We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A better alternative to the ancient Holiday Inn Exec Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Columbia East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Columbia East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Columbia East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Port Way, Columbia, MO 65201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A better alternative to the ancient Holiday Inn Exec Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a new hotel that is three exits east of Stadium Blvd. in Columbia. There's not much else that has been developed yet right off this exit, but it's still very convenient to the University and MUCH nicer than the older Holiday Inn that is located at I-70 and Stadium. The rooms are clean, and the staff was friendly. If you are a Priority Club Rewards, member, you can also get a coupon for 20% off breakfast. The menu is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and I am particularly appreciative that you gave us high scores in Cleanliness, Value, Sleep Quality, and Rooms. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. We want to excel to in providing good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
37
17
9
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice place to stay. The room was clean and tastefully appointed. The king size bed was very comfy. Staff were very friendly on the phone and in person. There is no free breakfast but the on site restaurant was excellent and fair priced. This motel is 2 years old. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and I am particularly appreciative that you gave us high scores in Cleanliness, Value, Sleep Quality, and Rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. We strive to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We travel between Colorado and North Carolina frequently and have never stayed at a cleaner, nicer hotel. We have stayed at several hotels around this area east to Mt Vernon and most in Mt Vernon are horrible. This one was clean, fresh sheets, and the temperature was easy to obtain in the room. Many good restaurants nearby, I would avoid the Lone Star Steakhouse, they don't cook the steaks very well, The breakfast at the hotel was excellent also, the dinner may have been too. Well cooked and fresh.
We will be staying there every time we make the trek.

Room Tip: Use Hotel.com, we got a great rate the day before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your high ratings! We strive to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Everything was fine with the hotel, nice room, bed was cozy, etc. The only issue I had was that upon arrival when asking for a room with two double beds they informed me there was a $10 change fee. I reserved the room through Priceline and while making the reservation they never gave me the option to request a room with a double bed, if they did, I didn’t see it. All in all it was only $10 but it was the principle and next time I am in Columbia, I won’t be staying for this reason.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Bashlee,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and I am particularly appreciative that you gave us high scores in Cleanliness, Value, Sleep Quality, and Rooms. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to Columbia.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on a Tuesday afternoon, went to check in. She had a folio for us, but needed endless details. Most hotels no longer require "sign here, initial here, oh and initial here". Not a big problem, but then, being the only one up front, she had to answer a call. We stood there for several minutes, looking at our folder and keys, while she talked with the person on the phone. Someone else finally came out, asked if we needed any help, and I said sure - can you give me our keys? The woman on the phone never made eye contact, was intent on helping the phone person.

The bar area was clean and neat, the bartender was extremely attentive, the highlight of our stay.

Room service? We tried to get through at least ten times, always shunted to the phone mail - not for a message, but to ask who we wanted to talk to. I called the front desk, they said room service was very busy, and we should try again later. Never did get through to them.

Like I said, a nice looking, spotless hotel, needs some employee training and attention to detail.

I'll try somewhere else next time I come through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Cliff P,

Thank you for you recent review. I'm so glad you liked the friendliness of our bartender. Please accept my sincerest apology for the unacceptable service you received during your stay. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. For that reason, your comments are troubling and I will make sure that your feedback will be looked into and are forwarded to the appropriate departments. Your review is highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Very nice and squeaky clean. Staff very friendly. We ate in the hotel restaurant morning and evening. The food was delicious. Don't waste your time leaving to look for a restaurant. Service was superb.

Location is easy on and off interstate.

This is a place we would change our travel plans slightly to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your consideration! Our Guest Service Members love making things easier on our guest. The restaurant staff also work very hard to provide the services to all appreciated guests. We strive to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please consider us again in the future, and tell your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Very comfortable room and bed. Nice clean well kept newer property. The only complaint I have would be the water pressure and temp were not the greatest. Defiantly will be back next time in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us and I am particularly appreciative that you gave us high scores in Cleanliness, Value, Sleep Quality, and Rooms. We are hospitality professionals who work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we strive to provide service rates that are competitive in the area. We want to excel to in providing good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Columbia East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbia East

Address: 915 Port Way, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbia East 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia, MO Hotel's Location Delights Mizzou FansWhen driving into Columbia, end your journey at the Holiday Inn® Columbia - East hotel and enter a world of warm hospitality and incredible convenience. Situated off I-70, only six miles from the University of Missouri and the unique downtown area known as The District, this hotel is an inviting home away from home in Columbia.In addition to the hotel's accessible location, guests also appreciate its beautifully sophisticated, modern design that transforms an ordinary hotel stay into a memorable vacation. The hotel's corporate guests can work efficiently thanks to free wired and wireless Internet access and the 24-hour Business Center. Major corporations, such as Shelter Insurance, State Farm, Kraft Foods, IBM and ABC Laboratories, are all within 10 miles of the hotel, making travel a breeze. If you need to host your own event, you can use one of the hotel's three meeting rooms.In Columbia, MO, exciting urban fun abounds! You can hear fabulous live music at The Blue Note, splurge at The Mall in Columbia or sip wine at the gorgeous Les Bourgeois Vineyards. For outdoor fun, show off your swing at Lake of the Woods Golf Course, just one mile from the hotel's location. Columbia, Missouri also hosts enjoyable annual events, such as the Show-Me State Games and the Roots 'N Blues 'N BBQ Festival.After a busy day, return to the hotel to relax in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool or work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center before indulging in a delicious meal at Kem's Restaurant. Book now to enjoy this inviting hotel's excellent location in Columbia, Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbia East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbia East Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Columbia East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.