We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing setting, usually delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Santal

Le Santal
Sandy Ground, St Maarten-St Martin
590-87-53-48
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“amazing setting, usually delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we try to go to Le Santal twice during our stays. The setting is beautiful, romantic and relaxing. The owner and her family do their best to make you feel welcome. Sometimes the service isn't the greatest but the food is delicious. try the duck! yum!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    10
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Fabulous family owned restaurant in a gorgeous setting.
Don't miss the morel mushroom ravioli, the sole meuniere and treat yourself to amazing desert!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Elegant, romantic and luscious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Le Santal is not a restaurant that is spoken about much. It is in a unique location and it does not pay the taxi drivers and concierges to recommend it as do many of the restauarants on the island. This is a marvelous restaurant....elegant, beautifuly service, romantic beyond belief and wonderful food. It has the look of a island restaurant with white and blue wicker furniture. The staff is helpful and relaxed. We always go several time during our stay and whenever we have brought friends they have raved about it as well. They do one for one with dollars and euros, so it is very competitive witht the other good restaurants on the island. They have valet parking which is nice because the parking by the restaurant is not obvious.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Amazing New Year's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was on island for the New Year's week. Came here New Year's day with my entrie family (a party of 7). Dont let the neighborhood scare you. It is a rough area however when you get to Le Santal there is a valet waiting for you and he will park your car. He will also have your car out front by the time you pay your bill. Great service!! From the second we walked in we had people all around us making sure we had everything we needed. From the apps to the mains to the dessert it was all great!! Did I mention the balconies? My entire family was seated on a balcony overlooking the water crashing on the rocks below. It was breathtaking!!! A must do fine dinning expierence while in St. Martin!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic meal and sunset at Le Santal. The best food and dining experience we had on the island for the week by far.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Santal also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Oyster Pond, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Santal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Santal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.