We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vist back in Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gathering Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gathering Place
Save
You added Gathering Place to your Saves list
606 S. College Ave., Columbia, MO 65201   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Columbia B&B and Inns
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vist back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a lovely B&B....The furnishings were exquisite....bedding and towels were luxurious. What more can a woman want!!! The dinining room table was dressed so invitingly and the food was extremely good. I will definitely stay there again and will tell my friends about this great place.

Room Tip: Every room is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
30
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I stay at a bed and breakfast two times every year and so we have been to many and this is one that we would go back to. We stayed in the Wildlife Conservation room and it is one of the smaller rooms there, but was still a large room by lodging standards. The Gathering Place is impeccably clean, nicely decorated, and the food was very good. An ala carte menu is offerred along with the daily breakfast special and you get to choose which you would like to eat, which was nice because I wanted something lighter while my husband was craving the more indulgent B&B style breakfast. Both of us were happy with the food! Another note was that we wanted to watch a DVD and so a player was brought to our room for us to use. Great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful one night stay in May 2012. This B & B was one of the top three B & B's (out of over 100) that we have ever stayed in. Everything was top notch. Would stay again. Also, I inadvertently left a small phone charger in our room - called the next day and they mailed it to me that day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, CA USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

On a recent trip to visit friends in Columbia we had the great pleasure of staying at The Gathering Place. Our room was impeccable, the gourmet breakfasts were YUM!!!! and the staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. We would highly recommend this beautiful B & B to anyone wanting to have a memorable and affordable get-away.

Room Tip: Our front of the house room had a great view of the college and was surprisingly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our son competed in the Big 12 Swimming Men's Conference and we actually could walk to the University and watch the competition. This place was amazing on every level ... the rooms, ambiance, staff. and price. It was a real treat to stay here and we cannot say enough nice things about the place. It was a real find and a completely wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The Textile Suite and Literatue Suite were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Missouri, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I was lucky to get a room (the beautifully appointed Wildlife Conservation room) on short notice when travelling into town for a basketball game. I was particularly interested as it is owned by the College of Agriculture as a Capstone course for their Hotel and Restaurant Mangement students. And those young men and women all deserve A's. It is horrendously convenient to campus and downtown, quiet and peaceful despite of that, and has every amenity you could think of. They even let me park my car there before check-in, which was very kind as I know space is always limited. My room's linens and decor were top notch, and the seating area was a perfect escape from the cold (and a great alternative to a regular hotel room's ubiquitous club chair in the corner.) I enjoyed a delicious breakfast of fresh fruit salad, Belgian waffles, eggs, toast, and sausage. My table-mates, a couple who were return customers, and I all admitted that we felt guilty that we couldn't finish it all. There is wi-fi available, and there was a flat-screen television in my room. The woodwork and windows are beautiful, and the entire property decorated with both beauty and comfort and in mind. I had a wonderful stay (could you tell?) and hope to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: The website has true-to-life pictures and descriptions of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

From the beautiful outdoor holiday decorations to the elegant tree in the living room, from the welcoming attention of Deb to her surprise treat after the performance at Jesse Hall, from the gorgeous presentation and delicious flavors of breakfast, every detail of our stay was perfect. The Gathering Place brings a bit of peace to hectic lives.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor requires no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gathering Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gathering Place

Address: 606 S. College Ave., Columbia, MO 65201
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gathering Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.