey especially when you were not offered any kind of specials such as comps or anything. The conference area was nice along with the banquets but on the days when we had no banquets it would have been nice for the price to have been offered some type of breakfast or something for the price we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Alberta H, Thank you for providing us feedback on your stay. We're happy to hear you had a positive experience and enjoyed our conference space and service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

For the price, Marriott or other chain will probably give better value for the dollar. Floor was uneven and it was "OK," but for the price I paid I expect top of the line. Location not too great and the employees were always clustered around visiting when I saw them. It was under some major reconstruction and hard to find.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear abc_casias, Thank you for taking the time to respond with your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the hotel. We are in the middle of reconstruction so hopefully the next time you're in Columbia the hotel will be completely made over. We always appreciate feedback, whether positive or negative, to help improve our facilities and service. We will make note of your comments and work to improve. Thank you again for commenting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night in October. We paid almost $150 for one night. For that price I expect it to be spotless. I don't usually pay that much for a hotel (except for downtown Chicago), but we were staying with my son's team.

This hotel was anything but spotless. Our first room was on the bottom floor and smelled damp. The window looked out onto the construction area and air conditioning units. The bathroom was remodeled, but the rest of the room was stained and dingy. I went to the desk and asked for a room on a higher floor. We were given one on the third floor and the room itself smelled better and had a better view. However, the bathroom was outdated and not completely clean. We decided to stick with that room, because moving our stuff once was enough.

The people working were very friendly. NO complaints there. However, the carpets all over the hotel were stained, remodeling was being done, and the rooms were dim and outdated.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Mom2blondes, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We're happy to hear our staff was professional and friendly however it is unfortunate your experience with our hotel facilities prevented you from fully enjoying your stay. We are in the middle of renovating and are confident the necessary adjustments will be made in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desloge, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went to Columbia for my daughters volleyball game against Mighty Mizzou. We had a hard time getting a room, but decided to bid online thru Priceline.com. The price I offered was accepted by the Holiday Inn Executive Center. It was near my daughters team's motel (La Quinta). I had been to this motel several times for industry meetings, etc, so I was familiar with the decor, etc. But, had never been in one of the rooms.

You could tell the rooms were older, but had been updated. The room we were in was perfectly fine and we were happy with the price vs room. The bathroom had a nicer glass shower, but not tub (not an issue with us).

About the only issue we had (and it was very minor) was that the iron didn't work. But, I notified Josephine? at the front desk and we had one in less than 10 minutes.

Room Tip: We had room 332 which looked overlooked the large lobby/conference area. This is a good room.if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstaff1234, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Semoguy, Thank you for your feedback. We're happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you had a good experience with our staff. We're always looking to improve our hotel so we appreciate all your thoughts and comments. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel boasted both an indoor and outdoor pool, fitness center, and in some places, a whirlpool, other sites don't mention it. I called to confirm while on the way and the operator could not find my reservation. She insisted that I must have made my reservation at another Holiday Inn. Finally she realized that she was spelling my name wrong.

When we arrived, we found that while it looks like a very nice hotel, the indoor pool was shut down, the outdoor pool was not only full of leaves, but there was algae growing on the bottom of the pool. There were a couple of things covered with tarps as though they were not working, but I don't know what they were. The water was freezing cold, (in early September) and even my son wouldn't get in. We never did find a working whirlpool. By the way, with few working amenities, there was no breakfast provided either. While the amenities that were promised were non-existent, the price was not adjusted at all. This hotel is very overpriced, and it would have been nice to know that renovations were going on. We would have stayed elsewhere if we had known that there was nothing to do. Outside of the exercise room, this Holiday Inn is a dud! I'm finished with Holiday Inn. I have payed much less for much better amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We truly apologize the indoor pool was closed during your visit. We had an unexpected situation that required our immediate attention and that has been resolved. The outdoor pool can be a little tricky this time of year as the leaves begin to fall, but we were working to keep it open a bit longer with the indoor pool being out for a few days.
I would welcome the opportunity to visit with you via telephone. I may be reached at 573-445-8531, ext. 785.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.