We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meet me in Ruth's Chris bar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton
1 North Brentwood Suite 150, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63015
314-783-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Clayton
Price range: $45 - $55
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Forsyth
Transit: Metro Link/N. Hanley
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meet me in Ruth's Chris bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is a utopia in the dismal downtown restaurant scene! Aime was our bartender & did a great job. We had French onion soup, salads, filets & dessert. The house made blue cheese may have been the best I've had in my life. Yum! Definitely will revisit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great Steaks, what else can you say? I started eating at Ruth Chris 20 years ago in New Orleans at the original location where Ruth would meet and talk with everyone. The cream spinach is tremendous. They haven't lost any of their quality by going national.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our reservation was honored on time. Our wait staff Daryl and Daniel were both excellent and were quite attentive. Thank you!! Everyone enjoyed their meals. Staff were very kind to help us celebrate our graduate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Predictable and Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you've been to one Ruth's Chris, you've been to them all. Save for the fact that an acquaintance who is a manager at another location tells me that because the Clayton location is a franchise, they are free to set their own prices, which are several dollars more than other locations. Still, if you're looking for a decent chain steak, Ruth's Chris does not disappoint.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average steak, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was informed this steakhouse was one of the best in St Louis, if so, I was not impressed by the quality of the steak I had. The service was OK and certainly not as good as a number of other restaurants in the area. This was an expensive meal for an average quality of food and service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House - Clayton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.