We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Half & Half

Half & Half
8135 Maryland Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
314-725-0719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 48 restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Half & Half has become the upscale hipster breakfast in the area. The wait for table can be substantial on weekends. If the wait is more than 20 minutes we usually go elsewhere. The food is very good, although I do have one major complaint. They serve really good coffee, but the decaf coffee they serve is just downright awful. I wish they would change this so I'm not tempted to break my dietary restrictions. The service is adequate but could be improved. The average breakfast entree is in the $12-15 range so it is by no means inexpensive.

This review would have scored very good for better decaf coffee and better service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    31
    13
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always Good Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I had lunch again at Half & Half in Clayton today. It is a nice, simple place, with a lively friendly atmosphere. The grilled cheese and BLT are awesome if you like those. Have not had a breakfast item there yet but those who I have been with have and they were very pleased. You can get the breakfast items at lunch as well. The best part about the place is its service. Warm, friendly, cheerful and very attentive.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cute joint. But Beware: no food on Mondays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere and staff were both very pleasant. I can't judge the food b/c we visited on a Monday morning and apparently the kitchen is closed on mondays. Unfortunate but since we'd already put money in the meter we stayed for a coffee which was exceptional.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, skip the dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Breakfast at Half&Half was very good but probably not worth a significant wait. Fare was typical of upscale breakfast places (french toast with fancy stuffing etc). Coffee was very good. However, on weekends, the line is frequently out the door for a table, and the food and relatively high prices don't justify the wait.

Dinner at Medianoche was mixed. Having dined there 2 times, the food for me and fellow diners was variable. Great guacomole and chips. Tacos (served as 3 of same kind) are very good with corn tortilla. However, the chefs are pretencious enough that they will not serve a mixed sample (which doesn't even make financial sense); they also "request no additions or substitutions". The 2 entrees I tried were both excellent but not worth the price (probably $5 too high). The mussels with chorizo broth were standard fare but there were at least 5 "unopened" shells.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

very nice breakfast place. freindly service and good prices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half & Half also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Half & Half? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half & Half, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.