We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Overnigt Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite St. Louis
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Clayton
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Awesome Overnigt Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a short "In Town" 4th of July quick weekend getaway. We
chose the Ritz Carlton Hotel, as it offered a large Executive Suite with 1,000 + square
ft. with a mini fridge and a balcony with a scenic view. The Hotel Staff treated us like
royalty. This was our 1st stay at a Ritz Carlton Resort, so we were unsure of their service.

They offered Valet Parking at the front door, which we took advantage of, for the convenience.
When we went to the Front desk to check in, without asking, we were offered an upgrade to
a Club Level Executive suite on the top floor. This upgrade would normally have been an
additional 100.00 or more per night. It includes private access to the two top floors where you
have a personal concierge with a private VIP type lounge. This area is offered with your complimentary Top Shelf Liquors, wines, and multiple food presentations, so there is always
food available during the normal hours of your stay till 10:00 P.M.
We took advantage of the lounge area, which is like a fine dining room with all of the amenities
of a fine restaurant with white table cloths and silver arrangements. The waiters in this area bent
over backwards to make sure all our requests were met with a smile. The hotel overall was
extremely clean with quick elevators and a beautiful main 1st Floor Lounge area with live Music
and a 1st class bar area. This hotel was a great experience and we hope to come back again soon!!

Room Tip: We think the suites are the way to go, because they offer a separate living area with a half bath a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    95
    29
    18
    10
See reviews for
68
76
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The Clayton Ritz is a wonderful flagship for the Ritz chain. Staff are among the best we've ever seen...delightful, helpful, and willing to go an extra mile anytime for their guests.

The rooms have been refreshed recently, and are large and comfy. An extra soft chair would be nice to have, since they only afford you with one. And the wonderful bathrobes they used to provide are now cheapened but still useful. Beds are terrific. Totally comfortable. Bathrooms are large, modest flow restricted showerheads, with large, fluffy towels. Separated commode was a nice touch.

The food service has changed over the years, and is not up to the old Ritz quality. The starred restaurant's menu is modestly interesting, but selections and preparations left something to be desired. We would no longer recommend their eateries as we once could.

Our seat was near the cigar lounge, and the aromas from the room easily overpowered the very nice look of the restaurant.

The bar lounge is still a wonderful place to hang out and have a $14 beverage with free nuts and chips. It's one of the best parts of this place. Rooms come with coffee makers and free water, which was a nice touch. Internet is extra. The price doesn't show up until you're ready to finalize the deal on your device.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the front desk to the Cigar Bar, This Ritz property delivers!. The rooms are large and quiet with most every amenity available. The staff is top notch and ready to serve. I would not hesitate to stay at this location again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at some Ritz properties that didn't deliver, this Ritz was not one of those! From a staff that is friendly and efficient to a plush room with all the amenities you could ask for. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and I'm sure I will since our daughter just started studying at WashU!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Even though the Ritz Carlton is known for outstanding service, the staff was especially friendly. Our room was huge and very quiet, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The Bloody Mary bar on Sunday, high tea, and the art gallery were all wonderful. I had an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel last week for business. Staying again next week. Club rooms come with access to excellent club lounge. Food in club lounge is excellent. All-in-all a top quality Ritz. Rooms are large and nice. Lobby bar is great and very lively at nigth.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

First stay at a Ritz Carton, and it lived up to all expectations. Quick check-in, excellent service, good food. Our suite was excellent with quality amenities. I took advantage of a massage at the spa and was not disappointed. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.