We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel-Check In Needs Work!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Eureka, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel-Check In Needs Work!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our team has stayed at this hotel the past two years during the Show Me State Games. The hotel itself is very nice. We stayed in a non-smoking room, and the full beds were comfortable. We stayed on the 3rd floor, and it does not appear these rooms have been renovated. The bathroom is dated, but met our family's needs. The walls are thin so you will hear your neighbors and people in the hallway. When the kids weren't playing in the games, we were at the pool. They have a large pool area, which is great if you are traveling with a large group of kids. My big complaint is CHECK-IN! You can't check-in until 4:00, and they don't allow early check-ins. That means EVERYONE starts checking in at 4:00! We waited in line for an hour to get our room keys. Last year was just as bad. This is a big hotel, and I would think they would be able to come up with a better plan when they know there will be a high volume of check-ins.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay. We know you have several options while visiting Columbia for the Show-Me State Games.
We do try to check guests in early if at all possible. However, on this particular date, the hotel was fortunate to be completely sold out the night before. This resulted in check-in taking place at 4 p.m. as guaranteed.
Thank you again for your kind words and review. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    36
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
16
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parker
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here on July 7th heading back to Colorado. I was a bit concerned having read some of the other reviews. Our stay was excellent. Impressive lobby and room renovations for sure. Front desk staff was friendly and attentive to our needs as we checked in after midnight. Nice breakfast in the restaurant and most attentive waitress! Not sure why the mixed reviews as our stay was pleasant. I have stayed in another chain hotel that was well below our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was an upscale holiday inn. Great location just off the freeway next to the Columbia mall. Very modern lobby. There were elevators close to our room on the fifth floor that led to the lobby and elevators further down another corridor that were the best elevators to take to go to the outdoor courtyard pool. Very nice to have both the indoor pool and the outdoor pool to chose from. Enormous gym. The room itself was extra large with extra comfortable beds. Bathroom had some upscale touches. Plenty of cable channels to choose from, including the Disney channel, so the kids were happy. Our room door was a little tricky, for whatever reason when I closed it it didn't close all the way, so I'd have to give it an extra tug or push every time. That didn't bother me but in a hotel this nice, it could be something for them to fix. We were just driving through but after we checked in, we went to see the "Devil's Icebox" at Rock Bridge state park and that was a great quick outing. It's a sinkhole that leads to a cave entrance with a creek and since there's a cave, the sinkhole area is about twenty degrees cooler than the hot July temperatures. This was exactly 9.9 miles from the hotel.

Room Tip: We liked being on a higher floor. We had a view of the pool and courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We truly appreciate your comments about the hotel and areas to visit while in Columbia. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in Columbia, Missouri on July 5, 2013. A welcoming staff and gorgeous lobby were the first things to greet my family, We thought we were so lucky to find this hotel. The rooms have paper thin walls and the light from the hallway was entering our room under the door. Very disappointed. Through all of the regular sounds (people walking, talking in the hallway, shutting doors etc.) we were finally able to sleep around 11:00 p.m.. At midnight, new guest arrived in the room next to us and across the hallway. They were not overly loud, but we could still hear everything. We packed our things and left at 12:40 a.m. to find a better hotel. The staff was nice and very understanding of the situation and offered a full refund. I have no complaints with the staff, but the building is poorly constructed. Do not let the pretty lobby, water fountains, etc. fool you.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Julie R,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to know your concerns were addressed by our staff and that you were satisfied with the service they have delivered. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with your room accommodation. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordland, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Although I prefer the smaller mom & pop type hotels, I stayed at this property in conjunction with a recent conference. I've actually stayed here once each year for the past 8 or 10 years; usually an annual event with the same conference. There's no question that this is a clean, well appointed hotel. Staff are friendly and endeavor to please. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, nice workout room - well equipped. This would be a good place to stay for families with kids and/or a romantic get away for couples. It is close to shopping (relatively large mall right across the street) and plenty of eating, drinking, shopping establishments close by. Safe and enjoyable travel wishes and prayers for all, Brother Bill, Shepherd's Assistant, Nazarean Missions - nazareanmissions.org.

Room Tip: Stayed in many rooms here over the years. Never had a bad one yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed over for a night. Best decision eva. Gorgeous on the inside. It has an i door and outdoor nice pool. A salon just incase you need a haircut. D front desk staff is very professional and friendly. Rooms are spacious. Bathroom is clean and the shower feels amazing. Plenty towels for a two bedroom suite. Enough electrical outlets, a refrigerator and a nice pool view window. It's right next to the i-70 and had no trouble sleeping. Beds are very soft and comfy..pillows and sheets are neat and soft. Don't know about the breakfast menu cuz we left early in the morning. Pet friendly. Whatelse could you ask for. Very happy with it. If i ever decide to stay somewhere in columbia that will be in holiday inn !!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We know you have many choices when visiting Columbia and we truly appreciate you staying with us. Thank you so much for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was worried reading the reviews here, but the remarks are not accurate. This place has been recently renovated, gives solid value, and great staff service. Since I'm in a different hotel every night of the week, I have comparables. It is an older hotel, but I found it to be just fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.