We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Columbia institution” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakespeare's Pizza

Shakespeare's Pizza
225 S 9th St, Columbia, MO 65201-4817
573-449-2454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 330 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Columbia, MO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Columbia institution”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Shakepeare's IS pizza in Columbia. There is none bettter in town. Get the whole wheat crust. Try artichoke & bacon. You cannot go wrong. Sublime

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    70
    29
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Columbia MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This place is great. The pizza is a little more expensive, but it is worth it. The pizza is great and it is a wonderful atmosphere for a date or for the whole family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good pizza, great place to people watch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stopped in to grab a pizza to go. Great sauce and toppings, not to crazy about the crust. I should have seen if they had thin crust. Crowded for dinner but if I didn't need to take it home would have stayed and enjoyed the people watching. Campus town pizza at its best.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Since I've lived in Columbia two different times, I may be biased, but Shakes is fabulous! Whenever we visit, we always have a pie. Try the pepper cheese! Have never had a bad meal and will always consider this our favorite pizza!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Classic Mizzou Pizza Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Cannot beat a trip to Shakespeare's. Although many of the folks working there are students, I have always had good service and have been there several times while visiting Columbia.

They even have their own parking lot. Sometimes it's filled, but worth a try before looking for a parking space somewhere else.

The pizza is very good and the atmosphere and decor and great as well. If you are in the mood for a fun place to enjoy pizza, then you should go to Shakespeare's. There is no "table service." You order your pizza and then pick it up. You also get your own soda.

If you are in Columbia visiting Mizzou, you should stop by, it's almost an "institution"

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakespeare's Pizza also viewed

 
Columbia, MO
Columbia, MO
 

Been to Shakespeare's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakespeare's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.