We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rome - CLOSED

The Rome
114 South 9th Street, Columbia, MO 65201
(574) 876-2703
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my go to place for low priced dining in Columbia. I have never been disappointed. On Sundays, you can get buy one get one pizzas. You can't go wrong! The pasta dishes are fab and the italian beef sandwiches are great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best option for Italian in Mid-MO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have been to The Rome many times while we lived in Columbia, and never had a bad meal. Service is usually good and food has always been very good. Agree with the previous reviewer that Tiramisu is a must. Have never trid any of the Gluten free options so I can't comment on that. By far the best Italian in Columbia and some of the best I have had in the state.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Service and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I went to Rome with a group of 8. The food was incredible. The two favorites were the Chicken Cutlet Parmesan and the Lasagna. Everybody was happy with their choice though. Diane, the manager, was awesome. She had a welcoming personality and really cared about us enjoying our time there. They have an awesome gluten free menu. My wife can't have gluten and she loved everything that she had there. I highly recommend this place for anybody that can't have gluten. We will be going back frequently after this visit to The Rome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirksville, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Gluten Free Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place has amazing food! The menu for those who have to eat gluten free is really good! The tiramisu is a must. The pizza is good, the pastas are great, and the gluten free breadsticks are really good as well. Very impressed with a local restaurants efforts to satisfy the needs of those that have special diets! Everything here that I have had is great and the service has been really good as well. The house red wine was also a favorite!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Best Italian Food this Side of Little Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Whatever I say, I will not do this restaurant justice. The atmosphere is warm, the service excellent, but the food is unmatched! Italian food is my favorite, which causes me to be super-picky about it, and Rome absolutely exceeds any expectation I've ever had. All I can say is wow.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rome also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.