We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious salad! Happy hour menu is mixed bag.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore

Sycamore
800 East Broadway, Columbia, MO 65201
(573) 874-8090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 331 Restaurants in Columbia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sycamore’s mission is to provide seasonal, market-driven fare at affordable prices for the Columbia community. Our focus is to serve fresh, quality dishes prepared in a creative, healthful way. Our staff is trained in all aspects of the menu and wine service, with an emphasis on understanding and respecting the kitchen. Our chef uses local purveyors when possible, and our menu features produce, cheese, meat, and value-added products from Columbia and the surrounding area.
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious salad! Happy hour menu is mixed bag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

A friend of mine and I decided to go to Sycamore to try out the happy hour menu. The happy hour menu offers half price small plates and a few drink specials. The pulled pork sliders were delicious and the french fries were good. The crusted fish is actually kind of like a fish cake with sauce. I don't recommend the fish, it tasted overly fishy. The salads were excellent. I had the blue cheese salad and my friend had the beet salad. The salad came with fresh wheat bread which my friend really loved. Overall, a good place, just avoid the crusted fish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    25
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for in-town dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The salad and trout I had were fresh and delicious. I liked the casual yet cultured atmosphere. Reservations on the weekend, at least in the spring when campus is very busy with visitors, are recommended. My dining companion/classmate was a little sad to be in a restaurant on the site of the former Dean's Town & Country clothing store of our student days, but the renovation done for Sycamore is outstanding.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish I lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Visiting family in Columbia, we happened upon Sycamore. Had lunch and liked it do much we took our family back for dinner. Fresh food, great service, upscale atmosphere. Good wine selection with fair prices. Could improve upon options for kids. Other than that, this restaurant seems to have it figured out. Very impressed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good option for a nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have been to Sycamore on many occations and have not had a bad meal there, although some meals have been better than others. Their beer selection is very good for a picky beer snob like myself. Service has always been very good. Overall, I have no complaints and have always left satisfied, though I don't know if I would put it on the same level as CC's City Broiler. Worth giving it a try.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My now husband first took me to Sycamore on my birthday in 2011. We have been there several times to celebrate special occasions, including this past Valentine's Day, and have never been disappointed. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is elegant. The waitstaff are very professional. I have recommended Sycamore to many friends looking for a nice restaurant in Columbia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore also viewed

 
Columbia, MO
Columbia, MO
 

Been to Sycamore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.