We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A step above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Whenever I feel like splurging on a hotel in St Louis I stay at the Ritz. It is hands down the best accommodation the city has to offer. I have stayed in dozens of other hotels in the city on my trips to SLU, and this hotel tops them all. The lobby, the service, the lobby bar and entertainment, the neighborhood, the rooms, the club level, and the amenities are outstanding. It is tucked away off of Forest PKWY, in a charming cul-de-sac with nearby restaurants and lovely shops. The rooms are modest, but you can tell your in a Ritz Carlton by the cleanliness, the large bathrooms, and the bedding. They offer bottled water in the rooms, turn down service, and complimentary coffee in room or in lobby. It is well worth the price you pay. Most of the rooms have balconies and a nice view of the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    120
    40
    21
    10
See reviews for
89
97
25
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed in an Executive Suite in December 2012 and had a lovely stay. The room was very spacious, the bed was so comfortably and everything was perfect. We had the Sunday buffet which was great. Lots of seafood, meats and desserts.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed here while visiting our daughter who attends school in the area. hotel is always clean and comfortable. staff always kind and helpful. we had a one bedroom suite for the first time and it was extremely large. we could have stayed the whole week it was so nice!!! hotel in middle of clayton - close to many restaurants, washington university, shopping etc. about 15/20 mins from airport (w/o traffic). the hotel lobby is old and grand. rooms and bathrooms all updated and lovely. highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Level Contributor
197 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The large room had beautiful appointments. The mattress was comfy and at least one of the pillows actually supported something heavier than a feather (still, most of the pillows were too soft and non-supporting). The chair was comfortable and the desk made getting work done an easy task. The large bathroom had ample counter space and the staff was friendly and helpful. Such is what one expects of a luxury hotel. This Ritz doesn't disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Such a beautiful place. The room was wonderful. Spacious and well appointed. Loved the large bathroom, but could have used some better lighting for make up. They did have a makeup mirror and that helped. In room coffee was good, with not just powdered creamer. All the food was provided by in house catering and has excellent. Mini creme brulee' was my fav. Dancing saturday night in the lounge was fun only wish the dance floor was a little larger.

Loved the fitness facility and pool area. Did not use the locker rooms and sauna but they are available. Great place for a winter meeting, or weekend get away. No need to leave at all during the entire stay and it didn't bother me a bit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I can not thank the Staff of the Ritz enough for giving our family of four a wonderful Thanksgiving stay. The hotel is beautiful, traditional and the staff was incredible. We had a small issue during our stay with an alarm clock going off in a room next door, and the staff bent over backwards to make up for the inconvenience. Everyone was ready to help, and very friendly. The pool is a bit run down, but my guess is they will work on this soon. The rooms were huge, and clean, and the beds very comfortable. The food at brunch was delicious, and the spa was a treat. We loved our stay and would highly recommend the Ritz.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz in StL Dec 27th and 28th. While checking in I mentioned that my wife, who was traveling with me, really enjoyed the Bulgari bath soap/shampoo etc.. Isabel Desantos, the front desk person who checked me in, made the comment that they had moved to their own brand but then quickly made a call and before we were in our suite they had substituted all the RC soaps for Bulgari. My wife was very pleased. This was only our second stay but it lives up their creedo where the genuine care of their guests is their number one priority. It "Feels" so different from a JW or W and is light years ahead of a regular Marriott.

1.A warm and sincere greeting. Use the guest's name.
2.Anticipation and fulfillment of each guest's needs.
3.Fond farewell. Give a warm good-bye and use the guest's name.

Isabel fulfilled the three steps and while they are in transition for a GM their Front of House Manager, Peter Forder, should make sure she is recognized for her genuine effort.
I stayed on points as it was personal but for now on I'll stay there when doing business in St. Louis.

Room Tip: If you have Marriott status of Gold or above it never hurts to ask if they by chance have an Executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Chase Park Plaza
#38 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 733 reviews
The Cheshire
#32 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#6 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis

Address: 100 Carondelet Plaza, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entranced by stunning chandeliers, graceful marble, and deep, rich woods, one immediately understands how The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis became an icon in this city dubbed "The Gateway to the West." Amid the warm ambiance of our luxury hotel, guests are transported to an elegant and refined era, one that is alive and well in this adventurous Midwestern city. Suddenly you feel inspired to linger over a martini, close a business arrangement, or just give wild abandon to the senses. Situated in the heart of Clayton, MO, which boasts a prestigious business district and affluent suburban residences, The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis is considered one of the finest luxury hotels near Downtown St. Louis. Treasured by residents for its famed Lobby Lounge featuring a martini bar with over 200 martinis and hand-rolled sushi, private cigar club, and gracious service, it is no surprise that The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis has consistently earned the distinguished Four-Star rating from Forbes Travel Guide Star Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton St. Louis Hotel Clayton
Ritz Saint Louis
Ritz-Carlton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.