We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis to your Saves list
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7730 Bonhomme Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Lebanon, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a desirable location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room wasn't cleaned that well, which we did not appreciate, but it was quiet and we didn't hear much noise. We got a good price for this hotel through Expedia.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    123
    85
    49
    23
See reviews for
132
78
48
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel is a good business hotel. Free airport shuttle is excellent, and hotel is just 5 mins walk to the Metro Link to get to Downtown St Louis. Most Clayton office towers are within a 10 minute walk of the hotel, as is Clayton's main drag with its eateries.

Essay, the check in clerk, was extremely helpful. Lobby is clean and bright and bar staff friendly. Club lounge on 14th floor a bit dingy and small, but well stocked food and drink for both breakfast and evening snack.

Swimming pool is a good size, but a hot tub would be a nice addition for winter in STL (it was only 17 Fahrenheit outside during my stay)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Sheraton Clayton Plaza is a bit older, but still a very nice hotel.

THe rooms are renovated, and the beds are very comfortable. Housekeeping is PERFECT. The rooms are immaculate!

Service is always above par, and usually far exceeds other properties. Recently, Susie made my stay perfect. A warm greeting at check in, and then she not only remembered my name when she saw me in the Club, but she remember something from my PAST STAY. You cant pay for that, and the Sheraton Clayton has several people like Susie. An employee who can add that little bit of personal service is priceless, and its something that i never forget.

THe club is nice, with daily breakfast and evening offerings. It is also open 24 hours if you need a drink or light snack. Very nice.

Room Tip: I prefer the SPG rooms on 14, 15, 16....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location in safe neighborhood surrounded by awesome restaurants. Easy access to interstates, shopping, etc. Rooms are small, but nice and modern. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Little pricey for valet parking but it's a high-end neighborhood. Definintely the nicest hotel in Clayton area.

Room Tip: ask for room with view - otherwise looking at rooftops. Not many with good views I don't think
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I live in Clayton. For a large family occasion, I had made arrangements well in advance and paid for my daughter and 10 year old grand daughter to stay at the Clayton Sheraton for five nights. I accompanied them as they checked in.

The clerk at the desk told her that the queen room had only one bed, and if she wanted another bed it would be $20 more per night. He was not quite impolite, but he surely was not there to be pleasant or helpful. Other than trying to find another hotel I felt I had no option. I agreed to the additional cost. I later checked the website for the Sheraton and found that a cot or rollaway bed costs $10 per night. It would be interesting to have an acceptable explanation for that discrepancy.

We were told that she could chose not to have housekeeping, which would save $5 per day. However, she was not told that this $5 would be a credit, good only to be used in the hotel's bar or restaurant.

The free internet was available only in the lobby. The costs in the room would be $10 per day for EACH device. Perhaps the Sheraton needs to realize that we now bring our own IPads, phones, computers. The hotel needs to offer, as do most other hotels, free internet in the rooms.

And still another expense: parking the car at the hotel costs an additional $14 per night.

But the best was while checking the room before leaving, we found the perfect and appropriate end to the Sheraton stay: a dirty diaper under the bed!

There are expressions for what this hotel does: "nickel and dimeing you", and "bait and switch". It was an unpleasant experience. I will never again ask any of my guests to stay at the Sheraton.

Room Tip: Just avoid all rooms here.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write me concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas.

It should not be necessary but, occasionally, we must remind our staff that we are in a highly competitive business, where good service is often the only distinguishing feature between us and our competition. Service is our business and there is no room on our staff for anyone who is rude to guests.

With respect to the upgrade charge of $20 vs. a $10 rollaway fee, the $20 room upgrade does not only represent the cost of an additional bed, it also includes the size of the room, type of bed, location of the room and other features.

There is absolutely no excuse for the poor housekeeping services you experienced.

Most of our guests take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle services and our complimentary shuttle services to locations within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. Guests also enjoy the complimentary use of computers at The Link@Sheraton facility located adjacent to Alexander’s and connected to the Lobby Lounge. For the benefit of those that do not require our complimentary services, I have asked our marketing manager to update our websites to better explain our parking and internets fees.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which your visit was handled. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again in the future should you be kind enough to give us the opportunity. I invite you to call me directly at 314.678.2320.

Ron Juneman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscola, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

OK The staff was very friendly and accommodating, but the hotel charges for every little thing. We purposely chose a hotel outside the downtown area to avoid paying parking charges only to find out-$14 to park. We didn't need internet access but it was $9.95 a day. Showers very small. Hotel was clean and our room was fully stocked and smelled fine. However, the lobby smelled like sulfur or wet dog. I would probably not stay here again and with all the hotels in STL area I would say pick another.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
I certainly appreciate you taking the time to write me concerning your recent stay at our hotel. I was sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations in several areas.

Your comments regarding the odor in the lobby are very disturbing to me as they certainly do not represent the quality of service we have proudly built our reputation. I can assure you that we have taken immediate steps to ensure that other guests do not suffer the inconveniences you experienced.

In an attempt to maintain competitive rates, we do not automatically charge everyone for parking or Wi-Fi services. Many guests take advantage of our complimentary airport shuttle services or they take advantage of the complimentary shuttle services we offer to attractions, places of business or other places of interest within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. We also offer complimentary Wi-Fi services in The Link@Sheraton located in the lobby adjacent to the Lobby Lounge.

Again, I certainly appreciate your taking the time to inform me of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for NYE 2012 and had a great experience.

Front desk staff was friendly upon check-in and check-out.

The shuttle was running late for NYE and instead of just servicing the airport was taking guests anywhere they needed to go. Being able to save on cab fair to our destination was very much appreciated.

Our room was very nice. Clean and no issues. We had booked on hotwire and as they had oversold queen rooms we were upgraded to a king room which is our preference anyway.

No complaints. No issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Address: 7730 Bonhomme Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis in bustling downtown Clayton. Experience the fresh new look of our recently renovated guest rooms and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, AAA Travel Services, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis, MO
Clayton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.