We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient to campus” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Fellows Place, Columbia, MO 65201   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Columbia
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Covenient to campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

In walking distance to the MU football stadium, basketball arena and campus, this Hampton is very convenient. One negative is that a lot of kids stay there during the summer camp season so the sound in the halls and the use of the elevators can be problematic. Another issue is that we rented the suite, but it is just a bigger room with a sofa bed directly across from the bed with no separation or privacy. We had our teenage son with us so a little separation would have been nice. On the positive side, the bagel topper for breakfast was really good, the rooms were clean and the lobby had plenty of space for all the people eating breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here with us in Columbia. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to the University of Missouri campus and sports park. I hope that you will continue to allow us to serve you on any future trips to Columbia. Thank you again for your feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    62
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
111
31
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

In the past my stays have always been wonderful! This time it appears things have changed. I was assured I would get adjoining rooms for me and my four teenagers. That did not happen. My room was not cleaned. The only thing that happened was my towels were replaced and my bed was made. No vacuuming, no dusting and same linens. Spider webs on the sconces. Kind of gross. :(

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 27, 2013
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay here with us in Columbia. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues during your stay. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. Please know that these type of issues are not typical of our facility and will be fixed immediately. I hope that you will allow us another opportunity to earn your business should your travels bring you back to the Columbia area. Thank you for your valuable time and feedback. Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love Hampton Hotels and this one in particular is one of my favorites. It is near where my son goes to school and is ALWAYS clean, staff is super friendly and the breakfast is great when you're in a hurry and just need something quick.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your past stays with us here in Columbia! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us so far. We look forward to continuing to serve you during your future visits back to Columbia. Thank you again for your valuable feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

In the past I had stayed at the local B & B, but this time I chose this hotel because it was very close to my son's off-campus apartments. Was happily surprised with the spacious room and great service. The complimentary hot breakfast was an added plus. Even though there was a large wedding party staying, there was ample parking too, so will definitely recommend if you are visiting the Univ. of Missouri.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We're glad that our close proximity to campus and your son's apartment worked out well for you. We hope that you will allow us to continue serving your lodging needs whenever you return to Columbia. Thank you again for your valuable time and feedback! Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recommend this hotel on your first visit to Columbia and University of Missouri! It is right across the street from the south end of campus. The room was very comfortable and I loved the subtle decor which incorporated Mizzou's gold and black. The lounge/breakfast room was very spacious and the hot breakfast offered lots of selections. Hot: omelets, sausage, waffles, oatmeal with walnuts, almonds and raisins. Cold: pastries, bagels, toast and muffins, cereal, fruit salad, fresh fruits, yogurt There is also a restaurant right on the property which is convenient, though we chose to go to the Flat Branch Pub and Brewery instead. Would definitely stay again, despite the fact that the hotels closer to the interstate are less expensive. Love the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently, my family spent two evenings at this property while visiting our son at Mizzou. Joe Hecht was outstanding in meeting our requests. I needed a chair for a family member to sleep in and also connecting rooms. Between Joe and his male front desk agent on the evening of June 25, we had all of our needs met.
The staff are always polite and friendly. The hotel is immaculate and the rooms are spotless. Thank you Joe and thank your team as well.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay! It was my pleasure to help out any way I could. I am very happy to hear that everything went well during your stay. We look forward to having you and your family back again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback, and for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia. Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel is very nice & clean and the rooms are comfortable and have excellent amenities The staff is wonderful and helpful kind and courteous as well. It is in an excellent location for visiting the Mizzou campus

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joehecht, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback about your recent visit to Columbia! We are so happy to hear that you completely enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to continue to be your first choice in lodging whenever you return to the Columbia area! Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments. Joe Hecht, Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri)

Address: 1225 Fellows Place, Columbia, MO 65201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#1 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to campus, far from ordinary...Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University of Missouri).Let's face it: if the Hampton Inn & Suites® Columbia (At The University of Missouri) were any closer to campus, you might need a student ID. As the closest hotel to the University of Missouri, you're just minutes away from Stephen's College and downtown Columbia and near a world of fantastic attractions.Want to get out and experience all that Columbia has to offer? Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University of Missouri) puts you right in the middle of it all. Farout Field, Hearnes Center and the Mizzou Arena are all within easy walking distance of our Columbia hotel. If shopping's more your speed, "The District" downtown is noted as an eclectic shopping and dining experience with an outstanding mix of entertainment choices. Plus, art aficionados will surely appreciate attractions such as The Museum of Art and Archaeology, The Museum of Anthropology, Jesse Hall Auditorium, Missouri Art Gallery and the Bingham Gallery. You'll find it all just minutes from your room at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia, where you are close to campus, but far from ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Columbia (At The University Of Missouri)
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (At The University Of Missouri) Hotel Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia (at the University of Missouri), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.