We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, always a good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2601 S Providence Rd, Columbia, MO 65203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Clean, always a good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stoney Creek Inn is always a nice clean hotel stay. The staff is always very friendly and the breakfast is pleasant. It is a quick drive to Univ of MO. Always enjoy my stays here. The only thing they do not provide is conditioner, which they may if you ask, but I had my own. No big deal. Bring your own hair dryer, it takes forever with the ones in the room (as is the case with all hotel hair dryers).

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    73
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
98
30
11
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful hotel! Room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. Hotel was very nice and clean as well. Complementary breakfast was excellent. Great options and variety of food choices. Would love to stay at this place again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Ok, so perhaps I am a hotel snob, but the Stoney Creek Inn was just sooo.. cheesy. I was reluctant to book the room, but there were very few rooms available in Columbia for the dates I needed and my husband thought it might be a fun change of pace to stay at this hotel. We always stay at four or five star hotels or resorts when traveling, so this was a stretch from the get go. Upon arrival, get this ladies, my husband said he made a mistake! Perhaps that was worth the stay alone! Being the finicky, clean freak that I am, I often have difficulty with the cleanliness of hotel rooms. This was not the case at the Stoney Creek Inn. Upon check in, the room was very clean. Once we spent one night, however, the maid did not clean up well after my husband made coffee and the sink was left dirty. I guess the idea is to set the standard upon check in and after than you are on your own. The gym, I use that term very loosely, was a huge disappointment. If you just want a very quick run on the single treadmill, I guess it will suffice. There was also one recumbent bike, an old, rusty, noisy eliptical trainer and I believe one step machine. There was one all-in-one weight machine, that again, could do if you are totally set on doing some lifting. You'd probably be better off going on a nature trail in one of the area parks for some exercise. My husband used the hot tub once and said it was fine. He also said the coffee available in the room was pretty good. The breakfast was sparce. I didn't go, but my other half picked up a small yogurt and an apple for me. He had the choice of an inedible bagel or a very lame muffin. In case you're wondering, he took both, took one bite of the bagel and threw it away. The generic, tasteless, small muffin was the big winner! Go out for something to eat, is my advice. So, make up your mind if the Stoney Creek Inn is the place for you. Kids might get a kick out of it. My 52 year old sister won't stay elsewhere when in the area. Go figure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear adios….Thank you for sharing your perspectives on your recent visit. Obviously one person’s ‘cheesy’ is another’s ‘charm’ as your 52 year old sister would no doubt attest. Our apologies for the less than stellar housekeeping experience regarding the sink/coffee clean up; please know that this failed to meet our own expectations. Also know that we are taking steps to upgrade our exercise equipment. Finally, we get many positive reviews on the quality of our breakfast items, so I’m not sure why the choices your husband made were what you say they were but in any case, we are very sorry you didn’t get the full benefit that our loyal guests have come to expect. Thank you for taking the time to share and have safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was in Columbia, MO for business and this hotel was recommended to me. It is definitely a better hotel for families and kids. I literally came from a business trip in NYC so upon arriving here (and being told that this was a nice hotel) I had completely different expectations. It reminds me of a touristy hotel that you might see at the Grand Canyon. The location was good for my business meeting, but the hotel decor is definitely goofy. Very touristy. Looks like a hunting lodge with wooden accents and big beams. But, kind of a run down cheesy hunting lodge - one that has a gift shop with snow globes and Mizzou key chains. The room was clean. I liked that they had a microwave in the room (that is nice for families or vacationers). I have been to Columbia once before (on a family trip) and stayed at a really charming Bed & Breakfast within walking distance to town. That was really cute and convenient. I'm forgetting the name. But I think that was less expensive and significantly more of an upscale experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My son and I stayed here recently. He liked the rustic atmosphere. We stayed in one of the pricey two room units with a separate bedroom so my son had a private place to sleep. The bathroom jacuzzi was nice for his evening soaks before bedtime. Unfortunately, the door to the bedroom also included the bathroom, and the wall between the bathroom and bedroom does not go up to the ceiling everywhere, so I needed to move quietly during the night when I wanted to use the bathroom while sleeping on the pullout sofa bed in the front room. The unit was spacious; it is more than enough room for two people, six people could sleep in the space easily if bunk beds were available beyond the bedroom bed and pullout sofa bed. The kitchen has plenty of room, yet it lacks facilities for cooking beyond a microwave oven. The unit has more than enough space to have a stove/oven, or at least a cooktop, I'm surprised that neither were present. The pool/hot tub are very nice. The breakfast buffet was inconsistent. One day, I felt like we got an adequate meal; the other two days, the waffle iron wasn't available, and the hot food choices were not vegetarian-friendly (e.g., biscuits and gravy). I was disappointed for the price I was paying that the breakfast didn't offer real juice, just juice drinks. The hotel literature indicated that the onsite Antler Lounge was open in the evenings, but I never found it to be open during our stay. Exercise room is OK, but it would be better if it had barbells/dumbbells. Large cable TV selection. There is a playground within walking distance.

Room Tip: My preference is top floor (the hotel has below-ground rooms, ground level, and second and third flo...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angola, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great place for families. Pool is on the small side as is the weight room though in this area it's nice that the pool has both indoor and outdoor accessibility. Decor is slightly dated, but the facility is well kept. Full hot breakfast is a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clever, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My family and I recently stayed in this hotel, not because of being on vacation. But, due to the fact my husband was having surgery at the University Hospital on the MU campus. The first night we stayed, check in was a breeze, the night clerk gave us a recommendation for dinner at a local restaurant that turned out to be wonderful. The most important thing was the room was clean and the beds were comfortable! The hotel has a lot of charm even if it does have a lot of Mizzou items hanging around, the log cabin feel is very diffinite!! They have a wonderful hot and cold breakfast offering everything from French Toast to Waffles to Eggs and cold cereal. Even though, we never got to use the indoor/outdoor pool area, it seems to be well used by other guests. The only problem that I encountered was on our second day there, when I came back from a long day at the hospital and found the room had never been cleaned nor did housekeeping even take the dirty towels that were laying on the floor. I contacted the night manager and she immediately took care of the problem and even helped me by allowing me to change rooms. She even helped with the move. Even on the last day of our visit, they allowed us to have an extended check out when we were unsure if my husband would be released from the hospital. Overall, a wonderful stay for very little money!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia

Address: 2601 S Providence Rd, Columbia, MO 65203
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center of Columbia is conveniently located to all attractions within in this growing college city, home to the University of Missouri, Stephens and Columbia Colleges. Our Northwoods Lodge themed guest rooms offer many unique accommodations, including stone fireplace-equipped suites and all assured to provide each of our guests a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We also offer 11,000 square feet of flexible meeting space just right for weddings, reunions and business events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn - Columbia Hotel Columbia
Stoney Creek Columbia
Stoney Creek Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.