We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, unique, and pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
2 reviews
“Neat, unique, and pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We needed to book a hotel in the general vicinity of the Fox Theatre (6 mi.) for the night. We had local friends meet us at the pub for supper and cocktails before the event (GREAT Pub food and GREAT bar at a reasonable price.) Check-in was very personable including fresh baked chocolate chip/caramel cookies, and I was treated like a friend that had came to visit. All staff seemed cheerful and made it a point to address us. Valet service was above and beyond. Room was comfortable, clean, and unique accentuating 1920's charm. I had read reviews faulting the views of a concrete wall. True, but only due to "modern progress" on either side. Definitely an oasis and something different that a regular hotel in the area for a comparable price. (No elevators, which did not matter to us, but important to some). Charming garden area to sit and enjoy cocktails. Overall great experience and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Clayton area. Comparably priced and unique atmosphere. Great stay!

Room Tip: No elevators so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and received the experience that not only you expected but deserved.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and provide the best possible experience.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    89
    17
    23
    16
See reviews for
60
116
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Seven gables has a charming ambiance and yet modern amenities. It is in an awesome part of town - with great restaurants, bars, neighborhoods - and it's only a mile or two to forest park. Go to First Watch or City Coffee House and Creperie for breakfast (arrive hungry!). Go to Tani or Café Napoli for diner!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to see soon!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Seven Gables, and there was nothing great or terrible. It was good. The staff was a bit detached, and we didn't have much interaction with them at all. Noticed a few didn't say good morning, or greet you when you returned. The rooms and decor are inn-like, but could use an update. Carpets are a bit worn. Wi-fi strength okay, but you have to repeatedly log back in. The breakfast was included but very disappointing. Continental served in the attached Irish pub. Lucky Charms (Irish, we figured) was the only option for cereal. (??!!) A true breakfast would elevate the experience greatly. The freshly-baked, all-you-can-want cookies are excellent and a nice touch. The $16/night parking thing is way overpriced for St. Louis. Will we return? Probably not unless it gets a refit and adds a better breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and address all issues immediately.

We are working towards getting an uplift for all of the guest rooms. To date we have painted, resurfaced our tubs, updated a few other items in the rooms. There is no date set for the carpets and other uplifts but this is in the near future.

As for the breakfast we apologize for your experience. We do offer a rotating hot item daily as well as two varieties of cereal as well as oatmeal. Hardboiled eggs, granola bars, yogurt, smoothies, fresh fruit tray, freshly baked pastries that we bake in house, two juices, milk, coffee and hot tea. We will look into why these items are not being kept stocked on the breakfast bar.

We again apologize for not providing the best experience possible and all items will be addressed immediately.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Obviously a repeat visit for several of the guests--my wife and I now count ourselves among those who will return often. (Be alert to no elevators and steep narrow stairs for the upper floors.) An Irish Bar is located on the property and is the location for a daily complimentary breakfast. The location in the central business district of Clayton, MO is ideal for shopping and dining.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will be back to stay with us again.

The hotel is centrally located with tons of shops, restaurants and things to do. We are just minutes from downtown as well as the county. The St. Louis Zoo and Arch are just minutes from the hotel and there is all the shopping a heart could desire.

We appreciate your review and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just spent three nights here while visiting Washington Univ. Nice location, walkable area with restaurants, nice area park (Shaw), easy drive to airport. As expected in a small historic property, rooms are on the small side, walls are thin, floors creak. Amenities were nice, complimentary bottled water and chocolates in room, cookies at desk in afternoon. Staff very friendly. Attached Irish pub was nice to duck into after a long day, and in the morning they offer a comp. continental breakfast. It was the usual fare of breads, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Pretty courtyard in back with tables to enjoy your all day free coffee and tea. Parking was in a lot across the street, for a daily fee with in & out. We had one pretty noisy night--there was a group (wedding party?) staying at the inn and they were loud, despite an 11 PM call to the front desk. Overall it was great for us and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Its only with our guests input that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with not only the experience they expect but deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Seven Gables is truly an "Inn", quaint and charming with a beautiful courtyard.
Wine and cheese reception in the evening with nice quality wines and cheeses.
The rooms are like a bedroom at home rather than a hotel. Comfy, comfy, comfy!
Excellent staff.
The location is wonderful within walking distance of many restaurants and bars.
This will be my "go to" hotel when traveling to St. Louis

LaDonna

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and this will be your go to hotel while in town.

We do strive to make our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home rather than a hotel.

Its only with our guests reviews and input that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect and deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stay here once a year. It's usually around our anniversary. The staff is extremely friendly and quick to help with anything we may need. My husband loves the cookies offered when checking in (yummy!) and we both really like when they have a fire going in the courtyard. They offer service in the courtyard so you can order a drink and dinner. Carl is our fave - he's been there for years and always remembers us.

Room Tip: Second Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind posting.

We are thrilled you continue to come see us. The majority of the team has been here for 3+ years which is nice and unusual to see in this industry. The team all takes such great pride in their jobs and providing our guests with a great experience.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.2 mi away
The Cheshire
The Cheshire
#32 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza St. Louis - Clayton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Clayton / St Louis - Galleria Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chase Park Plaza
Chase Park Plaza
#39 of 123 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Clayton Plaza Hotel St. Louis
0.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Louis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.