We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Columbia institution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare's Pizza

Shakespeare's Pizza
225 S 9th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4817
573-449-2454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 315 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Columbia institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Shakepeare's IS pizza in Columbia. There is none bettter in town. Get the whole wheat crust. Try artichoke & bacon. You cannot go wrong. Sublime

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    108
    41
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Columbia MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is great. The pizza is a little more expensive, but it is worth it. The pizza is great and it is a wonderful atmosphere for a date or for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza, great place to people watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in to grab a pizza to go. Great sauce and toppings, not to crazy about the crust. I should have seen if they had thin crust. Crowded for dinner but if I didn't need to take it home would have stayed and enjoyed the people watching. Campus town pizza at its best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Since I've lived in Columbia two different times, I may be biased, but Shakes is fabulous! Whenever we visit, we always have a pie. Try the pepper cheese! Have never had a bad meal and will always consider this our favorite pizza!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Classic Mizzou Pizza Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cannot beat a trip to Shakespeare's. Although many of the folks working there are students, I have always had good service and have been there several times while visiting Columbia.

They even have their own parking lot. Sometimes it's filled, but worth a try before looking for a parking space somewhere else.

The pizza is very good and the atmosphere and decor and great as well. If you are in the mood for a fun place to enjoy pizza, then you should go to Shakespeare's. There is no "table service." You order your pizza and then pick it up. You also get your own soda.

If you are in Columbia visiting Mizzou, you should stop by, it's almost an "institution"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Shakespeare's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.