We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the $'s.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 37 Hotels in Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the $'s.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went to Columbia to visit family and wanted someplace close by to stay which this was. However for our high priced senior rate, this was way overpriced. Even though the staff was very nice and accommodating the room and breakfast were not. Our air condition was blowing out freezing air when it ran but when it shut off the room got stifling and hot. The air conditioner froze up and got our carpet soggy. The carpet was worn thru in places. Even though we had passes for a free buffet every morning we only tried it once it looked so bad and sure enough in this case looks we're not deceiving! We will definitely find a different place to stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    43
    39
    24
    16
See reviews for
53
16
9
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have 2 large dogs and find it hard to get a nice, clean, safe hotel that will accommodate our pets. This hotel was perfect for that. Just off the highway it was an easy stop. Rooms are safely located inside but have very easy and quick access to a grassy area for taking pets out. They have a separate wing that is designated for pet rooms. There were several pets checked in at the same time as us, but we didn't hear a peep from any of them. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful as well. Will definitely stay here when we travel cross country again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

easy access right off the freeway. Lot's of restaurants and shopping nearby. Nice place to stay for a reasonable price. Plenty of free and easy parking. They took out the hot tub, which is a bummer but the pool is nice. They have one indoors and oudoors as well.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been a member of Holiday Inn Priority Club for many years and was not very happy with the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia, MO when I visited on 2 Aug 12. The hot water in the shower was sporadic, kept getting cold. We paid for an extra person in the room...all of us had showers that were not hot. The breakfast buffet had many items that had not been refilled from the time we walked in and sat down until the time we got up to leave...even the juice was empty. There were numerous wait staff walking around, but everything was very chaotic. Everyone was trying to do too many things and therefore service was poor. We never had a waitress ask if we wanted anything...including menus! We ended up eating at the breakfast buffet, which was very disappointing. I am a frequent visitor at Holiday Inn's and after traveling a 15-hour day, this is not what I expected. When I informed the front desk staff that I felt things were not adequate...the comment received was they "are very busy and had a pageant going on in the hotel." This is an executive center after all...and a function should not have interfered with a good nights stay at your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Annette W,

Thank you so much for being a Priority Club Member and for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for the overall dissatisfaction of your stay. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the condition of the shower and services received during breakfast. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary steps to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This place needs a wakeup call. It has some nice perks for Priority Club members and I was hopeful it would be something special, but I couldn't get past the lax housekeeping. First night there, we discovered four long, black hairs on the pillowcase. The next morning, I made a pot of coffee. While the coffee was brewing, I turned over one of the ceramic coffee mugs and discovered it was full of dried on oatmeal. Then the coffee pot overflowed because there was still water left from the previous guest inside the reservoir. The pool was extremely cloudy, the "fountain wall" had numerous tiles missing and we noticed two band-aids (used) around the sides of the pool. The staff was friendly and helpful, but when I reported the issues in our room, all I got was a "thank you - I'll let the staff know". It's not like the entire place was filthy, but a few "in your face" nasties were a real turn-off for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Gobygah,

Thank you for being a Priority Club member and for leaving us a feedback. I am pleased that you gave us high scores on Rooms and Sleep Quality. Kindly accept our sincerest apology for falling short of your expectations. Our aim is to deliver the best service to all of our guests and your experience is most untypical of our usual standards. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues raised in your feedback abut the pool and our housekeeping service and these will certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I booked 2 rooms through Priceline. In accordance with Priceline's policies I contacted the hotel in advance of our stay to specify bed size requirements as well as non-smoking, pet-free rooms. Upon arrival the only temporary glitch in getting our rooms as requested was a new employee at the front desk. All was quickly resolved with the assistance of the manager. The rooms were huge by today's hotel standards. The rooms were also very clean and the beds were comfortable. Ammenities included a mini-fridge, a microwave and a coffee maker. Our room also included the breakfast buffet which was very good. The hotel is located off of I-70 but we did not have any traffic noise. There are strip malls in the surrounding area but we did not check these out as our point of interest was the University of Missouri which was an easy 4 mile drive.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel and permits smoking in some rooms. Be sure to specify your preferences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

For many years our very large veterans organization has held its annual state convention at this hotel. Our convention, which brings in veterans and volunteers from all over the state, is large enough to have rented virtually every room in the hotel.

Our hospitality rooms, which cost each district over $300 per night were forcibly locked down at 11pm every night of the weekend by hotel staff. Veterans and volunteers were literally "padlocked" behind a 5'x8' gate to prevent them from socializing and lounging around the pool area. The hotel's bar, however, remained open until 1am.

This hotel not only disrespected a large number of combat veterans with this activity, but has upset enough of our membership to cause our organization to move its convention to Springfield, MO. Needless to say, we will not be staying at a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Veteran A,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our property. We appreciate you choosing our hotel as the annual host of your state convention. I'm sorry you received unacceptable service from our staff and regret you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We take comments such as these seriously and will address these points to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to our guests. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center

Address: 2200 I-70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Select Executive Center - Columbia, MO. This majestic Columbia, MO hotel is the only true full service hotel in Columbia, MO & is just minutes away from the University of MO campus & the Downtown District. This luxurious hotel is adjacent to the Columbia Mall and Cosmopolitan Park. The Holiday Inn Select is located at exit 124 right off I-70 and is just a quick drive to the Columbia Regional Airport.Along with offering complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, you can also enjoy a refreshing swim in the indoor or outdoor pool, or relax in the outdoor hot tub. Maintain your exercise regiment in our 3,000 sq. ft. fitness center. For your dining pleasure, we offer 3 restaurants - Picadilly's serves breakfast daily, Churchill's is a 4 star restaurant with meritorious service. The SportsZone is ready for the big game with 42 plasma TVs & one colossal 240 Hi-Def screen. At the Holiday Inn Select, there's no need to go anywhere else. Your conference or event is sure to be a success at the Executive Center. With over 35,000 square feet of meeting space the hotel can accommodate the full spectrum of groups up to 2,700 people. The Columbia, MO Expo Center adjoins the hotel and is ideal for trade shows & large events. Our experienced team of meeting specialists will work with you to ensure a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Hotel Columbia
Holiday Inn Columbia
Columbia Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Select Columbia - Executive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.