We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, historic property...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Just Because Package
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Charming, historic property...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I joined my family here for a weekend trip. We had 3 rooms. They were all different and unique. The rooms are creaky and old. Yes, charming. We were on 2nd floor. No elevator. The walls were thin and you can hear people walking above you. (Charming has its downsides.)

If you are used to new, clean, modern amenities you'll be disappointed. Though, I have to say....not many options in this area so you might find this your best alternative. I would certainly stay here again if I am in the area. The hotel staff were all very good, friendly, attentive and helpful.

Like another reader we found that the hotel restaurant and bar were basically closed to us because of a wedding. That was fine until we were ready to go to bed and the party was ON. Fortunately the bartender listened to our issue and let us pay cash and sit outside on the patio.

We paid $17 for valet parking, but we actually self parked in an empty lot across the street (lame, just let us park free).

Room Tip: Be aware of no elevators if you travel with heavy bags. But, know that if you take a low floor, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow as a team and hotel.

We apologize that you were not informed in advance that we had a private party being held in the pub and will do a better job in the future informing our hotel guests and its really nice to hear that the bartender found a solution that was satisfying to you. Clayton however is a very nice and safe neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars all within walking distance from the hotel.

As for the parking rate it is $17 per day, self or valet due to the limited options for parking in the Clayton area but the upside is that you never have to worry about finding a spot.

Thank you again and we hope to see you during your next visit in St. Louis/Clayton area.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    86
    14
    19
    15
See reviews for
52
106
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After travelling down from Chicago we had booked this hotel because it advertised a bar. On arriving we went out for some tea. On getting back to hotel found bar was closed to GUESTS because of a private function (wedding party)! What a shambles Room is not that sparkling either for the money we paid.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We apologize that you were not informed about the pub being closed for a private event and we will make sure we do inform all guests for any future events as this is really a rare occasion that we close the pub to the public but we want to ensure all guests are happy with their stay.

We hope you will come back and see us and see what a fun place Molly Darcys can be.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My SO found a deal on LivingSocial for 50% off normal rates. So we ended up paying $125/night for a $250/night suite. And Labor Day was NOT a blackout date (which is shocking as that's always blacked out everywhere).

You have to pay $17/night to park which is a downside.

The big downside, though, is that they don't have any place set aside for selling snacks or soft drinks (outside of the bar). And there are no convenience stores or gas stations within 3-4 miles of the place. You can get away, but maybe too far away for some.

Room Tip: There are no elevators (the building is on the National Register of Historic Places) so if mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post a review.

Its with our guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow as a company.

We will definitely look into these concerns and see what we can do to improve on this.

During the weekdays Clayton is a busy financial district and on the weekends it tends to be more laid back and quiet. There is a general store located one street over but the hours are limited and we apologize if this caused any inconvenience during your stay.

The Guest Service Agents are always willing to accommodate our guests and we can always provide soft drinks, tea or coffee to our guests during their stay at any hour and we are more than happy to do so, so please do not hestitate to give us a call at the desk! We are here to ensure our guests are happy.

We hope to see you during your next visit to the area and thank you again for posting your review.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stay at the Seven Gables Inn several times a year when I come to St. Louis on business. I have never been disappointed. A lot of the reviews on here complain about lack of elevator and other issues that come with the territory of an old, historic hotel. However, the Seven Gables Inn is known for its periodic charm. If you want all the modern amenities, then you should go to a chain hotel. The staff is great, the breakfast is great, and the wine and cheese happy hour is awesome! And, the white mint Ghiradelli squares are unexpected and a great treat every time. The courtyard is phenomenal. I will continue staying here for years to come!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review.

We are thrilled you continue to stay with us.

We are also very happy to hear that you are enjoying the staff, the wine and cheese, the breakfast and the chocolates!!

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clayton is a bustling business center during the week- and on the weekends it is a relaxed and enjoyable place to explore. Lots of boutiques and restaurants.
We arrived on Friday afternoon. The service was friendly- and warm cookies were delicious! Our room had a vaulted ceiling, which made it feel unique and large. The bed was extremely comfortable! It did smell a little musty though, and there were water stains on the popcorn ceiling. I hate popcorn ceilings.
The courtyard was beautiful- however it was a rainy weekend, so we didn't get to enjoy it. We plan to go again next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Clayton does have so much to offer and you are still centrally located to such a wide variety of activities outside of Clayton as well.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and we address every concern that is brought to our attention and we will take care of the stains on the ceiling.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you during your next anniversary.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel in nestled in the heart of Clayton and what a charmer! Love the old world feel with modern touches. Staff is superb and attentive. The courtyard is amazing and it's own little getaway for meals. So enchanting and relaxing.

Would definitely stay again.............and again..........and again!!!!

Staff is Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the staff was so amazing. The entire staff takes such pride in their jobs and in the hotel and making our guests feel welcome and its always so nice to hear how much our guests appreciate that.

We sincerely appreciate the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again and again!! Its always such a great feeling to have loyal guests.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This property combines vintage charm with modern conveniences. First off, the location is great. The property is within walking distance to everything in Clayton. My room was quite large - twice the size of a normal hotel room - with a great bed, nice flat screen tv, free wifi, and a modern bathroom. The hotel is only three stories and does not have an elevator. This annoys some, but actually appealed to me as the halls are much quieter. Service was fantastic. Each evening they provide free cheese and wine and each morning they have a free continental breakfast. For the price I paid, this hotel is an absolute steal. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the many amenities we provide.

We are on the National Historic Registry and in keeping with the history of the hotel we do not offer elevators but we do have staff on site that is more than happy to assist you with your bags to and from your rooms or we also offer rooms on the first floor.

Its with out guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow and strive to please our guests.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.