We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food, true diner experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Diner

Broadway Diner
22 S 4th St, Columbia, MO 65201
573-875-1173
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 324 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, true diner experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This really is a slice of the past -- formica boomerang patterned countertops, aqua stools at counter, mid-century modern light fixtures. The menu has anything you think a diner should have on it. We had the Stretch for breakfast and it got raves -- hash brown base with a layer of scrambled eggs, topped with chili (you can add gravy too). Small space but excellent service moves tables quickly. If I lived in Columbia, I would be a regular here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    15
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated our son and daughter in law wedding anniversary during basketball tournament! Old times remembered.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, USA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A true slice of Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

"Big Ed's Place" assumes you're one of the family. Hours are slightly strange, tilted toward the overnight crowd, but breakfast fare seems to be all day ('till the 2 pm closing.) If you've never had their specialty "The Stretch," go for it. The 2-egg version is enough for me, though you can super-size it up to 3. The place was moved (on flatbed trailer) from when it was actually on Broadway, and in its present location they've about doubled the capacity. It's still within sight of Broadway. We never tire of it. A crossroads of humanity is there, and all are treated with respect and classic friendliness. Enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mushroom Capital
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of my favorite late late night breakfast stops. Typical breakfast food at a great price and large portions. Honestly have never eaten there during the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The "Stretch" and then some”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Been here a few times and again recently more on a whim than anything else. Stopped by around 6:30am on a Sunday and sat right down (crows gather later and seating is more tricky then). We ordered the Sausage Casserole which comes with biscuits and gravy and a yogurt parfait and a regular Stretch followed by sides of pancakes. What impressed us the most this visit was the freshness of the ingredients, in particular the diced onions and peppers on the stretch and the fruit in the parfait. This is an area where many places fall flat but not the case here. The casserole was a delicious, savory blend with a great texture yet without being overpowered by the sausage which can (and does happen with sausage casseroles). The stretch is always good but on this occasion it was much better than I had ever remembered (if hash browns covered with scrambled eggs, chili, chese and the aforementioned peppers and onions sounds like a winning combo, you can only do worse than this diner's dish). I would get the half-stretch next time (I can't imagine being able to eat a super stretch). I had the pecan pancake - simple but perfect. Their pancakes are exactly how a pancake shoule be - "cakey" and delicate rather than heavy and frisbee like. One pancake is plenty and the syrup comes out piping hot (albeit not the most flavorful syrup I have had, the fact that it was hot was a very nice touch).
The service was fast and friendly - it was difficult to get through half my coffee before it was refilled. Prices are reasonable, especially for a local joint which is one of the local fixtures in the city everyone knows. Nice downtown location means you can walk off that big breakfast too! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broadway Diner also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.