We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Art to See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Art and Archaeology

Museum of Art and Archaeology
1 Pickard Hall, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 65211
573-882-3591
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Columbia
Type: Educational Sites, Museums
Attraction details
Kansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Art to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband, our 2 teen sons and I visited the museum just last week. The museum is easy to find, although parking was a little tough. But we found some just up the street. But the website does direct you to parking lots, we forgot our printout.

Loved the Missouri Artists section, great piece by Thomas Hart Benton. Also loved the modern art section. Their current exhibit of woodcarving prints was very interesting, both my sons enjoyed it.
So glad MU has such a great art and anthropology museum. The ancient pottery was great and we appreciated the signs telling the uses of the items and the story behind the drawings.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Free Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Large museum with multiple exhibits. The price is the best you will find... Free. The exhibits rotate so you won't always see the same things.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm biased, but....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I LOVE going and hanging out in this museum. They have an excellent collection. Their private collection that is not on display is even more amazing. I highly recommend visiting while you are on campus. This is truly a hidden gem in Columbia, MO and on the Mizzou Campus! I'm a former MU Art Student, so I will warn you, I'm biased.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was very nice and FREE! But kind of small. It had a quite a selection of things to look at. Made it through there in about 1 1/2 hours with 2 kids. Nice for a change.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, CA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Elegantly mounted, eclectic displays make this an engaging stop during a walk around this beautiful campus.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Art and Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Art and Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Art and Archaeology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.