We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Find! Wonderful Stay for Homecoming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Suburban Extended Stay Hotel to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3100 Wingate Court, Columbia, MO 65201 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Columbia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great New Find! Wonderful Stay for Homecoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We have stayed several places over the years while visiting our 3 children attending Mizzou. I booked this hotel, honestly, because it was all that was available in May for homecoming in October. I really didn't know what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. Great access to interstate and lots of shopping. Area is very safe feeling and no "shady" characters hanging out all around as we have experienced elsewhere. Even on homecoming weekend the area was very quiet and is surrounded by other well maintained hotel properties. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was very clean and well maintained. Recommend without hesitation. Thanks for a wonderful and affordable stay for homecoming!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thanking for leaving this nice comment. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The photos I submitted tell most of the story so for details see those. Booked this room 6 months ago and chose it because it was for Homecoming weekend so there were not many rooms to be had. Booked it thru Travelocity and prepaid rate of $74 with tax which in hotel terms isn't much so I wasn't expecting much. Have stayed twice before at the Howard Johnson's next door for less money and have already reviewed that hotel which was acceptable. Check in was 3pm and arrived at 1pm not expecting room to be ready, but was pleasantly surprised our room was available. That's where the last of the pleasant things ended. Had paid for a queen bed with sofa sleeper non smoking. Was told room had bed no sleeper and was offered roll away at not additional charge. Asked what happened to room that was booked and was told none available and that Travelocity must have made an error when transferring over our reservation. Told her we paid for a different room and that we would be happy to be wait until after the official check-in time to get correct room. Was told that negative 3 (whatever that means) of that room type were available. Asked to speak to manager and was told one would not be in until next day. Had no choice to take room it being Homecoming weekend, and there being no chance for another available room in the town.

Room pros: Size, it had small table that had a nice executive desk chair. The room had a flat screen TV. The room had a kitchenette, nice chair next to bed.

Rooms cons: Filth. Once again see pics for details. Fridge was dented like it had been punched a couple times, counter had burn mark, dead bug laying on bathroom towel, red substance on bathroom cabinet door, grout was filthy, mold in shower stall area, one soap to be shared for sink and shower, filthy additional cloth on additional chair by table, rough pilled bed sheets, someone's clothing items left behind in closet, bed was not queen size as booked and room smelled like smoke.

Called Travelocity customer service who tried calling to talk to manager, told one not available. They kindly credited our account $50. Will use them to book again, but it will not be at this hotel.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia R, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback it is very important to us. I want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room, it was unacceptable. I have shared your concerns with my staff and management team to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. I do hope you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This hotel is really meant for longer stays, like a week. But it was perfectly adequate for our two nights. No daily maid service. But wi-fi was good. Kitchenette makes sense for longer stays. Not a favorite, but not bad either. I might stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed in the Columbia Mo. for 8 months and I would like to say that Mr. Kyrell Kyer really made my stay a very nice he always had a smile on his face and a very pleasant young man that was always asking is there anything that he could do to make my stay more comfortable and enjoyable I would just like to take this time to say I thank him for that and that smile on his face he was really a good hard worker that was respectful and did not mine going out of his way to help you and he also made sure that my room was clean on the day that I liked so many thanks go out to him.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel

Address: 3100 Wingate Court, Columbia, MO 65201 (Formerly Candlewood Suites Columbia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience our new 'Comforts of Home' bedding collection. At the Candlewood Suites Columbia, Missouri Hotel, we put the amenities where they really count: in your room. Big and built for comfort, it's the ultimate suite for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with two separate phone lines-check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Borrow your favorites from our free DVD and CD library. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We are conveniently located off I-70 at Exit 128A, just minutes away from the University of Missouri and Columbia College. The Candlewood Suites Columbia Hotel is also close to many attractions including Katy Trail, downtown Columbia and area hospitals including Columbia Regional, Boone Hospital, and University Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia
Candlewood Columbia
Columbia Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.