We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Columbia
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, bad restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here on a cross-country trip with a rental truck. We had no problems parking the large truck in the parking lot. The service at the front desk was very efficient and friendly. Our rooms were clean and everything was in good working order. We were offered passes to the executive lounge, so we went there in the evening for a glass of wine. The food offered was very limited, but the service was nice. We tried to eat in the Sports Bar attached to the hotel, but despite there being only two other people in the restaurant when we got there, the waitress and bartender couldn't be bothered with helping us, so we walked out and told the hotel manager about this problem. We did eat breakfast in the restaurant, but it was a buffet and the service was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    50
    39
    25
    18
See reviews for
57
17
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time staying here as we flew in to drop off my daughter at college. Yes, it's a bummer the hotel is undergoing renovations but they seem needed. Our room was great though, no complaints. To compensate, we got free drink coupons which was nice and the buffet breakfast which is included in the price was great! They do have a shuttle service to the hotel which is $20 but that's cheaper than a taxi! They really helped me out when I needed a quick ride four miles away..and they made sure I got where I needed to go! One suggestion....people tend to hang out near the temporary entrance and smoke...can we move them further away so we don't have to walk through a smoke cloud?

Room Tip: There are some first floor rooms right off the pool that look nice but I'm not sure if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
181 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20-years and have attended several conventions here. Over the years, previous management let this place run down to the ground to the point I stopped staying here several years ago. Traveling here on business and getting a great rate, I decided to stay here and give it another chance. Columbia has extensive work with the roads and storm water drains around the hotel and the hotel itself is undergoing extensive renovation. I like this hotel and was pleased to see that it is finally getting updated. My room was one of the updated rooms and must say I was very pleased with the renovation and updating. I will admit the lobby renovation is unique with the three work stations. Every staff member I encountered was pleasant and helpful. Like I said, I have always like this hotel and pleased to see it getting back to its prime.

I will be back in a couple of weeks and plan to stay here again to see where they are with their upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly appreciate that you have returned to staying with us while visiting Columbia.
The entire staff and management is extremely excited about the recent updates and much more is coming so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. Mold and water stains are throughout the hotel. A lot of things no longer work. It seems like it used to be a very nice hotel, but the owners are clearly not maintaining it. The staff however, was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear mckapke,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the hotel. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is right along the lines of average. It seems to be set up as striving for the upper echelon of properties, but not quite making it. The rooms were dated, but mostly comfortable, and the foyer, lobby, etc. always seemed depressed. While the staff were friendly, it seemed the atmosphere in the public areas of the hotel was deflated. Also, I would have loved for there to have been furniture in the room other than a bed and desk chair. It is nice to have an actual chair to sit down in, and my room offered no such thing.
This Holiday Inn is very conveniently located to I-70, the Columbia Mall, and it is only a short drive downtown. Overall, this place is average, not bad, but should cost less, or upgrade. I do not like being in a parking lot, and lobby that feels like a scene from the Walking Dead. This Holiday Inn could be doing a great deal better, and for the money should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear paulinmo,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the room accommodations you received that was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our team has stayed at this hotel the past two years during the Show Me State Games. The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in a non-smoking room, and the full beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and it does not appear these rooms have been renovated. The bathroom is dated, but met our family's needs. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors and people in the hallway. When the kids weren't playing in the games, we were at the pool. They have a large pool area, which is great if you are traveling with a large group of kids. My big complaint is CHECK-IN! You can't check-in until 4:00, and they don't allow early check-ins. That means EVERYONE starts checking in at 4:00! We waited in line for an hour to get our room keys. Last year was just as bad. This is a big hotel, and I would think they would be able to come up with a better plan when they know there will be a high volume of check-ins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We know you have several options while visiting Columbia for the Show-Me State Games.
We do try to check guests in early if at all possible. However, on this particular date, the hotel was fortunate to be completely sold out the night before. This resulted in check-in taking place at 4 p.m. as guaranteed.
Thank you again for your kind words and review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on July 7th heading back to Colorado. I was a bit concerned having read some of the other reviews. Our stay was excellent. Impressive lobby and room renovations for sure. Front desk staff was friendly and attentive to our needs as we checked in after midnight. Nice breakfast in the restaurant and most attentive waitress! Not sure why the mixed reviews as our stay was pleasant. I have stayed in another chain hotel that was well below our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#12 of 37 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn Columbia
Drury Inn Columbia
#11 of 37 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbia Univ Area - Hwy 63
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.