We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waiter, great food and great summer night dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Mun Oyster Bar

De Mun Oyster Bar
740 DeMun Road, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105-2219
(314) 725-0322 ‎
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
De Mun Oyster Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 48 restaurants in Clayton
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining style: Casual Dining
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great waiter, great food and great summer night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We dined as 3 couples and sat out on the patio. It was an unusually cool STL summer night. It is a beautiful setting on the patio and the large windows also opened wide for the people sitting inside to have an almost similar patio experience. We had a tremendous waiter, Lee. He is also a sommelier and chef at the place. His fund of knowledge about the whole menu (food and drinks) was amazing and he was welcoming and attentive. The cocktails were fun and inventive. the wine prices were varied and we ended up with a $32 light crisp spanish wine at Lee's suggestion which paired very well with our seafood (after a round of cocktails). Every appetizer, small plate and entree we had was terrific. I didn't have oysters but those that did raved about them. It was definitely the best scallop in STL. The mussels and clams in garlic were tremendous. The dessert choices were only 3 but beignets and pear dish were both quite good (but not as good as the savory dishes). My only complaint for the whole eveing was structural. We sat on the side patio which had a pleasant view. However, we were near the back door to the kitchen which was used frequently and banged closed every 2 minutes. Note to restauranteur, please install a "soft close" feature. It was very distracting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    10
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
st louis mo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Soft shell clams= N. E.. Steamers!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We dined at the Oyster Bar for our anniversary, recently.
We tried a mix of smaller plates, and the soft shelled clams brought us home to New England-we haven't found steamers ANYwhere else in stl.
The caesar salad was very nice.
Note: the oysters would have been MUCH nicer, served on a bed of ice, rather than salt, considering it was June in stl.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's not just oysters...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Finally stopped in to check out the mussels! Wonderful! While I just expected oysters (not my favorite sea fare) I was surprised to see an eclectic selection of seafood, all creatively prepared with a tasty promise within. Lots of good bread for soaking up that creamy wine sauce surrounding the mussels. Good wine list as well. Dining street side was pleasant with the parkway and park like surroundings. Anxious to return for another culinary adventure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loopgrl5
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome shellfish, great wines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The wine list is great, I am obsessed with the clams & mussels dish but honestly any of the shellfish there is some of the best in St. Louis. Obviously get some oysters, they are about as fresh as they come! They also make some great cocktails here. Not to mention the outdoor seating is fantastic and the interior is absolutely stunning. A great date place or a stop with girlfriends.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming and delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped in early on a Saturday for lunch, and had the whole place to ourselves (nice). The decor is a riff on a French bistro; comfortable and intimate. We chose the bar with the great view of the beautiful oysters resting in crushed ice. Half the fun is watching a professional pop an oyster open in no time. They had 6 varieties, and the waiter/bartender was extremely knowledgable about each, and was helpful in suggesting wine pairings. We sampled 3 of each kind; I'm from the East Coast and a bit skeptical about getting oysters this far inland, but these babies were FRESH and extremely tasty! The service was attentive without being cloying. I'd highly recommend this place (and I will return!).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Mun Oyster Bar also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to De Mun Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Mun Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.