We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an overgrown, outdated, mammoth, poor service hotel.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Columbia
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's an overgrown, outdated, mammoth, poor service hotel.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Friday and Saturday. Convenient off I70. Beside the very outdated Columbia Mall, it was a disaster from the word "go". Long check in lines! NO one would answer the operator line. Awful service. I stayed and paid extra to stay on the executive top segregated floor. It made no difference. Children running up and down the hall. Out of control. No one at the Hotel would answer the phone to give me the wi-if access code. I ended up calling the 800 number. They were horrified. The room was clean.So, cheers to housekeeping. The ONLY positive about this facility.
The Hotel was way understaffed and incapable of dealing with the weekend attendance. No HD TV. NEVER again. KB

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had during check-in and any inconvenience you may have experienced with the service you received during your stay. We also apologize you were not satisfied with the amenities in your room and the noise which affected your stay negatively. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    35
    36
    22
    15
See reviews for
47
16
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Just passing through on the way home from a long road trip. Check in was fast, room was clean and big. Ordered room service from the sports zone, wasn't expecting much but the Ribeye and all the fixings were awesome and for the price I was really impressed. Now for the 2 reasons why it didn't get an excellent overall rating from me. 1. they allow pets and had to call the front desk due a large breed dog staying in a room near us with this dog barking which did remedied the situation. 2. Water pipes are very loud and you know when your neighbors and taking a shower. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Last time we stayed there I didn't think we would ever go back but because it is so close to family we decided to give it another try. The hotel staff is over the top! Everyone is so nice, personable and helpful. The room was updated and quiet even though LSU was staying there as well as a Ty Quan Do competition group. However our beds were of poor quality. They both had a indention in the middle and were uncomfortable. The bases squeaked every time one of us turned over.The breakfast Buffett can still use some help. They are just not up to Holiday Inns standards but nothing is perfect. in spite of everything we will be back. Hope springs eternal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the Sky Suites. These are two floor suites located on the executive level and have two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a small kitchenette/living room.

Overall, we were happy with our stay and considered it a good value.

Rooms were clean and we had 3 large flatscreens in the suite. A king bed was in one bedroom and 2 doubles in the other. There is also a pullout couch in the living room.

However, there were some issues regarding the property. There were 3 buckets, apparently to hold water from a leaking roof, by the elevator on the executive level. Second, the pool needs work big time. Some of the tiles are crumbling apart and it generally appears dirty. The exercise room is great though. Third, the wifi is sketchy and requires constantly re-logging in. Fourth, the air conditioning, at least in the king bedroom, didn't work well. It worked fine in the other rooms though.

Other than that, check-in and check-out was smooth and we had no issues. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The Sky Suites are a good value. They have two bedrooms and a pullout couch in the living room. 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

After a long drive, this was a great stop. Executive floor was great, large room. big bath and tub. Our dog was welcomed as a preferred guest. The food was very good. We found all the extras, shoe shine, salon, restaurants, lounge to have good service. We will make this a continued stop on our trips west. Really took care of my 80 yr old mother while I was busy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

The overall appearance and service at the hotel was very polished. We had a very comfortable stay on the executive floor. We didn't get a chance to use many of the amenities but were happy with what they had to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Executive Center while attending a conference there. The check-in area of the lobby is super minimalist, so much so it looks kind of futuristic and disjointed from the rest of the hotel. The hotel has obviously been undergoing some renovation recently, but the sprucing up has not reached all the way through the building. A colleague staying on the 1st floor had a completely renovated room - new carpet, new bathroom. My room on the third floor was sort of done... the bedroom portion was pretty well made over, but the bathroom looked like it was stuck back in the day... it was looking pretty funky. And when flushed, the toilet sounded like it was being possessed by some sort of water demon. The beds were not terrible, but not exactly comfortable, either. The walls are thin and the doors to the hallway act like superconductors of sound, you can practically hear people breathing as they walk past your room. Someone down the hall from us was having quite a time for the better part of the evening and we could hear all of it. All that being said, it was a pretty decent stay. I got the impression they're really trying to update, so it's a work in progress. For the business side: the meeting rooms are nice, the wi-fi is free and the connection is steady.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.