We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Columbia's Best Prepared Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chris McD's

Chris McD's
1400 Forum Blvd, Ste 38, Columbia, MO 65203-1997
573-446-6237
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 325 restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia, MO USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Columbia's Best Prepared Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The only reason Chris McD's is not rated #1 in Columbia is because it has so few reviews. For whatever reason, most of the people who eat there are from Columbia and they apparently tend not to rate hometown places. The restaurant is celebrating 22 years in business in 2013. No restaurant stays in business 22 years without being a continuously special place to eat for a lot of people.
We have always had truly fabulous food there and at reasonable prices. Tonight, we had salads, two smaller plates and two excellent glasses of wine for $58 without tip. I had the superb braised pork shank, a "smaller" plate I was unable to finish. All of the plates are truly innovative and use fresh ingredients.
They have a large menu and it is not easy to select from so many delicious options. For the entrees, they offer two options: "smaller" and regular. But the smaller entrees are not just tiny versions of the regular entrees. They differ notably and are more than enough to eat for most people..
The wine list is extensive, clearly organized and reasonably priced. A glass of wine is a GLASS of wine, not a couple of sips.
The restaurant is and always has been located in a strip shopping mall easily accessible from anywhere in town. Perhaps the location might turn off some, but it's in a nice area of town with an upper end supermarket, nice small and large shops and a university extension. It is not some seedy strip mall in the wrong part of town.
We don't eat out a lot in Columbia because we travel a lot and like to eat home cooking when home. But when we want to eat extremely well prepared food in Columbia, there is only one place:Chris McD's. The restaurant is named after the chef and it fully deserves his name.We enjoy good food at home and when we eat out and when we go out our number one pick in Columbia is this place. Check the other reviews for confirmation of this review.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    20
    5
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
“One of Columbia's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We dine frequently at Chris McDs and have always found the staff friendly and accommodating. There are several regulars on the wait staff that we particularly appreciate. Food is excellent, the bar has a good selection of wines and premium liquor. Overall we have always had a good experience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

In my humble opinion this is not only the best restaurant in Columbia, Chris McDonald is the best chef in the mid-west, After many business dinners at Chris McD's I can't think of a single dish that I didn't absolutely love. Nationally and internationally trained chef Chris creates wonderful looking and tasting meals. I usually select something from the daily specials as Chris does his own shopping and the specials are seasonal and so fresh.

Don't let the strip mall location fool you -- this is a great place. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun little hideway for two.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Chris Mc D's is now a Columbia staple. The food is unbelievable..excellent on another level. The wait staff has high turn over but Columbia is a college town. It has a great bar, good top shelf liquor. It is a bit pricey but the quality of food and the presentation is well worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, Uneven Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Despite spotty (and sometimes poor) service, I keep going back because the food is always good. It happened again this week......dining with a group and everyone raved about their food, but the service left a lot to be desired -- especially at these prices. They seem to have a lot of staff turnover, as I rarely see any familiar faces among the wait staff. The service is very inconsistent and not on par with other establishments in this price range (including CC's City Broiler -- the gold standard in service). The food at Chris McD's never disappoints, but their service frequently does.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chris McD's also viewed

 

Been to Chris McD's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chris McD's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.