We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Breakfast, skip the dinner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Half & Half

Half & Half
8135 Maryland Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
314-725-0719
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, skip the dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Breakfast at Half&Half was very good but probably not worth a significant wait. Fare was typical of upscale breakfast places (french toast with fancy stuffing etc). Coffee was very good. However, on weekends, the line is frequently out the door for a table, and the food and relatively high prices don't justify the wait.

Dinner at Medianoche was mixed. Having dined there 2 times, the food for me and fellow diners was variable. Great guacomole and chips. Tacos (served as 3 of same kind) are very good with corn tortilla. However, the chefs are pretencious enough that they will not serve a mixed sample (which doesn't even make financial sense); they also "request no additions or substitutions". The 2 entrees I tried were both excellent but not worth the price (probably $5 too high). The mussels with chorizo broth were standard fare but there were at least 5 "unopened" shells.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    16
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

very nice breakfast place. freindly service and good prices.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best way to start your day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This place was packed, and we had to wait 30 minutes to get in; and after eating there, it's easy to see why! The food and service are excellent. We had steak and eggs, the cinnamon sugar doughnuts, the blackberry marscapone French toast, oatmeal, fruit salad, and a Bloody Mary. Only the Bloody Mary, which came with a fried pickle, was just okay. Everything else was fabulous! The service is excellent as well. When the oatmeal came late, it was comped before it got to the table. We may go back to St. Louis just to visit this place again! Oh, and to see our daughter!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice staff, nice space, great food and coffee,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The friendly staff at this restaurant cheerfully served me brunch even though I showed up 10 mins before close. AND it was delicious. Try the salmon hash! Especially good coffee.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unique breakfast selections and one of the best cups of Coffee I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I was certain that I had written a review of this establishment (perhaps it was another site) but I don't see it among my past reviews. So, while im on a roll, I felt compelled to give props to Half & Half. Although its been sometime since I had the pleasure of visiting, Half & Half remains as one of the most memorable breakfast spots that I can recall. And the coffee is outstanding! I believe the proprietor was once affiliated with Kaldi's coffee house as the head barista. Forgive me if I've misstated his former role but know this, he knows coffee! So, do yourself a favor and stop by for coffe and some breakfast. (I think they may do lunch as well.)
...I miss this place btw:)

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half & Half also viewed

 
Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Half & Half? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Half & Half, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.