We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but needs a elevator” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but needs a elevator”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The most important thing to know about this place is there is no elevator. No problem if you want a room with a king sized bed but the only double queens require one or two long flights of curving stairs. This was not good as my 2 traveling companions both had physical limitations. They need to explain the lack of an elevator to people so they can choose a different place. The rooms were very clean and pleasantly furnished. The bathroom in our room was very spacious. Beds were extremely comfy. The breakfast in the "pub" area was small but very nice. It included fresh fruit and ham and cheese croissants. The desk clerk was very helpful. There is also and extra charge of $17 per night for valet parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Seven Gables Inn is listed on the National Historic Registry and to keep with the charm and theme of being an older building we do not have elevators, we do however offer valets/bellman from 630a-10p on a daily basis to assist our guests with their luggage to the upper level rooms and we also offer first floor rooms for our guests needing to stay on the first floor.

Thank you again for posting your review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    87
    14
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
107
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a great time this past weekend at the Seven Gables. My friend bought us a one-night stay so we could come visit her in St. Louis, and we loved it. The room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable, and there were cookies and coffee downstairs (all good things in my book!). Everyone was so gracious and nice, we were sad we could only stay the one night on this visit, but we plan on coming back, hopefully when it is warm and we can sit on the patio!

Room Tip: The King Suite was very roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback on your experience with us.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Seven Gables.

We look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

First, the people who work here were phenomenal to my fellow travelers and me. They exude hospitality and are joyful. The check in process was easy, and made easier by the warm and very delicious cookies provided. I love that when I walked into my guestroom I felt like I was staying at my Aunt Mary's house, and not an average hotel room. The property is an historic building which means it feels more like the Bunratty Castle Hotel than a Westin, but the charm and comfort of the place make up for the lack of modernity (i.e. an elevator). The rate was an excellent value. The bathroom was clean-ish and updated with nice finishes. It's not perfect, but its different and I liked the convenience and charm.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for posting a review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate our guests and their feedback.

Its only with this continued feedback that we can improve and grow as a team and a hotel.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Clayton's Seven Gables Inn while we are in town for shopping or for a weekend in St. Louis. We typically do not like the downown scene and this location offers a quiet and quaint view of Clayton. The hotel is clean and we have never had any issues to speak of. The staff is always friendly and make us feel welcome. This place is definitely a cut above the cookie-cutter chain hotels and is unique in it's ambiance.

Pros:

Location - Close to shopping in the business district and is a very short walk from dining establishments like Ruth's Chris

Food/Drinks - On site bar/grill where you can relax and not worry about getting back out

Unique - Seven Gables lives up to the Inn as there are no elevators and the stairs/floors 'creak' as you manuever the hotel. The place seems very authentic throughout and offers a more personal touch that most other hotels.

Cons:

Can get busy - We have stayed at the hotel several times and they always seem to be rather busy. Not that this is bad but be aware that they host parties at the bar/grill so it can get pretty packed and won't be as quiet as you might expect.

Price - I would rate Seven Gables on the moderate to moderately expensive but the room size should make up for this...

Parking - This is my biggest pet peeve as the parking lot is extremely small and it is hit or miss whether you will get a parking place or not. We have been lucky for the most part and have always found a spot in their across-the-street spots. I am sure there are other parking options if you look around but if you do not park in their lot...tell them as they will charge you for valet parking (they charge for use of the parking lot each night).

All in all we will go back so the listed cons should be taken as advice/experience rather than detriment but this is more for a couples destination rather than family as they do not have the pool/hot tub/gym setup that bigger chains will offer.

Room Tip: Ambient heat, in the winter, seems to keep the upper level rooms warm whether you have your heat on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests and their feedback and can only grow as a team to provide the customer service that our guests not only deserve but expect.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Cozy, homey little inn that is listed on the National Register of Historic places. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed with comfortable bed and chair. We enjoyed the room in front of the inn under the gable overlooking the street. The weather was a little cold to enjoy the beautiful patio between the buildings but would love to go back in warmer season. Slight staining and dirt on room carpet was a little distracting and probably should be replaced, but enjoyed the place so we overlooked that issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue grow and become a stronger team and continue to provide our guests with not only with what they deserve but what they expect.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlyle, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Weekend stay at the Seven Gables Inn was great. The Inn was built in 1920 in the "English Tudor Style" by a well healed businessman with a great fondness of the Nathaniel Hawthorne novel: The House of Seven Gables. We landed a choice room on the second floor with a view of the interior courtyard. Carl met us as we arrived and made us feel immediately welcome. He offered to park our car directly across the street from the front door of the inn (hotel owns the surface lot across the street) Parking with the in/ out access from this street level lot is very convenient and safe. We arrived around 4 with dinner reservations at Charlie Gitos at 6. So, we relaxed in the inn's bath robes while watching tv and reading the various promo magazines found in the hotel lobby. The room was spacious and clean; very comfortable and exactly what we expected for a 90 year old hotel (note: yes the hot water in the shower can be "iffy" but, hey folks the inn is on "The National Register of Historic Places" and was built about the same time Truman had the White House remodeled - I've toured the White House and I was equally impressed with this Inn)

We got up early the next morning and set out for a long walk north and east from the hotel - walking west means down then back up large hill and the wife said "no" - stopped at out-door cafe for StL Bread Co. located 2 block East of hotel. There is a Ruth's Criss Steak house within 2 blocks of the inn. The walk through the historic and well-tended residential neighborhood of Clayton was very interesting. We returned to the inn and enjoyed fresh brewed coffee with muffins and fresh fruit on the front patio outside the inn's front door - great view and very relaxing.

The breakfast in the Molly Darcy irish pub was perfect. Nice mix of fresh fruit, fresh bakery items and some hot ham and cheese croissants - excellent. This was perfect breakfast for us as we headed out for xmas shopping and big lunch with cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory of Chesterfield Mall - hey, we only do this once a year.

So, if you are looking for a great place to enjoy a fun, quiet and memorable weekend stay - try They Seven Gables Inn of Clayton.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor with view of courtyard are great. Parking is very convenient in the street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back and see us again.

We all take such pride in our jobs here at the Seven Gables and ensuring our guests are 100% satisfied with their experience.

We always appreciate our guests feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This older property delivers with great location and service. Rooms are clean, surprisingly large, but not without minor issues (hot water in the AM). Overall, a good choice. Our interior courtyard room was quiet. Some rooms will require taking a number of stairs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Our team takes such pride in their jobs and making guests feel as if they are at their home away from home and from reading your review we have succeeded.

We are pleased you enjoyed every thing from start to finish and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful holiday season!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.