We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location for Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Marion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Convenient Location for Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I like to stay at Clayton's Seven Gables Inn while we are in town for shopping or for a weekend in St. Louis. We typically do not like the downown scene and this location offers a quiet and quaint view of Clayton. The hotel is clean and we have never had any issues to speak of. The staff is always friendly and make us feel welcome. This place is definitely a cut above the cookie-cutter chain hotels and is unique in it's ambiance.

Pros:

Location - Close to shopping in the business district and is a very short walk from dining establishments like Ruth's Chris

Food/Drinks - On site bar/grill where you can relax and not worry about getting back out

Unique - Seven Gables lives up to the Inn as there are no elevators and the stairs/floors 'creak' as you manuever the hotel. The place seems very authentic throughout and offers a more personal touch that most other hotels.

Cons:

Can get busy - We have stayed at the hotel several times and they always seem to be rather busy. Not that this is bad but be aware that they host parties at the bar/grill so it can get pretty packed and won't be as quiet as you might expect.

Price - I would rate Seven Gables on the moderate to moderately expensive but the room size should make up for this...

Parking - This is my biggest pet peeve as the parking lot is extremely small and it is hit or miss whether you will get a parking place or not. We have been lucky for the most part and have always found a spot in their across-the-street spots. I am sure there are other parking options if you look around but if you do not park in their lot...tell them as they will charge you for valet parking (they charge for use of the parking lot each night).

All in all we will go back so the listed cons should be taken as advice/experience rather than detriment but this is more for a couples destination rather than family as they do not have the pool/hot tub/gym setup that bigger chains will offer.

Room Tip: Ambient heat, in the winter, seems to keep the upper level rooms warm whether you have your heat on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We sincerely appreciate our guests and their feedback and can only grow as a team to provide the customer service that our guests not only deserve but expect.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return visit.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    82
    13
    18
    15
See reviews for
51
103
36
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Cozy, homey little inn that is listed on the National Register of Historic places. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed with comfortable bed and chair. We enjoyed the room in front of the inn under the gable overlooking the street. The weather was a little cold to enjoy the beautiful patio between the buildings but would love to go back in warmer season. Slight staining and dirt on room carpet was a little distracting and probably should be replaced, but enjoyed the place so we overlooked that issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its only with our guests feedback that we can continue grow and become a stronger team and continue to provide our guests with not only with what they deserve but what they expect.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlyle, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Weekend stay at the Seven Gables Inn was great. The Inn was built in 1920 in the "English Tudor Style" by a well healed businessman with a great fondness of the Nathaniel Hawthorne novel: The House of Seven Gables. We landed a choice room on the second floor with a view of the interior courtyard. Carl met us as we arrived and made us feel immediately welcome. He offered to park our car directly across the street from the front door of the inn (hotel owns the surface lot across the street) Parking with the in/ out access from this street level lot is very convenient and safe. We arrived around 4 with dinner reservations at Charlie Gitos at 6. So, we relaxed in the inn's bath robes while watching tv and reading the various promo magazines found in the hotel lobby. The room was spacious and clean; very comfortable and exactly what we expected for a 90 year old hotel (note: yes the hot water in the shower can be "iffy" but, hey folks the inn is on "The National Register of Historic Places" and was built about the same time Truman had the White House remodeled - I've toured the White House and I was equally impressed with this Inn)

We got up early the next morning and set out for a long walk north and east from the hotel - walking west means down then back up large hill and the wife said "no" - stopped at out-door cafe for StL Bread Co. located 2 block East of hotel. There is a Ruth's Criss Steak house within 2 blocks of the inn. The walk through the historic and well-tended residential neighborhood of Clayton was very interesting. We returned to the inn and enjoyed fresh brewed coffee with muffins and fresh fruit on the front patio outside the inn's front door - great view and very relaxing.

The breakfast in the Molly Darcy irish pub was perfect. Nice mix of fresh fruit, fresh bakery items and some hot ham and cheese croissants - excellent. This was perfect breakfast for us as we headed out for xmas shopping and big lunch with cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory of Chesterfield Mall - hey, we only do this once a year.

So, if you are looking for a great place to enjoy a fun, quiet and memorable weekend stay - try They Seven Gables Inn of Clayton.

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor with view of courtyard are great. Parking is very convenient in the street le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will come back and see us again.

We all take such pride in our jobs here at the Seven Gables and ensuring our guests are 100% satisfied with their experience.

We always appreciate our guests feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Have a safe and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This older property delivers with great location and service. Rooms are clean, surprisingly large, but not without minor issues (hot water in the AM). Overall, a good choice. Our interior courtyard room was quiet. Some rooms will require taking a number of stairs.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review.

Our team takes such pride in their jobs and making guests feel as if they are at their home away from home and from reading your review we have succeeded.

We are pleased you enjoyed every thing from start to finish and we look forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful holiday season!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This place is outstanding. It is a historically quaint break from the sometimes bland modernism of chain hotels. It has a bed-and-breakfast meets German cottage feel. It sits perfectly nestled in downtown Clayton, a rather beautiful upscale western St. Louis suburb. So much is within walking distance; a wine bar, nice Main Street-style shops, and restaurants a plenty. Most major St. Louis attractions are within just 20 minutes of a drive. Access to major freeways are within just a couple of miles. If you want to stay put, that's possible too. A gorgeous courtyard is in the center of the inn. Molly Darcy's restaurant is adjoined to the hotel and is a few steps from the registration desk. The food there was AWESOME. Fantastic beer and drink selection with a great bartender. Live bands play here on Fridays. Lovely continental breakfast. Great service with super-friendly staff. I did NOT want to go home because I FELT at home. I will return!

Room Tip: Parking is difficult in this section of town; the inn's valet service is very reasonable with un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our hotel.

We all take such pride in our jobs and making our guests feel welcome.

Its only with our guests continued feedback that we can continue to grow and improve.

Happy Holidays and we hope to see you again!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel location is close to restaurants and the metro and streets to get you to the mall or into St Louis. This hotel has no elevators which isn't a problem with luggage since they have people to lug them up the stairs for you if you wish. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. There were Ghirardelli chocolates on the nightstand and Aveeno toiletries in the bathroom. The hotel had delicious cookies in the evening and complimentary coffee/hot water for tea all day. The morning breakfast was served in the Molly Darcy's Pub area and was definitely not up to par with the room accommodations and the price that was charged. Even Comfort Suites has a better hot breakfast than this hotel which was a big disappointment. I guess when you stay in a nice city, however, you really don't want to eat in the hotel anyway so if you could opt for no breakfast and get a break on the price that would be great. Molly Darcy's food was good (and of course the beer selection was great) so it was surprising that the breakfast was so dismal.

Room Tip: Our courtyard-facing room had nice large windows to let light in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

We can only continue to grow and provide the service our next not only deserve but expect from our team without our guests feedback.

Thank you again and have a safe and Happy New Year!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I booked this stay thru Priceline and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and value. We had a very nice check-in experience with a fresh hot cookie and coffee. The room was great with a very comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with lots of healthy choices. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are definitely much different than the majority of hotels in St. Louis. We do offer that B&B feel with all the modern amenities the larger chain hotels offer.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.