We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, a break from the chains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Clayton
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, a break from the chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just spent three nights here while visiting Washington Univ. Nice location, walkable area with restaurants, nice area park (Shaw), easy drive to airport. As expected in a small historic property, rooms are on the small side, walls are thin, floors creak. Amenities were nice, complimentary bottled water and chocolates in room, cookies at desk in afternoon. Staff very friendly. Attached Irish pub was nice to duck into after a long day, and in the morning they offer a comp. continental breakfast. It was the usual fare of breads, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. Pretty courtyard in back with tables to enjoy your all day free coffee and tea. Parking was in a lot across the street, for a daily fee with in & out. We had one pretty noisy night--there was a group (wedding party?) staying at the inn and they were loud, despite an 11 PM call to the front desk. Overall it was great for us and we will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

Its only with our guests input that we can continue to grow and provide our guests with not only the experience they expect but deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    80
    12
    16
    14
See reviews for
47
101
36
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Seven Gables is truly an "Inn", quaint and charming with a beautiful courtyard.
Wine and cheese reception in the evening with nice quality wines and cheeses.
The rooms are like a bedroom at home rather than a hotel. Comfy, comfy, comfy!
Excellent staff.
The location is wonderful within walking distance of many restaurants and bars.
This will be my "go to" hotel when traveling to St. Louis

LaDonna

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and this will be your go to hotel while in town.

We do strive to make our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home rather than a hotel.

Its only with our guests reviews and input that we can continue to improve and provide our guests with not only what they expect and deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stay here once a year. It's usually around our anniversary. The staff is extremely friendly and quick to help with anything we may need. My husband loves the cookies offered when checking in (yummy!) and we both really like when they have a fire going in the courtyard. They offer service in the courtyard so you can order a drink and dinner. Carl is our fave - he's been there for years and always remembers us.

Room Tip: Second Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind posting.

We are thrilled you continue to come see us. The majority of the team has been here for 3+ years which is nice and unusual to see in this industry. The team all takes such great pride in their jobs and providing our guests with a great experience.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As soon as you pull up in front of the building, you know you are in a special place. Greeted by a doorman, handled all the baggage and even though we were several hours early, we were able to check in and check our bags. When we came back later, bags were already in the room.

We had the Jr. Suite which had 2 queen beds, small leather sofa, couple of chairs, an upright desk, coffee table, 2 end tables and enough room to roller skate. Accommodations were comfortable and nicely appointed.

Continental breakfast was provided which included hot, fresh breakfast sandwiches.

Staff was personable, friendly, helpful. The neighborhood was the kind you could walk around and feel comfortable. Number of decent restaurants in the area besides the one in the hotel. Easy access to the city if you wish.

I only wish we were able to stay longer than the one night since we did not get to experience all the hotel had to offer.

Room Tip: The Jr. suite would hold 4 people easily so if you're traveling with kids, well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

We all strive to provide our guests with an experience as if they are at their home away from home and we hope to see you again when you get a chance to spend more time in our hotel.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooner State
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Seven Gables for one night. The hotel is quaint and beautiful and the staff members are professional, friendly and efficient.

Our room was tiny. They call it a "cozy queen" and they weren't kidding! It was so cozy there was barely room for us to move around. I recommend paying more for a bigger room. The bed was very comfortable. It's one of the best hotel beds I've slept on. The carpet in our room was worn and had bleached out spots on it, maybe where it had been spot cleaned. The bathroom is large given the size of the bedroom, but the shower was not very clean. The floor of the tub was stained and the tub walls needed a good scrubbing. The heating and air system is difficult to control. It was either too hot or too cold the whole night. When you turn up the air so the room isn't so cold, the heat kicks on.

We had heard great things about the pub but were disappointed to find out it was closed that night for a private event. We were able to see the pub the next day, as that is where breakfast is served. The breakfast was better than an average hotel continental breakfast.

There is free Fiji bottled water and Ghirardelli chocolate in the rooms, which is a nice touch.

Just a couple of things to be aware of: parking is somewhere around $18 if you can find a space in their lot. There is no elevator and the stairs are steep and narrow.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We take every guests feedback very serious and address all items we can within our control.

We are scheduled to do some updates to the hotel, i.e. carpet, curtains etc... We just don't have a specific date as of yet.

We hope you will come back to visit us and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I can't say enough kind words about the wonderful staff at the Seven Gables in Clayton, MO. Very courteous and helpful - great people! However, our stay was in the end a disappointment. Be advised that this property is on the Historical Registry and so there is not an elevator to access the upper floors. Stairways are narrow and somewhat steep with narrow trends. Air conditioners are noisy and inefficient. We stayed several nights in two different rooms and both had AC problems.

Continental breakfast which comes with the rooms is served at Molly Darcy's (attached pub) and was enjoyable. Lunch and dinner fare at the pub was quite good.

Final downgrade came from what my wife styled "night visitors" - roaches in the bathroom.

Just couldn't bring myself to rate as three stars, even though the staff deserved five.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, make sure to request a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We take all guests reviews very serious and act immediately.

Our entire team treats our guests as if they are family and you are visiting your home away from home and all team members take such pride in providing customer service.

We will definitely address your other concerns and appreciate your feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The room had a loud air conditioning fan, which when turned down to the lowest setting still made too much noise. My view was of a concrete wall with propane tanks off to the left. At breakfast the stack of small clean plates turned out to be all dirty. The room was not cleaned during the day. At night in the courtyard there was a whiskey tasting with a lot of cigar smoking. The cigar smoke could be smelled in the hallway and my room.

Room Tip: Maybe the second floor, but there are no elevators?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for review.

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do often have events hosted in the Courtyard and we apologize that you were not informed ahead of time to be able to be relocated to another room.

Thanks for providing your feedback as all guest concerns are addressed immediately to ensure our guests receive the quality they not only expect but deserve.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.