We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good, but looking forward to the new bar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always good, but looking forward to the new bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always have a nice room at this hotel! It is nice to enjoy a drink or snack in the lobby which is usually hopping with live music on weekend nights! This time, the bar was closed off for renovations (though they were serving limited items from "behind the curtain"). I was disappointed they could not make their AMAZING Brandy Alexander for us as "the blender was broken" during the construction?!

Room Tip: The view is nice from the rooms on the front side of the hotel, though the back side rooms offer a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    111
    33
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
90
23
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St Louis Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Their statement " culinary experience like no other" Will look at other alternatives in future.

Totally failed our expectations.

Attended event held early Feb. Executive chef has yet to reply

Location and facility provide a great FIRST impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As you would expect from a Ritz the hotel was very good, although this hotel could do with a little updating in the bathroom areas of the rooms. Restaurants are very good, but the Sunday Brunch is exceptional value and very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This isa terrific hotel but, in my view, not up to the 5 star standards of the Ritz Carlton. I must begin by saying I will definitely stay there again. My room was lovely and the staff was terrific. However I was very disappointed with my dinner options. The dining room was closed; not sure if it was because it was Monday or if it is being renovated. I could order from a very limited bar menu or the room service menu. Really? So not like the Ritz Carlton's I am accustomed to. I ordered a Cobb salad and a steak sandwich, hoping to end up with a Cobb salad with steak. Almost but not quite.....it was the worst Cobb salad I have ever seen and the steak was so thin and grizzly that it would have been impossible to have it served rare, as I ordered.
Having said that, my server was delightful.
The fitness center is terrific and I hope the next time I come I will have time to book a service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stay at this property whenever I'm in St Louis and I absolutely love it. Its one of the best Ritz's globally I think. The staff is SO KIND - they greet you, learn your name, check on you, they are just the best - and the hotel is very updated and also a great spot to entertain clients. The private dining room is an experience to be had - one of the coolest client dinners I've ever hosted was back there. Room service is fantastic and surprisingly affordable compared to just about any luxury chain.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Whenever I feel like splurging on a hotel in St Louis I stay at the Ritz. It is hands down the best accommodation the city has to offer. I have stayed in dozens of other hotels in the city on my trips to SLU, and this hotel tops them all. The lobby, the service, the lobby bar and entertainment, the neighborhood, the rooms, the club level, and the amenities are outstanding. It is tucked away off of Forest PKWY, in a charming cul-de-sac with nearby restaurants and lovely shops. The rooms are modest, but you can tell your in a Ritz Carlton by the cleanliness, the large bathrooms, and the bedding. They offer bottled water in the rooms, turn down service, and complimentary coffee in room or in lobby. It is well worth the price you pay. Most of the rooms have balconies and a nice view of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Executive Suite in December 2012 and had a lovely stay. The room was very spacious, the bed was so comfortably and everything was perfect. We had the Sunday buffet which was great. Lots of seafood, meats and desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.