We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed Renovations in Progress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Columbia
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Needed Renovations in Progress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel for over 20-years and have attended several conventions here. Over the years, previous management let this place run down to the ground to the point I stopped staying here several years ago. Traveling here on business and getting a great rate, I decided to stay here and give it another chance. Columbia has extensive work with the roads and storm water drains around the hotel and the hotel itself is undergoing extensive renovation. I like this hotel and was pleased to see that it is finally getting updated. My room was one of the updated rooms and must say I was very pleased with the renovation and updating. I will admit the lobby renovation is unique with the three work stations. Every staff member I encountered was pleasant and helpful. Like I said, I have always like this hotel and pleased to see it getting back to its prime.

I will be back in a couple of weeks and plan to stay here again to see where they are with their upgrades.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We truly appreciate that you have returned to staying with us while visiting Columbia.
The entire staff and management is extremely excited about the recent updates and much more is coming so stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a remodel. Mold and water stains are throughout the hotel. A lot of things no longer work. It seems like it used to be a very nice hotel, but the owners are clearly not maintaining it. The staff however, was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mckapke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear mckapke,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the hotel. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for your poor experience.

Again, many thanks for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericktown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is right along the lines of average. It seems to be set up as striving for the upper echelon of properties, but not quite making it. The rooms were dated, but mostly comfortable, and the foyer, lobby, etc. always seemed depressed. While the staff were friendly, it seemed the atmosphere in the public areas of the hotel was deflated. Also, I would have loved for there to have been furniture in the room other than a bed and desk chair. It is nice to have an actual chair to sit down in, and my room offered no such thing.
This Holiday Inn is very conveniently located to I-70, the Columbia Mall, and it is only a short drive downtown. Overall, this place is average, not bad, but should cost less, or upgrade. I do not like being in a parking lot, and lobby that feels like a scene from the Walking Dead. This Holiday Inn could be doing a great deal better, and for the money should be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear paulinmo,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so glad you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the room accommodations you received that was less than satisfactory. We also apologize for the condition of our hotel affected your stay negatively. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our team has stayed at this hotel the past two years during the Show Me State Games. The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in a non-smoking room, and the full beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and it does not appear these rooms have been renovated. The bathroom is dated, but met our family's needs. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors and people in the hallway. When the kids weren't playing in the games, we were at the pool. They have a large pool area, which is great if you are traveling with a large group of kids. My big complaint is CHECK-IN! You can't check-in until 4:00, and they don't allow early check-ins. That means EVERYONE starts checking in at 4:00! We waited in line for an hour to get our room keys. Last year was just as bad. This is a big hotel, and I would think they would be able to come up with a better plan when they know there will be a high volume of check-ins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We know you have several options while visiting Columbia for the Show-Me State Games.
We do try to check guests in early if at all possible. However, on this particular date, the hotel was fortunate to be completely sold out the night before. This resulted in check-in taking place at 4 p.m. as guaranteed.
Thank you again for your kind words and review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on July 7th heading back to Colorado. I was a bit concerned having read some of the other reviews. Our stay was excellent. Impressive lobby and room renovations for sure. Front desk staff was friendly and attentive to our needs as we checked in after midnight. Nice breakfast in the restaurant and most attentive waitress! Not sure why the mixed reviews as our stay was pleasant. I have stayed in another chain hotel that was well below our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an upscale holiday inn. Great location just off the freeway next to the Columbia mall. Very modern lobby. There were elevators close to our room on the fifth floor that led to the lobby and elevators further down another corridor that were the best elevators to take to go to the outdoor courtyard pool. Very nice to have both the indoor pool and the outdoor pool to chose from. Enormous gym. The room itself was extra large with extra comfortable beds. Bathroom had some upscale touches. Plenty of cable channels to choose from, including the Disney channel, so the kids were happy. Our room door was a little tricky, for whatever reason when I closed it it didn't close all the way, so I'd have to give it an extra tug or push every time. That didn't bother me but in a hotel this nice, it could be something for them to fix. We were just driving through but after we checked in, we went to see the "Devil's Icebox" at Rock Bridge state park and that was a great quick outing. It's a sinkhole that leads to a cave entrance with a creek and since there's a cave, the sinkhole area is about twenty degrees cooler than the hot July temperatures. This was exactly 9.9 miles from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being on a higher floor. We had a view of the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtrippin392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel and areas to visit while in Columbia. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in Columbia, Missouri on July 5, 2013. A welcoming staff and gorgeous lobby were the first things to greet my family, We thought we were so lucky to find this hotel. The rooms have paper thin walls and the light from the hallway was entering our room under the door. Very disappointed. Through all of the regular sounds (people walking, talking in the hallway, shutting doors etc.) we were finally able to sleep around 11:00 p.m.. At midnight, new guest arrived in the room next to us and across the hallway. They were not overly loud, but we could still hear everything. We packed our things and left at 12:40 a.m. to find a better hotel. The staff was nice and very understanding of the situation and offered a full refund. I have no complaints with the staff, but the building is poorly constructed. Do not let the pretty lobby, water fountains, etc. fool you.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff and that you were satisfied with the service they have delivered. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with your room accommodation. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
4.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Columbia
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn Columbia
Drury Inn Columbia
#11 of 35 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center  - Columbia
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East
Holiday Inn Columbia East
#12 of 35 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia Mall. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Executive Center - Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#