We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Columbia East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Columbia East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Columbia East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Port Way, Columbia, MO 65201   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
St. Louis, Mo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It was nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed here a couple nights on business and it was a typical newer Holiday Inn. Had some trouble with the treadmills. Neither of them were working, and the one that did not have an out of order sign on it was actually a bit dangerous. Informed the front desk of this as well as my disappointment and was given a free night in a suite. It was very nice of them to do this. Melony and April were responsible for this and did everything they could to fix the situation. Overall the hotel was new, clean, and modern. I had a comfortable stay and would likely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We strive for the utmost in ever facet of service. Your high ratings for us are very flattering. Our apologies about the fitness equipment. Our skilled maintenance staff try their best at repairs, and completing them as fast as possible. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    29
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
15
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Situated one exit east of the "main" road to the University, this was a very nice and reasonably priced hotel. Plenty of space with a nice work area. Bed was quite comfortable.
Pleasant front desk staff provided rapid check-in and out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We strive for the utmost in ever facet of service. Your high ratings for us are very flattering. Our desk staff understand the hurry you maybe in and try to provide accurate and speedy service. Thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Rooms were nice, very clean, and comfortable (I'm a bit of a picky person). Comfortable beds. Onsite restaurant has good meals. There is also an onsite bar, but if you like beer, $4 is a bit high.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

Easy access to highway, but far enough away from freeway that you don't here traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We strive for the utmost in ever facet of service. Your high ratings for us are very flattering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel whe we visited Columbia last weekend for Homecoming. The hotel itself was very nice...much nicer than I expected for the money or for being a Holiday Inn! The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The beds and pillows were heavenly! One of the best hotel beds I've slept in in awhile! The only drawback to this hotel is the location - about ten or fifteen minutes to downtown/Mizzou without traffic - but everything else about it is so great that I would definitely stay there again regardless of the location! A very nice Columbia hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason F, Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy that we could make your stay with us nothing short of awesome! We would be delighted to host you again.

Traffic over busy weekends like Mizzou Homecoming can sometimes be an issue. However, on most weekends downtown Columbia and all three colleges and universities in town, including the University of Missouri, are a simple 7 minute drive away. Several members of our staff either live downtown or attend the University of Missouri and all will be more than happy to give parking tips and shortcut suggestions that completely avoid highway routes.

We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is new and in good shape but the rooms are small. The restaraunt personnel were friendly. But that was probably the end of the good points. I visit Columbia often for both business and pleasure and stayed at this hotel this past weekend. While it was Family Weekend at Mizzou and the hotel was busy, the service left a lot to be desired. At check-in, everyone was wearing badges that read Missouri's Number 1 Holiday Inn. I'm not sure how it got that status. No recognition of Platinum status at check-in (I realized upgrades not likely available but even when they are not, I am thanked for my patronage.) Asked to be switched from 2 queens to 1 King. It took 4 times for the person checking us in to explain to the gentleman in charge what we wanted to do (he kept saying, "We don'T have rooms with 2 queen beds available.") Walls were thin and the slamming of doors seemed constant. Room was not serviced on Saturday. We were charged for room one night even though it was a points stay. Man at front desk did not know how to correct it and said manager would not be in until Monday. It's the busiest weekend of the year (along with Homecoming) and someone competent enough to handle guest concerns immediately needs to be on duty at least at check-in and check-out. Two weeks ago, at the Hampton Inn Stadium, we were personally greeted by the manager at breakfast on game day (a Saturday of a holiday weekend.) That's how a #1 hotel should be run. Hopefully, my bill will get straightend out. I will not likely return in the future, either for business or pleasure in Columbia, unless no other choices are available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason F, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention; we appreciate all feedback! I do apologize for the gaps in service over the sold-out weekend at our hotel.

Unfortunately we did have a problem with our computer server; the system went off-line and although this was not under our direct control, we do take responsibility for the check-in issues and your particular billing problem it caused.

That being said, all computing issues have been resolved and your bill has been corrected! Priority Club points have paid for all room charges and any room payments accidentally applied to your bill have been reversed.

All Priority Club guests are highly valued guests, and we are confident that you will enjoy your next stay with us. We have consistently been ranked the #1 Holiday Inn hotel in Missouri according to guest surveys and we are proud of that achievement. We will be sending you a gift certificate shortly as an invitation to try us again!

We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Holiday Inn East in Columbia, MO is a beautiful, new hotel. The service was gracious and friendly, and the rooms are large and nicely decorated. The one problem is its location; there are no restaurants close by. That's not a big problem, however, since the town of Columbia is only a 5 minute drive away. Because Columbia is a college town, there is no shortage of restaurants or fast food places!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We strive for the utmost in ever facet of service. Your high ratings for us are very flattering. Now with the economy picking back up the city is beginning to grow our direction again and more places of business and restaurants are popping up near us(aside from the one on site). George's Steakhouse has been on the same road as us for years, as well as a subway, and sonic drive in. If these weren't pointed out to you I apologize. We are now having a Jimmy John's being constructed and will be finished soon. There are rumors of other eateries beginning construction soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 212 cities Reviews in 212 cities
420 helpful votes 420 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Nice, new hotel.
We arrived late, but were still able to receive a suite upgrade. It would have been nicer, however, if the staff would have automatically offered it to us as Platinum Priority Club members instead of us having to ask for it.
The suite was spacious with 2TV's, a large vanity, and pillowtop mattresses.
Our only complaint about the room was that housekeeping did not leave the proper supplies. We had to go to the front desk to get a bathmat, extra towels, and bedding for the sofabed. The clerk said, and I agree, that these items should have been in the room.
I also felt that this hotel was a liitle poorly designed. The only entry is through the main door. If you have a room at the end of the hall it is a long walk, especially if you have a lot of luggage. It would be much more convenient if there were an entrance at the end of the hallway like most hotels have. There was an elevator there, but the sign said for staff only, and even if you used it, there was no door to get out. I really think it is something they should look into remodeling.
Priority Club members receive a free drink at the lobby bar and 15 % meals including room service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach L, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Columbia East, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We strive for the utmost in ever facet of service. Your high ratings for us are very flattering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Columbia East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Columbia East

Address: 915 Port Way, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#11 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Columbia East 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Columbia, MO Hotel's Location Delights Mizzou FansWhen driving into Columbia, end your journey at the Holiday Inn® Columbia - East hotel and enter a world of warm hospitality and incredible convenience. Situated off I-70, only six miles from the University of Missouri and the unique downtown area known as The District, this hotel is an inviting home away from home in Columbia.In addition to the hotel's accessible location, guests also appreciate its beautifully sophisticated, modern design that transforms an ordinary hotel stay into a memorable vacation. The hotel's corporate guests can work efficiently thanks to free wired and wireless Internet access and the 24-hour Business Center. Major corporations, such as Shelter Insurance, State Farm, Kraft Foods, IBM and ABC Laboratories, are all within 10 miles of the hotel, making travel a breeze. If you need to host your own event, you can use one of the hotel's three meeting rooms.In Columbia, MO, exciting urban fun abounds! You can hear fabulous live music at The Blue Note, splurge at The Mall in Columbia or sip wine at the gorgeous Les Bourgeois Vineyards. For outdoor fun, show off your swing at Lake of the Woods Golf Course, just one mile from the hotel's location. Columbia, Missouri also hosts enjoyable annual events, such as the Show-Me State Games and the Roots 'N Blues 'N BBQ Festival.After a busy day, return to the hotel to relax in the heated, indoor pool and whirlpool or work out in the 24-hour Fitness Center before indulging in a delicious meal at Kem's Restaurant. Book now to enjoy this inviting hotel's excellent location in Columbia, Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Columbia East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Columbia East Hotel Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Columbia East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.