We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taqueria El Rodeo

Taqueria El Rodeo
805 E Nifong Blvd, Columbia, MO 65201
(573) 875-8048
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 325 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mission Hills, Kansas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

It may seem like a hole in the wall located in a strip shopping center, but this might be one of the best Mexican restaurants I've been to. The food is flavorful without being too spicy. The Burrito Tapatio is my favorite. My biggest complaint is that it is usually quite warm in the restaurant. I would not go there in the heat of the summer.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    18
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Columbia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First of all this is not TexMex. This is authentic mexican fare in a hole in the wall atmosphere. Limited seating, yes. Multiple typos on the menu, yes. Best Mexican cuisine in central Missouri, yes. This is one of our must go to places every time we return to Columbia. Try the Burrito Michioican it is to die for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Missouri
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“We always return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoy this place everytime. It is authentic mexican food, prepared nicely. Service isnt great but we are never in a hurry. Another mexican food place is right next door so dont confuse them. This is a little dive in end of strip mall. Very good.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Quick with a unusual menu that also includes typical dishes. They even serve cactus in mid-Missouri!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had heard about this restaurant from a couple of people and finally had a chance to try it out. I had the Tacos de Lengua and my wife had Tortas de Lengua. They didn't have the lengua listed as an option for the Tortas on the menu, but made it with no complaints. We were both surprised at the lack of flavor in both items. Not bad, just bland. (I told a friend of mine that I think they gave me the gringo version instead of the chollo version!) Too bad, because it's the only place I've found that serves tongue. It's a small place, service was good, prices were very reasonable. Could have been just that batch was bad. We'll try it again next time we're in Columbia, maybe get something different. I'll post an update at that time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taqueria El Rodeo also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria El Rodeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taqueria El Rodeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.