We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under renovation but great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Bakersfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Under renovation but great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time staying here as we flew in to drop off my daughter at college. Yes, it's a bummer the hotel is undergoing renovations but they seem needed. Our room was great though, no complaints. To compensate, we got free drink coupons which was nice and the buffet breakfast which is included in the price was great! They do have a shuttle service to the hotel which is $20 but that's cheaper than a taxi! They really helped me out when I needed a quick ride four miles away..and they made sure I got where I needed to go! One suggestion....people tend to hang out near the temporary entrance and smoke...can we move them further away so we don't have to walk through a smoke cloud?

Room Tip: There are some first floor rooms right off the pool that look nice but I'm not sure if they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    37
    22
    16
See reviews for
49
16
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20-years and have attended several conventions here. Over the years, previous management let this place run down to the ground to the point I stopped staying here several years ago. Traveling here on business and getting a great rate, I decided to stay here and give it another chance. Columbia has extensive work with the roads and storm water drains around the hotel and the hotel itself is undergoing extensive renovation. I like this hotel and was pleased to see that it is finally getting updated. My room was one of the updated rooms and must say I was very pleased with the renovation and updating. I will admit the lobby renovation is unique with the three work stations. Every staff member I encountered was pleasant and helpful. Like I said, I have always like this hotel and pleased to see it getting back to its prime.

I will be back in a couple of weeks and plan to stay here again to see where they are with their upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly appreciate that you have returned to staying with us while visiting Columbia.
The entire staff and management is extremely excited about the recent updates and much more is coming so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. Mold and water stains are throughout the hotel. A lot of things no longer work. It seems like it used to be a very nice hotel, but the owners are clearly not maintaining it. The staff however, was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear mckapke,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the hotel. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is right along the lines of average. It seems to be set up as striving for the upper echelon of properties, but not quite making it. The rooms were dated, but mostly comfortable, and the foyer, lobby, etc. always seemed depressed. While the staff were friendly, it seemed the atmosphere in the public areas of the hotel was deflated. Also, I would have loved for there to have been furniture in the room other than a bed and desk chair. It is nice to have an actual chair to sit down in, and my room offered no such thing.
This Holiday Inn is very conveniently located to I-70, the Columbia Mall, and it is only a short drive downtown. Overall, this place is average, not bad, but should cost less, or upgrade. I do not like being in a parking lot, and lobby that feels like a scene from the Walking Dead. This Holiday Inn could be doing a great deal better, and for the money should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear paulinmo,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the room accommodations you received that was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our team has stayed at this hotel the past two years during the Show Me State Games. The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in a non-smoking room, and the full beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and it does not appear these rooms have been renovated. The bathroom is dated, but met our family's needs. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors and people in the hallway. When the kids weren't playing in the games, we were at the pool. They have a large pool area, which is great if you are traveling with a large group of kids. My big complaint is CHECK-IN! You can't check-in until 4:00, and they don't allow early check-ins. That means EVERYONE starts checking in at 4:00! We waited in line for an hour to get our room keys. Last year was just as bad. This is a big hotel, and I would think they would be able to come up with a better plan when they know there will be a high volume of check-ins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We know you have several options while visiting Columbia for the Show-Me State Games.
We do try to check guests in early if at all possible. However, on this particular date, the hotel was fortunate to be completely sold out the night before. This resulted in check-in taking place at 4 p.m. as guaranteed.
Thank you again for your kind words and review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on July 7th heading back to Colorado. I was a bit concerned having read some of the other reviews. Our stay was excellent. Impressive lobby and room renovations for sure. Front desk staff was friendly and attentive to our needs as we checked in after midnight. Nice breakfast in the restaurant and most attentive waitress! Not sure why the mixed reviews as our stay was pleasant. I have stayed in another chain hotel that was well below our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an upscale holiday inn. Great location just off the freeway next to the Columbia mall. Very modern lobby. There were elevators close to our room on the fifth floor that led to the lobby and elevators further down another corridor that were the best elevators to take to go to the outdoor courtyard pool. Very nice to have both the indoor pool and the outdoor pool to chose from. Enormous gym. The room itself was extra large with extra comfortable beds. Bathroom had some upscale touches. Plenty of cable channels to choose from, including the Disney channel, so the kids were happy. Our room door was a little tricky, for whatever reason when I closed it it didn't close all the way, so I'd have to give it an extra tug or push every time. That didn't bother me but in a hotel this nice, it could be something for them to fix. We were just driving through but after we checked in, we went to see the "Devil's Icebox" at Rock Bridge state park and that was a great quick outing. It's a sinkhole that leads to a cave entrance with a creek and since there's a cave, the sinkhole area is about twenty degrees cooler than the hot July temperatures. This was exactly 9.9 miles from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being on a higher floor. We had a view of the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel and areas to visit while in Columbia. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.