We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Savannah, Georgia, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Lovely Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were in St. Louis on a very busy weekend... the first two nights we were in a "hotel" - very corporate - but then we found Seven Gables - just what we were looking for. A quaint bed and breakfast (and it has more than one or two rooms - our style). There was no view, but the room was large and quiet - and perfect for romance. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The reason it didn't get a fifth star from me - was because of our bathtub. Not what you think - I need an absolute flat surface, and there was too much of a curve for me to feel steady on my feet. Otherwise, lovely restaurants nearby, a bar in the hotel that serves - and well, life is good.

Room Tip: Next time, I think I'll ask for a room facing the courtyard - so European in feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    13
    18
    15
See reviews for
52
104
37
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at Seven Gables Inn during the 2011 World Series and it's a great hotel!

Location is in a very nice business district, plenty of restaurants and bars with the after-work crowd. About 20 minutes from downtown. Boutique style hotel, has a very "cozy" type feel and breakfast is included! Would definitely recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all of our guests feedback.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was greeted at the hotel with a delicious cookie to eat during the check in process and behind me was a free and delicious wine, cheese, and cracker tray. the room was very nice but my room was having an issue with the air conditioner as in it didn't quite work.... unfortunately it was over 100 that day I was given a shop fan to help circulate what little air was there. other than that the stay was spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled you enjoy our hotel and the experience staying with us.

With this being an older hotel and the 100 degree weather we do tend to have some ac issues during the hotter months but we do appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The entire hotel was booked for the wedding we attended which was an ideal arrangement. We walked to the rehearsal dinner. The Molly Darcy bar was a convenient place for relatives to gather. The breakfast was okay, not great, and our toilet flushing capability was not the best. But those are the only things that kept me from giving it a top rating. The staff was always available and eager to please. The structure was quaint, homey and historic. I would not hesitate to recommended the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Seven Gables is a great place for a wedding weekend, from renting the entire hotel out for your out of town guests to hosting your rehearsal dinner or after wedding party.

The team at Seven Gables is always eager to please and treats our guests as if its your home away from home.

We hope to see you the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seven Gables is a treasure. Quaint, friendly staff and NOT a big cookie cutter hotel.

We stayed at the Gables in the Honeymoon Suite for 5 nights in Aug/Sept during our sons wedding week. The staff treated us like family and we treated the hotel like our home.

Stacey and her staff were responsive to our every need and we appreciated it. No request was too big.

This is the third time we have stayed at the Gables and would highly recommend it.

No elevator but not a problem, the flights are easy and the rooms very homey.

Located in downtown Clayton and walking distance to great bars and restaurants.

They have an arrangement with a local health club that gives guests a daily pass.

The Irish Bar "Molly Darcy" located on the first floor is a great meeting place and the staff of the bar is very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

We remember group well and we had as much fun with your entire group as your group did at the hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Selected Seven Gables inn for guests attending a family wedding about 10 miles away. Since it has only 32 rooms, we were able to fill the hotel the nights before and after the wedding. It was quite special to have the whole place filled with family and friends. Everyone thanked us for choosing this small hotel, and found their rooms to be spacious and comfortable. Staff was friendly and willing to help us with everything we needed. Molly Darcy's is a convenient restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. Food there was very good. The continental breakfast included with the rooms could be improved. In addition to fresh fruit and breads, hot breakfast sandwiches are offered, but they really had little flavor and most guests left them behind. The rest of the breakfast items were adequate for a light meal. In addition, at least 12 great restaurants are within 3 blocks of the hotel. Those preferring a larger breakfast had no problem finding nearby options.

Room Tip: A few rooms are on the first floor, but most are on second and third floors. There is no elevator, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback.

We take all guest comments very seriously and address them immediately to ensure we are providing our guests with not only what they expect but what they deserve.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you are in St. Louis.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahomet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We got a Groupon for this inn so we thought we would try it out. It was lovely. It was our anniversary. It had a king bed which was comfortable. We were on the second floor and never heard other people. We were worried about that since it has a bed and breakfast feel. We got breakfast the next day. They had lots of choices. It was very good too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and will be coming back!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.