We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7750 Carondelet Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Clayton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Leawood, Kansas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good place for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We only stayed one night but had a good experience. Best part was a free arcade game room off the pool area - the pool was fine (pretty average indoor hotel pool), but the added opportunity to play some free games (frogger, race car, etc.) was great entertainment for the kids. We had room service and the food was good. The included breakfast was good and the hotel manager made a point of introducing himself and checking to see if we needed anything. The hotel itself shows its age a bit, but it is clean. The location was good - about two blocks to metro station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    115
    83
    60
    42
See reviews for
145
78
35
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is located right in the city center area of Clayton. There is a work out facility and a pool. The rooms are clean and include a fridge and a microwave. I stayed in 215, so it's just down the hall from the workout room and above the breakfast buffet.

My only gripe was the shower...sounded like a helicopter landing in the walls when the water was running. Not sure if they have a pulsing machine or something but it was loud. Noticed it when the room next to us took a shower too. Otherwise a nice stay and I've been back 2-3 times.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This property has a lot of potential, but it is in need of attention. The location is great. I intended to self-park, but ended up opting for valet because I arrived at night and the parking garage was creepy. My disappointment really started once we got inside. The common areas of the hotel were very worn and grimy and I did not find the reception desk staff friendly or welcoming. My disappointment deepened when we reached our room. It appears that an attempt was made to remodel/update the guest rooms, but the attempt stopped at new flooring and bedding. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but the wallpaper and moldings were old, stained and in need of repair. The next morning, I was going to grab a cup of coffee at the coffee bar in the lobby, but it was filthy. We did not enjoy the "free breakfast." The hostess was rude. It is a buffet, but it took forever to get coffee and a drink for my daughter. The restaurant was crowded and the set up doesn't really lend itself to a buffet configuration. I was extremely disappointed in this stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear ricksea55,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to know that you find our beds comfortable. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience the overall condition of the room and breakfast options may have caused. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that reason, your comments will certainly be looked into. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, we thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This property does not met the Crown Plaza standard that would be expected
The king room was in the OLD tower and had been remoldeled --kind of
The wall still had a impression of an old picture that did not get repainted --the bathroom was very small--with a cracked sink--the blackout curtain did not black out --the ice maker on my floor --6--did not work--and had to go to the front desk to find another ice maker on the 3rd floor --the parking garage is creepy --
Check out is at 11:00 am but the maid came by at 9:00 am to clean the room knocked on the door and left

Room Tip: Ask for the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Clyde S,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for not living up to your expectations and for not creating a memorable stay for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Clayton hotels

New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This hotel has definitely seen better days but my room was nice and clean. The staff are all very friendly from the doormen to the reception area and the dining room. The included breakfast is a good deal with a full buffet including a chef making fresh omelets. I was pleasantly pleased to be approached by the owner at breakfast. He obviously takes pride in his hotel and cares about what his clients have to say.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Paulette, thank you for your feedback! We're glad you found a clean room and friendly staff and that you enjoyed the included amenities! I'm glad you got to meet the hotel owner at breakfast too! Yes - he cares a tremendous deal about our guests, just as the rest of our wonderful staff. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in St. Louis! Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikeston, Missouri
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

May be outdated but I think it is a wonderful view of the past and hope they keep it just the way it is. Beautiful architecture, flooring, wood paneling in places. Bed was comfy, room was large. Bathroom was clean. Like most, think the pricing is too high as our total was $166 for two double beds but as many places were full would think they are able to charge this. Breakfast is awesome, made-to-order omelets and waffles, everything from fruit to biscuits and gravy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you, Mopesty, for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted to know you appreciated our warm ambiance as much as we do! We cherish the classic architecture and we're currently redesigning to bring in the modern touches. We're so glad you enjoyed yourself and found value in our hotel - we hope you'll come see us again soon! Thanks again on behalf of our entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Please acknowledge the staff members
Jeremy
Amanda
Nikki
And Eric Howard

They took us in and treated us as family after we were stranded in st Louis after the snow storm. They fed us and kept us happy and comfortable. These employees showed incredible work ethic and ability to please and accommodate people in times of stress. Thank you so much Jeremy, Nikki, Amanda, and Eric Howard

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
On behalf of everyone mentioned, thank you so much to you and the rest of the wonderful Southwest crew! We had such a great time with you all and we're so glad you got to stay with us! Please do come back and see us next time you're in the area. See you in Chicago! -Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Clayton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Clayton Hotel, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Crowne Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser Busch Brewery, Grant s Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Crowne Plaza St. Louis- Clayton Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Crowne Plaza difference, pamper yourself with our Sleep Advantage program in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wired/wireless high speed internet access. The Crowne Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Clayton Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Crowne Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel Saint Louis, MO
Crowne Plaza Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.