We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break from ordinary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sophia's

Sophia's
3915 S Providence Rd, Columbia, MO 65203-7106
573-874-8009
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 321 restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice break from ordinary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Good quality, dependable, nice decor, good food. Feels very nice. Some good wines. A decent bar. Has indoor and outdoor seating options.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    42
    20
    10
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“All Around Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've been wanting to go to Sophia's for a long time, but never made it there. Finally, I took a date and we had a great experience. The food was excellent. Well prepared, well plated, creative, and just plain delicious. Service was solid and the atmosphere was great for a date. I recommend it for a special occasion since the prices are (understandably) a little higher than most Columbia area restaurants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of The Ozarks, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The food is great! I had the filet special that had a poached egg on top. Fantastic . Food is moderately priced and great atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love this Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sophia's is a nice drop in restaurant for us. When on the Southside of Columbia we enjoy stopping for drinks and pasta. You should try this one if you haven't. We eat out considerable and this is one of my favorites.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do their Sunday Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We took our daughter here for brunch. Why can't I find a restaurant in Houston that has food that tastes this good and at a reasonable price! Nice atmosphere and great food for dinner too (we tried it out). I chose a steak and eggs selection that was the best I have ever had. My wife and daughter chose a unique brioche which they loved. We shared a breakfast bread that was prepared in a circular pan and the taste was like cinnamon rolls. It was served warm, just out of the oven and so delicious! It was large enough that there was some left over and of course, it went back to the dorm with her. Good coffee and latte.

I can't wait until we return next year. I'm going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophia's also viewed

 

Been to Sophia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.