We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Columbia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Columbia

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Columbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3101 Wingate Court, US 63 & I-70, Columbia, MO 65201   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 36 hotels in Columbia
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    75
    32
    26
    12
See reviews for
113
35
16
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Super clean hotel, very friendly staff, nice pool. Only bad thing was there is only one washer and dryer it took four hours to do laundry!! Also the fitness room is very lame only 3 pieces of equipment. ...

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the kind comments regarding the hotel accommodations. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our staff services and new pool area. Our apologies if the fitness room did not meet your expectations. It was recently completely refurbished, and all the fitness machines are brand-new, commercial grade, high-end equipment. Due to size limitations, it would be uncomfortable for guests as well as a hazard if more equipment was installed. We appreciate your patronage at the Wingate by Wyndham and look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you to Columbia next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I made reservations through hotels.com in March for a room with two beds for two nights and added a note that I would need a roll-away bed too. June rolls around and while checking in, I'm informed that the note was not received and that fire codes prevent us from having a roll-away in a room of our size. This would have been helpful to know before arriving as we had 3 children traveling with us and probably would have brought a pack & play or something if it was needed. The employee at the counter suggested that one child sleep on the arm chair and ottoman (pushed together like a crummy pseudo-bed) and provided us with sheets - an attempt at helpfulness, but illogical from the start. We got to our room and discovered that double beds are undeniably smaller than queen beds (for some reason I thought our room had 2 queens). This would not have been a huge issue except that we were now cramming in three children to a bed, not just two. The first night was truly awful. No one slept well - the kids were too crowded, noise in the hall from people getting off the elevator and running to their rooms, beds uncomfortable and pillows too small. It was a LONG night and the adults woke up with back pain. The next night, we pawned off one child on grandparents staying in a nearby hotel and with the bed ratio down to two people each, the second night was slightly better.
We discovered a blood smear on the inside of the bathroom door frame. Hopefully it was just from a cleaning lady getting a scratch and not something more sinister. Everything else seemed clean.
The pool was nice, but over-chlorinated. My kids left the pool area with their eyes burning.
Breakfast was alright - bacon, eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc.
We usually stay at Hampton Inns and this stay was the result of me trying to save $40 a night. I'll go with Hampton next time.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, yesterday
We apologize that your stay with us was not enjoyable. As new owners, we agree that sleeping in double beds is not as restful compared to sleeping in queen beds; during our renovation this coming winter, all double beds will be switched out for queens to increase the comfort level for our guests. New mattresses and furniture have already been ordered. Unfortunately, we have had discrepancies with online bookings before where notations on their reservations are not always conveyed to the hotel. Our staff does their best to be accommodating to guests' unique situations; however, we must adhere to safety codes that online bookings might not be aware of. We encourage guests to call the Wingate in Columbia directly if there are special needs that are required so that we can assure your stay will be a comfortable and pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Imagine our surprise when we attempted to check in only to find that my wife had accidentally booked the *previous* night, and we were only staying the one night on our way through Columbia on a road trip! Well, the front desk attendant was amazing. He was able to get us a room, including a roll away bed for our little one, for significantly cheaper than we originally booked the previous night. He saved the day!

The room was awesome, as well. Perfectly clean, spacious, with everything where it should be. Lots of outlets for all our smartphones and other gadgets. Beds were comfortable, and it was close by everything we needed that one night (grocery, restaurants).

I definitely felt as though we were in the best hotel in that immediate area. Good work, Wingate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We appreciate your positive comments about our helpful staff, convenient location, and large, clean rooms. It is great to hear that your reservation issues were resolved easily so that you could enjoy your stay in Columbia. Thank you for choosing the Wingate by Wyndham; we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We made the reservation several weeks in advance to have an overnight stay with the family. One of our children was having some medical testing done early Monday morning so we traveled down the day before to be sure we had good rest. We have 6 traveling all together with 2 adults and four kids. We purchased two adjoining rooms to accommodate sleeping for everyone.

The first noticeable problem were the mini pillows. They were teeny-tiny and visually lumpy. We didn't have much to unpack for our overnight so we quickly dropped our bag and made our way out for dinner. Upon trying to exit the room, we went to lock up our valuables. The safe had been locked by a previous guest and could not be opened. There was a very friendly clerk at the front desk who came to our room to help is but he could not get it open. We tried the safe in the adjoining room but it didn't have any power. We gave up and took our laptops, iPads, etcetera with us to dinner.

Upon returning, there were some chocolate chip cookies in the lobby. That made the kiddos happy so that was nice.

After the kids swam in the pool (which was fine for a hotel pool; nothing special), I went to run the first bath. The water was WAY too hot and could not be controlled. I can't express this properly but the control knob didn't have a warm. There was cold on the left and SCALDING HOT on the right. I had to fill the tub with a little of the scalding (leaving the younger ones out of the room) and then cool it down with cold water. Very inconvenient and if it had not been for having the kids in the chlorinated pool, we would've skipped the bath altogether.

After I finally got the little ones all tucked in (about 9:30) some idiot in the parking lot started shooting off Roman Candles and other various noise-makers. (It was July 6th) I called the front desk and a very helpful clerk (Alex) said that he was on his way out to take care of it. It stopped.

Also at bedtime, during tuck in, the bottom sheets were coming out of the bed. (There were no fitted sheets, just regular sheets, tucked under the mattress.) The bed was very uncomfortable and I'm in for a long drive home after a bad night's rest.

The breakfast was everything you'd expect from a Continental but it was a disappointment because, when making the reservation, they played it up a bit so we were expecting a bit more. In all fairness though, by nightfall we had pretty much guessed that it wouldn't be all that great.

Lastly, the reason I'm giving this 2 stars. The helpful guy at the front desk, Alex. If not for his helpful demeanor and hurried (in a good way) attitude, I'd probably be giving out my first 1 star review. :(

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie P, Owner at Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The general manager has attempted to contact you several times to discuss your issues. Our maintenance staff is looking into the hot water issue and safe problems that occurred. Please know that it is very common for hotels to use flat sheets instead of fitted sheets; they press nicely in the laundry facilities and give our guests a smooth bedding for comfort. We are pleased you enjoyed the newly renovated pool area as well as the evening cookies. We hope you will give the Wingate by Wyndham another try if your travels bring you to Columbia again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Columbia

Address: 3101 Wingate Court, US 63 & I-70, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Columbia
#8 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Columbia 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Hotels in Columbia, MO near University of Missouri and Mizzou Arena? Our Wingate by Wyndham Columbia MO Hotel offers comfortable accommodations and upscale amenities including free Wi-Fi, Gym, Business Center and Swimming Pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Columbia Hotel Columbia
Wingate Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Columbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.