We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and a fun place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare's Pizza

Shakespeare's Pizza
225 S 9th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4817
573-449-2454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 334 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Brandon, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great pizza and a fun place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are hungry for pizza, skip the pizza chains and head for Shakespeare's Pizza. We enjoyed our first pizza so much we couldn't resist a second visit. They offer a discount to boomers and older customers on Tuesdays. Details are available on their website. We missed Boomer Night, but loved the pepperoni pizzas at Shakespeare's. We'll be back the next time we visit Columbia. As with every restaurant we visited in Columbia, the staff was friendly and fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    78
    32
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good pizza, loud but fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is a great restaurant. Good food, fast, excellent quality. Be prepared for a loud and busy environment but it's fun and has a great energy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Super duper pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Best pizza in Columbia, MO! Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Always crowded because it is such a great place expect a wait but well worth it. Close to the Mizzou campus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best pizza in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been eating pizza at Shakespeares for over 30 years. Love it. Great place to hang out with friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pizza to come home to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When I was a college student, Shakespeare's was the place you went to for lunch and tea. You can get a whole pizza or a slice plus a drink for a reasonable price. We visited Columbia recently and found Shakespeare's has grown... quite a lot! We went to the downtown location and could not get a seat, so went to Shakespeare's South and had a pizza and salad. Still yummy and the salad was terrific (that is also new since my college days when all they had was iceberg lettuce salads). If you have kids, be sure to ask for a ball of pizza dough. The kids love to sculpt pizza dough or watch pizzas being made while they are waiting for their pizza. If you are in Columbia and a fan of pizza, Shakespeare's is still.... 30 years later.... Shakespeare's is still pizza we come home to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.