We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7730 Bonhomme Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Clayton
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Friday and Saturday night stay -- $139 for room and good full breakfast was decent value, room was comfortable and clean; ventilation was noisy -- only drawback to room. Location excellent for our purposes. $14 charge for parking seemed excessive, and parking garage exit required LONG trip down and back up in tight quarters for our Lincoln Navigator. Didn't pay $10 per day Wi-fi charge; should be free in 21st century!

WARNING: Fire exits are in center and one end. We had fire alarm on our floor -- firemen and everything -- and we were at end without staircase! Got our attention! Will never not check again!

Room Tip: See review -- get room with fire exit nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
We offer all our guests complimentary airport shuttle and complimentary shuttle services to other facilities and services within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. In addition, the Link @ Sheraton experienced with Microsoft facility in our lobby area provides all our customers with complimentary Wi-Fi, computer, and printing services. Many of our guests take advantage of these complimentary services. For others who require parking and other Wi-Fi services, we focus on keeping our fees reasonable and customary for our market. We look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    116
    81
    47
    23
See reviews for
125
77
48
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My experience was absolutely horrible at this hotel. I was coming to St. Louis for a wedding. The night before my arrival the bride informed me that my reservation had been cancelled. She only knew this because she went to drop off something for me at the front desk. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED! The hotel lied to my friend and told her they contacted me and I was okay being transferred to hotel by the airport. This couldn't have been farther from the truth as I was never contacted. I demanded a room, which was eventually provided to me. However, the hotel complimentary transportation services did not pick me up after I had called them once I landed. 45 minutes later someone came to pick me up. The actual stay at the hotel was fine but then once I got home I realized the hotel had double charged me. What a hassle. I will never ever again stay at this hotel or any Sheraton for that matter. This hotel and its service ruined what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend. Instead it was very stressful and a huge hassle. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to speak to me about your recent experience at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel. We always prefer to speak witih our guests directly as we address concerns. I apologize for someone not contacting you earlier in the process. We were delighted to learn that you will now be registering to become one of our newest members of the Starwood Preferred Guest program. Thank you for our continued interest in Starwood Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I rated the hotel poor because of the value received for the money spent. Most hotels now do not charge for wi-fi. Having installed it in commercial locations, it is not that expensive to install and maintain. It's an antiquated charge because it doesn't cost $9.95/day/room to run it. The "free" area deemed my e-mail address from comcast.net as a "Adult" site so I was not able to get any of my e-mails. I finally went to a free wi-fi coffee shop and got them and only paid $3.95 for the coffee(better bargain than the $9.95) The room was comfortable, but small. It was quiet and the bed and shower were great. We "heard" the food was good, but were unable to have a meal there because we were invited out elsewhere. The parking garage was dark and dingy and it was dangerous to walk up/down to the entrances on the 1st and 2nd level and for that they charge an additional $14/day.

Room Tip: Antiquated charges for wi-fi and poor lit parking areas which invites crime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. It sounds like you enjoyed the value of one of our queen “cozy” rooms. We were delighted to hear your room was comfortable and quiet. We do get many compliments regarding our Sheraton Sweep Sleeper beds as well as compliments about bath areas of the room as you also mentioned. I am sorry you feel we are “antiquated” for charging Wi-Fi fees. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi services at our Link@Sheraton experienced with Microsoft facility that is in the lobby, adjacent to our restaurant and connected to our lobby lounge. We will inspect the garage to make sure no lights are burnt out. We normally have good lighting in the garage. It is a very safe facility. We hope you do provide us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Could easily be a solid 4 star hotel (certainly no 5* here).
Pros:
- Very convenient location. One of the closest hotels to Washington Univ, the Zoo, and many shopping areas.
- Very well maintained. Clean.
- Friendly staff.
- Restaurant on premises, not too expensive and decent food.
- Nice bar and sitting area outside the restaurant

Cons:
- The typical Sheraton problem: charges $10/day for wireless per room PER DEVICE, and does not have wired, so now way around it. You either do all your work and play in the lobby area, pay the extra for the concierge level (free there), or absorb the crazy costs, We have a family of four, each with a laptop and tablet. That comes to $80/day for internet, absolutely ridiculous. This also is not told to you on the online page when you pay. When it went to charge me again for my 2nd of 8 devices, asked the front desk and was told it was "clearly spelled out" in the middle of page 2 of two sheets they have taped on the ledge of the check in desk. Bad enough to charge you more than $10 per room per day, but at least warn about this online when you sign up. Terrible policy, and frankly, will keep me away from ANY Sheraton until they change this.

- Showers! Oh boy. Water pressure is good, which is surprising that there are so many issues. It takes about 90 seconds for any adjustment you make in the water temp to "register", so always chasing changing it. But the big problem is if anyone near you is showering at the same time, water temp constantly changes from ice to scalding. Add to that the delay in what comes out when you change the handle, it makes for a frustrating and dangerous experience. We learned to shower at weird times, like 8:30pm. Worked fine at that time.

- Parking lot ($14/day) is a bit strange, the 2 underground floors dimly lit (which you have to drive through completely to get out - huh?), and to then get into the hotel, force you to walk up/down the up/down ramps. Almost got run over several times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your complete review of your experience at the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel. Your “Pro” comments are a very nice description of our property. With respect to your “Cons”, it sounds like we did not do a sufficient job explaining the cost effective alternatives available to those with multiple internet service requirements. The Sheraton Club is available as an upgrade for only $30 per room, per night. Included with this would be a complimentary internet connection for each of your family members…as you described. In addition, however, you and your family would have also enjoyed complimentary breakfast, afternoon refreshments and snacks and evening offerings…a value much greater than the $30 upgrade fee. I apologize for the Front Desk Associates not doing a better job explaining the Sheraton Club benefits. In addition, they know better than to handle your comments about the fees in the manner you described. As we do not know your room number from your message, we have instructed the engineering team to spot check every room in the building to assure we do not have the scalding water conditions you described. Such conditions are not the norm.

Thank you again for your in-depth comments. We hope the information provided in this response will encourage you and others to return to our hotel or another Sheraton Hotel world-wide and take advantage of the Sheraton Club benefits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a very worn property. Tiny bathrooms, elevators that move at glacial pace and take forever to arrive and terrible internet service. I waited on hold for 40 minutes to talk to someone in support to get my internet connection working and finally gave up. There are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Try someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonJuneman, General Manager at Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to report we are installing new furniture in each of our rooms. We had our technology team test and reset all of the routers to assure we have good wi-fi service throughout the hotel. We have no records of faulty services at this time. There is no excuse for you having to wait to speak with someone regarding the internet connection. I apologize for that experience. We hope you give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I was planning to stay at this hotel but plans changed. Before the change, I had spoken to Ron Juneman, hotel manager. I must comment him for his concern and actions in trying to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I would stay at this hotel in the future just based on him

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I am platinum with Starwood, so I am not sure my experience is typical -- but probably similar for most business travelers. When I arrived, the person at the front desk said ``We've been waiting for you'' as if I were a long-lost cousin, and went into some detail about the hotel's offerings. I ended up upgraded to a beautiful suite, with a nice living area and desk.

On the floor, was a large club room for gold and platinum members which on the night I was there had wine and cheese (and brownees) complimentary, then had an excellent continental breakfast in the morning. I don't watch much TV other than sports, but about the only 2 non-sports and non-news shows I watch are Dexter and Homeland, so I was delighted that the hotel (and I take it most Sheratons) gets Showtime, which I'd much rather have than HBO.

There was also a shuttle to the St Louis/Lambert airport which operated I think on the half hour, at least much of the weekday. So all in all it was a hassle-free, pleasant experience with strikingly good service. I travel to the area now and then, so I will definitely be back in time. (Again, some of the amenities, though not all, are for frequent Starwood guests, so I am not claiming this is typical. Just what I got, which is great.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis

Address: 7730 Bonhomme Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis in bustling downtown Clayton. Experience the fresh new look of our recently renovated guest rooms and meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis Saint Louis, MO
Clayton Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.