We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch and coffee place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Companion

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Companion
8143 Maryland Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
314.352.4770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 53 Restaurants in Clayton
Cuisines: Bakeries
Restaurant details
Ladue, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch and coffee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A nice place to grab lunch with friends in a casual setting. They offer fresh soup, salads and sandwiches - everything tastes good and flavorful. Outside seating is a plus on a warm spring day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Inefficient & Overpriced!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

With all the good Sunday morning options packed, my family and I decided to try Companion. Not sure which is more inefficient they guy taking the orders and making the sandwich's or the girl at the register. I waited in line for more than 20 minutes to place my order, which put me past noon when the breakfast menu ends. When my wide and I asked if we could still order breakfast, the Companion co-worker rudely looked to see if they had anymore pre-made eggs left. He said we were in luck we could have the last two. I ordered two breakfast sandwich's, an orange juice and fruit cup for a total of $22.00. Not sure where the eggs were flown in from but way overpriced. Next time I will get up earlier to go to one of the better places.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great artisan bakery in St Louis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This popular artisanal bake shop with branches in St. Louis' upscale neighborhoods, Clayton and Ladue, offer 1st class breads, desserts and creative sandwiches. Open for breakfast and lunch. The uniquely St. Louis baked treat, Gooey Butter Cake, is superb. A must try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Sandwich/Soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stopped for a late lunch. Good sandwich and tomato soup and bread. A couple employees weren't particularly personable. Wanted to purchase some desserts and wanted a little guidance. Sandwich makers were nice. The friends we were with couldn't say enough about how nice the owners are. Would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overpriced, even for Clayton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

With so many better options nearby, hard to justify the price.Wish I could give this place 2.5 stars. Not low quality enough to justify 2, but a poor value. I don't even like this place when it's catering for my office, thereby free to me.

Gun to head, I'd get the Frenchie, or better yet, shoot me and maybe you'll miss and I can go next door to half & half.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Companion also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Companion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Companion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.