We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and infested with fruit flies” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1900 Interstate Hwy 70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203 (Formerly Days Inn Conference Center Columbia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
“Overpriced and infested with fruit flies”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed last weekend and will never be back. Our room was infested with fruit flies so badly we made a trip to a nearby Walgreen's to buy a can of Off. The toilet tank had a plastic tray for a lid. There was "riff raff" hanging out by the back of the "hotel" and it looked like some folks were living there. We never took our shoes off. The "guy" at the front desk chatted on his cell phone for 3 minutes while I stood there until someone walking by prompted him. Our room was $99 a night which is way OVERPRICED for this hole. Other places were all sold out or believe me we would have left.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel/motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    0
    5
    4
See reviews for
3
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had brief encounters with the reception clerk, the manager and the breakfast hostess. All were exceptionally pleasant and helpful.
We enjoyed the hot breakfast--an unexpected bonus for such a low price. We paid nearly twice their rate at an America's Best Value Inn in Ohio the night before and had only a cold Continental breakfast.
If the timing is right, we will definitely stay here again on our return trip.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank You so much for your review. We do our best to ensure our guests have a great experience and meet all their expectations. We are also glad you enjoyed our delicious hot breakfast. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The prices of hotels were higher in columbia for the ShoMe games. We paid $99 for this hotel. It is not worth it.

We should have stayed in Jefferson City or Kingdom city. I don't need a brand new hotel room but I expect clean.

The room had a smell about it. The carpet was so dirty I wouldn't walk without shoes or socks. I inspected the mattress (which was old) for bugs and didn't notice any but the sheets were paper thin and dirty. I returned one sheet for another. Some beds that our friends had didn't even have a fitted sheet underneath.

The shower is very small and wouldn't drain. We would stand in 2 inches of water while taking a shower. Makes me wonder what was keeping it from draining.

We didn't get our room cleaned the first night so we asked for towels which they delivered at 11:30 pm. Rooms were not vacuumed from previous visitors or between the bed side table and beds. Snack wrappers were there the whole time.

While we were sleeping the air conditioner above the bed blew out condensation every once in a while (gross). Then one morning I woke up and saw a bug crawling on a towel on the floor. I thought it was a lady bug and I picked it up with toliet paper and realized it looked like a reddish tick.

I never ate the breakfast because as far as I'm concerned if they can't keep the rooms clean, they are not going to store the food up to code.

Charge what the hotel is worth and you will have better reviews. This is not a $99 hotel by any means. Take the carpet out and invest in better sheets and comforters.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank You for your review. I am sorry you encountered some issues with our housekeeping and maintenance departments. Your comments are being reviewed by the Hotels Management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as it assists us in improving our hotel. We hope we can regain your confidence and hope you may stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The desk staff was helpful in giving me directions to places I needed to go to around town. Good breakfast. Really liked the biscuits and gravy. Will be staying again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would like to be more diplomatic, but this place is an absolute dump. Poorly maintained is an understatement. The heater didn't work and the bathroom was disgusting. The carpeting and bedding was old and the room dingy at best. Breakfast was cold and unappetizing. Strongly recommend finding another motel when in the Columbia area.

Room Tip: This motel was formerly the Days Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us.We give the upmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible.We are sorry the hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the hotel. We are working hard to improve our hotel and would love for you to give us an opportunity to make up for the poor experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were looking for a reasonable motel in Columbia to stay at. The staff was very helpful and went out of their way to take care of our needs. They are currently undergoing remodeling and when it is finished it will be a 5 star motel. The "free breakfast" was okay, but the biscuits and gravy left a lot to be desired. They have a full service restaurant that is being renovated and will make a nice place to dine when it is finished. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: No freeway noise from rooms in the court yard and they are close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I have talked to our breakfast cook about the biscuits and gravy and have resolved the issue. We do our best to ensure our guests have a great experience and we meet all their expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

When we arrived the front desk was not even labeled so and only said restaurant and lounge. The one good thing was the guy at the front desk was nice. Other than that not worth staying at again. The light fixture in the bathroom was falling off the ceiling, the sink had not been cleaned and I could scrap stuff off of it, we were missing a towel, it looked like the mini fridge hadn't been defrosted in months and had an inch of ice in it, and I have never seen an air conditioner put out humid air. It was actually more humid in my room than outside. The carpet was also fraying in several spots. I was an assistant manager of a motel and I have never seen such a poorly up kept place in my life. If I wasn't so tired of driving I would have gotten a refund and gone somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tberry58, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to respond with your feedback. Since your review we have resolved the maintenance issues. I apologize that the cleanliness in your room did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to ensure our guests are provided with a clean and comfortable room. We are working hard on improving our product to make our hotel better. Thank you for commenting and hope that we may serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia

Address: 1900 Interstate Hwy 70 Drive SW, Columbia, MO 65203 (Formerly Days Inn Conference Center Columbia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Columbia offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms with in-room Wi-Fi, free full breakfast and free coffee in lobby. All guest rooms include coffeemaker, cable TV, HBO, ESPN, Showtime, alarm clock, free local calls, and wake-up service. At Americas Best Value Inn Columbia, We’ve Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbia-Days Hotel Columbia
Columbia Days Inn Hotel
Days Inn Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Conference Center Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.