We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of C.J. Muggs

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
C.J. Muggs
200 S Central Ave, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-3506
(314) 727-1908
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 51 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Pizza
Restaurant details
Fishers, Indiana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of 23 eat here for dinner. That party included 14 kids. We felt very welcome and the staff treated us great. The food was good and seemed reasonably priced. They also had a large drink menu. We would definitely recommend CJ Muggs for quick friendly service.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“relaxing Saturday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to CJ Muggs for a late lunch on Saturday. Love the location; it is fun to just watch the people walking around in Old Webster. Food was really good and SO happy to see such a good menu of gluten free options! The gluten free muffalato was great. We had good service, but it seems like the wait staff is always stressed out when we go there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food but can be noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I like CJ but I avoid it whne they have entertainmnet as it is too noisy to eat and visit. THe service is very good and the food is good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Convenient, Decent Food, Okay Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Snowed in at my hotel, CJ Muggs was the most convenient restaurant within walking distance. The atmosphere is great: a true pub. The service from our host and the runners was great, but our actual server was not so wonderful. As for the food, it was decent. I had a very weird salisbury steak and mushroom soup, but an absolutely delicious sandwich and amazing fries! Dessert left a lot to be desired.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay convenient place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Was near our hotel and we ate lunch a couple times there. 1st was on weekday when busy with local office workers. Sandwiches and chicken fingers were normal restaurant fare in that they were filling buy nothing to rave about. Service was nice. Liked sitting outside and watching people go by.
2nd time was a Sunday with only a few customers at the bar. Initially treated like we were a pain in the rear to hostess and waitstaff. Our salads were great big, though rather bland. Again, filled us up so serviceable in that regard. Waitress attitude did gradually improve for some reason and she was much nicer and more helpful.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C.J. Muggs also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to C.J. Muggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C.J. Muggs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.