We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy, happy times!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“happy, happy times!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I just had my entire wedding party stay at the Gables. Where to start. The accolades run far and wide, starting from the top. Stacey, the GM, was more than accomodating, friendly, nice and made things easier than I could have hoped for. Needless to say, when the leadership shows this pedigree, it filters down to the staff, which is exactly what happened. The rate we got, the service leading up to the weekend, and any correspondence between us and the Gables was smooth as could be. The locale, of course was one I'm familiar with, and certainly will be a spot visited by those who stayed there this time, no doubt. The only negative was that the hotel has 3 floors and no elevators, but only one of the party was truly inconvenienced by this. I gave everyone a heads-up, so it was common knowledge for those who booked in time! The night of the wedding, the bride and I joined up with friends after hours, the staff kindly opened the side room for us--which I'm sure is standard protocol, but they could have said no. All in all, it was a top-shelf experience, as I asked everyone how their stay was. I thank them for contributing to my magical wedding weekend!!!!

Room Tip: Just be sure those elderly of your party get on the ground floor, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled we were able to contribute to making this weekend so special.

The entire team at Seven Gables Inn takes such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome.

Congrats on your wedding and thank you for taking time to post such a nice review.

We hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    14
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
107
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding held right on the premises. We stayed in a standard room with a queen-sized bed. The room was fine for the two of us. The bathroom was of good size, and the best surprise was the Aveda toiletries.

Our friends' wedding was held in the courtyard area. The wedding planner appeared a bit unorganized; however, the family and friends of the bride/groom pulled everything together with regards to flowers, seating, decorations.

The food at the wedding was excellent! The bar and drinks were also very good!

The most fun part about the hotel was the night-time staff. Those guys were a riot! They totally had fun with us (the guests) and put up with our shenanigans.

It was a very fun weekend at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

The courtyard is wonderful venue to host your wedding.

We appreciate all of our guests feedback and are thrilled you enjoyed the staff.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Seven Gables Inn -- what a delight! The location is very convenient to downtown St. Louis and the Metrolink. The staff was very attentive to our needs - providing information on transportation, events, etc. Seven Gables is an oasis in a big city -- away from the big city hustle yet very convenient. We had a room on the main floor and we didn't hear any noise/conversations as no rooms were next to ours. The interior courtyard is a lovely place for a respite at any time of day. Complimentary coffee/cookies were available in the afternoon. The room was well appointed with lots of closet space and a very comfortable bed. Thanks for the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Main floor room was very quiet as their was no room next to ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are also thrilled to know the team made you feel welcome and as if you were in your home away from home.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The rooms were nice and clean but small. Walls appear to be paper thin because we heard most conversations from other rooms. Does have complimentary breakfast but just average. In great location though and Clayton is beautiful!

Room Tip: there is a charge to park but you can find free parking if you are willing to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and the feedback.

We take all guests concerns very serious and its only with your feedback that we can continue to improve and grow and provide our guests with what they expect.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I have not been to a more charming inn, in all my life....in thestates! Nestled between the office buildings in central STL, this cozy inn is welcoming and intimate, screaming out how important you are. So much attention from Andres, which attended to every detail.

The sit-down " front desk", the ivy- laced windows looking onto the courtyard, the creaky carpeted stairs, and the elegant furnishings create old-world charm. The food was great, as we enjoyed wine/cheese late afternoon break and the inviting and lowkey continental breakfast, with excellent coffee. The room amenities were excellent with great plumbing and AC. REASONABLY PRICED, TOO!

Room Tip: The rooms tothe left side face tall office building, so theyhave no views, but sufficient privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the staff was attentive to your requests.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Loved the decor in this room. Beautiful furniture, pretty wallpaper on the walls, big comfy beds, cute secretary desk, sofa and coffee table. Huge bathroom with an exhaust fan. Only problems were very thin walls and creaky floors. I could hear the radio, phone, and muted conversation from the room next door. Floors creak so that you can hear movement above you in the night. Best to bring ear plugs for a good night's sleep. Some rooms are over the Irish bar, so that can get a bit loud as well.

There is no elevator in the hotel as it's historic, so you have to haul your luggage up a circular staircase. They will do this for you if you ask.

Continental breakfast consisted of coffees, juices, pastries, bagels, cold cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, and warm breakfast sandwiches.

Wi-fi was free and worked well. One annoyance was that parking was $17 whether you used the valet service or parked yourself in the lot across the street.

Location was great for us - near enough to Washington University and the Delmar Loop.

Room Tip: Our room had very thin walls and creaky floors - not sure if that's true for all rooms, but I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I just stayed at the Seven Gables for the second time. On my first visit (a couple of years ago) I fell in love with my corner room with large wooden ceiling beams and scads of warmth and charm. I was so happy with my choice that i actually took photos that I emailed back to family and friends. On this visit I was not able to reserve the same room, so I arrived sure that I would be disappointed. The good news is that I was wrong. My "room" was a long suite (room 317) with a beautiful and comfortable king 4 poster bed, a dining/living room with a table for 6 and a bathroom with a whirlpool tub and a shower. To be fair, the furniture was a tad old and the towels on the thin side, and if this is the kind of thing that will put you off then perhaps the Gables isn't for you. Also, having to walk up a winding stairway with a suitcase may not suit everyone, especially those with disabilities. For me, however, those were not serious issues. The staff are as friendly as can be, and the cookies as yummy as I remembered. And the price was under $200. Is the Gables perfect in every way? No, is it a comfy cozy alternative to the all too similar chain hotels? Absolutely. If you find yourself having to spend time in Clayton (sort of a boring suburban-ish part of Saint Louis), then skip the chains and stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and address any concerns immediately.

We will definitely address the items mentioned in your review. Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue to grow and improve and provide our guests with what they not only deserve but expect.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.