We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rome - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Rome
114 South 9th Street, Columbia, MO 65201
(574) 876-2703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had the special which was able to be prepared gluten free so I had it that way. It was gluten free penne with a white wine reduction, shrimp and tomatoes/spinach. So flavorful, absolutely perfect. Had a dinner salad to start. Greens were fresh and crispy and the blue cheese dressing was good too! Very attentive staff, clean restaurant. Hope to go back again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    30
    7
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A reasonably good place for Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stopped on a Saturday night and it filled up quickly, an obviously popular place. We had the calamari for an appetizer and it was better than average (nice batter, not too chewy). The desserts were also excellent, the tiramisu has a nice coffee/chocolate combination, the ice cream/brownie was excellent as was the bread pudding. So why only 3 bars? The main courses were pretty average, quite bland. the lasagna had little flavor (although the sauce and meatball were quite good), the chicken piccata was somewhat bland. the penne with alfredo sauce and peppers was somewhat above average. Service was fine, attentive but not hovering.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“False advertising”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Warning! Online menu is not up to date! Selected this location based on antipasto and pizza. We were told antipasto was no longer on menu. Service was very slow and server was inattentive. Dirty tables remained for over an hour. Pizza was ok; Buffalo chicken pizza crust was burned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my go to place for low priced dining in Columbia. I have never been disappointed. On Sundays, you can get buy one get one pizzas. You can't go wrong! The pasta dishes are fab and the italian beef sandwiches are great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best option for Italian in Mid-MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to The Rome many times while we lived in Columbia, and never had a bad meal. Service is usually good and food has always been very good. Agree with the previous reviewer that Tiramisu is a must. Have never trid any of the Gluten free options so I can't comment on that. By far the best Italian in Columbia and some of the best I have had in the state.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rome also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.