We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel stay on a 10-day trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7750 Carondelet Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Clayton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Reading, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel stay on a 10-day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My 17-year-old son and I stayed here for one night while we visited Washington University in St. Louis. We found both the service and the facility to be outstanding. As soon as we checked in we were treated like VIPs by the extremely courteous staff, including the on-site manager, clerk, courtesy van driver and the waitstaff in the restaurant. The hotel offers convenient and very reasonable on-site garage parking. The lobby is multi-story and has an elegant feeling. The room itself was spacious and very nicely appointed, with very comfortable mattresses and pillows. My son was thrilled with the spa robe (I guess we don't take him out much.) The staff made excellent recommendations for dining on a Sunday night (not too much going on in Clayton!) We enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and the very nice gym. Breakfast buffet was included with our room, and although the eggs were not delicious, the service was very efficient and friendly. The desk manager offered to have the shuttle drive us to Washington University, but it was actually a very easy drive from the hotel.

We stayed in some higher-end hotels during our college-visiting trip, but the Clayton Crowne Plaza offered the best service by far and our favorite rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    141
    88
    61
    44
See reviews for
163
87
39
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Rooms are very tired and there is a strange smell. The elevator button just turns off and it doesn't come to the floor (may have been the best part of the stay since the stairs were better than the work out room). When we decided to cut our stay short the person at the desk informed us that we could not get a refund for the second night. The wait in line to attempt to check out early was long becasue there were dozens of people complaining about various problems with the rooms. It seemed to be a competition with those in line to see who had the worst experience. Lot's of water problems. Our room only had intermittent water. Not a problem for me by it stopped while my wife was washing her hair. Not good timing.

Room Tip: Usually we like to stay on high floor but ask for a room on a low floor because the elevators are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHG Care at Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

^bj
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Peters, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Spent one night at the Crowne Plaza but wished we could of stayed longer! Our room was spacious and sparkling clean. It was very hot and we received a bottle of cold water upon arrival - what a nice touch. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Enjoyed time at the pool and had great breakfast in the restaurant. When in the Clayton area - Crowne Plaza is our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Thank goodness we only stayed for one night. We were there because of a wedding and we won't be going back. Once you enter past the lobby, you see the hotel's "true colors". The walls are paper thin and our room smelled of BO when we first walked in the door. The shower was dirty and I had to wash it out before I would let my family step into it.

We went to the pool area and there were all kinds of used towels lying around as well as trash (in and out of the pool) . It had green slime on the tiles of the pool and there were dead bugs everywhere in the pool. Obviously the pool was not cleaned in a while.

The free game area was nice, but it was obviously not taken care of either because one of the kids there previously decided to wipe their "nose findings" on the wall. Come on...gross! I am telling you that there is no way the hotel housekeeping could have missed it....the only way was if they didn't even step foot in the room.

Oh, and to go back to the wedding....the food was like dog food. There was some sort of bredded chicken with a dark mushroom gravy poured over it and the funniest was this tomato cut in half and was broiled with cheese on it.....I know that might be due to the brides choice, but it still tasted terrible.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Upon arrival we were pleased with the appearance of the hotel but unfortunately the experience went downhill from there. As soon as the front desk person realized we booked with Priceline she was very rude and didn't bother to offer directions to the parking garage or how to get to our room from there. She also acted perplexed that I asked her how to get to the nearest Metrolink stop. The hotel layout is very confusing with very poor signage which left us having to change elevators to get to where we needed to go. The room was semi-clean but very musty smelling and one of the double beds actually rolled away from the headboard when we set our bag on it. The next morning as I asked if there was anywhere that served breakfast I was told to hold on, they had to check to see if I "qualified" for the free buffet or not. Apparently since we booked through Priceline we did not, but we paid the $10.99 and ate it anyway because nearby options are very slim. Breakfast was ok, but not worth $10.99. Then we had to ask what time checkout was because no one bothered to tell us and again, there was no signage in our room or anywhwere indicating. By the time we paid for parking and breakfast we were just as well off to stay at the Drury Forest Park where those amenities are free. Lesson learned!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Lobby and art work were attractive. The doorman was very helpful when we asked him about a place to dine. There was a nice flat screen T.V. and comfortable mattress in room. However, the room was old, small (cramped), damp and musty smelling, the carpet was worn and dirty, the exterior room door and bathroom doors both stuck. I stayed in room 409 and actually got stuck in the bathroom when I closed the door tightly. I had to have a friend shove the door from the outside, so I could get out of the bathroom! Thank goodness she stopped by! I feel this hotel was over priced at $155.82 (and that price included my AAA discount). I have stayed in Comfort Inns that were nicer than this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This place has created a certain loyalty in me, as you can see by the tagline.

We held our first convention here in February 2009, and since then, we have held four more events - another convention of 1000 in March 2010, a smaller 400-attendee convention in December 2010, our third 1000+-attendee event in March 2011 (which proved to be too large for the hotel to handle in the end), and finally a 100-person event in July 2011. We are ready to sign a contract on yet another 200-attendee cabaret event for December.

The service has only gotten better. The sales managers and general manager are always willing to work with us on pricing and help us get the best deal for our attendees on rooms. No one bats an eyelash when I explain the strange ideas we have for events (like turning a section of their meeting space into Hogwarts for 24 hours). It's all part of their job, and they do it with aplomb.

One of my favorite things about the Crowne Plaza that I will sorely miss now that we have to move our largest event to a more spacious venue is the food. Their restaurant has amazing BBQ chicken pizza, and everything the catering department makes is wonderful (except, for some sad reason, the rolls). I was so impressed with the food that I asked them to create British feasts for our Harry Potter event this July.

If you are looking for a good venue for 50-1000 people, especially if it's a convention, take a look at the Crowne Plaza.

My only three problems are these:

1. Some of the meeting spaces, when used in combination, are not easily handicap accessible. There ARE ways to get around it, but it's difficult and not ideal.

2. Some of the hotel rooms have not yet been remodeled. The ones that have are lovely, but the un-remodeled rooms are not as nice. The beds in all of the rooms are amazing, though.

3. The Oxford Room has spotty internet. The internet in the rest of the meeting spaces is fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel

Address: 7750 Carondelet Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Clayton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Clayton Hotel, just 15 minutes from Lambert St. Louis International Airport, centrally located in the heart of St. Louis's most prestigious business and residential district and within walking distance of many of St. Louis s finest restaurants, bars, boutiques, and galleries. The Crowne Plaza is conveniently surrounded by notable Forbes & Fortune 500 corporations such as Monsanto, Brown Shoe and Morgan Stanley, to name a few. Nearby attractions include Saint Louis Galleria, Washington University, Gateway Arch, Union Station, Busch Stadium (Cardinals Baseball), Edward Jones Dome (Rams Football), Savvis Center (Blues Hockey), Anheuser Busch Brewery, Grant s Farm, Forest Park featuring St. Louis Zoo, Muny Opera, Fox Theatre, Convention Center, Casinos and Six Flags. The Crowne Plaza St. Louis- Clayton Hotel has recently completed a $10.5 million renovation. Come and experience the Crowne Plaza difference, pamper yourself with our Sleep Advantage program in the spacious and relaxing guest rooms featuring the seven-layer-bed sleep amenity package and complimentary wired/wireless high speed internet access. The Crowne Plaza boasts over 21,000 square feet of flexible meeting space including the Top of The Tower Crystal Ballroom. Stay at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Clayton Hotel and experience our consummate service and attention to detail. We deliver the Crowne Plaza promise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel Saint Louis, MO
Crowne Plaza Clayton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.