We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Molly Darcys Foodie Pkg
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stay at the Seven Gables Inn several times a year when I come to St. Louis on business. I have never been disappointed. A lot of the reviews on here complain about lack of elevator and other issues that come with the territory of an old, historic hotel. However, the Seven Gables Inn is known for its periodic charm. If you want all the modern amenities, then you should go to a chain hotel. The staff is great, the breakfast is great, and the wine and cheese happy hour is awesome! And, the white mint Ghiradelli squares are unexpected and a great treat every time. The courtyard is phenomenal. I will continue staying here for years to come!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review.

We are thrilled you continue to stay with us.

We are also very happy to hear that you are enjoying the staff, the wine and cheese, the breakfast and the chocolates!!

Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again and again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    89
    16
    21
    16
See reviews for
59
113
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Clayton is a bustling business center during the week- and on the weekends it is a relaxed and enjoyable place to explore. Lots of boutiques and restaurants.
We arrived on Friday afternoon. The service was friendly- and warm cookies were delicious! Our room had a vaulted ceiling, which made it feel unique and large. The bed was extremely comfortable! It did smell a little musty though, and there were water stains on the popcorn ceiling. I hate popcorn ceilings.
The courtyard was beautiful- however it was a rainy weekend, so we didn't get to enjoy it. We plan to go again next year for our anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Clayton does have so much to offer and you are still centrally located to such a wide variety of activities outside of Clayton as well.

We sincerely appreciate our guests feedback and we address every concern that is brought to our attention and we will take care of the stains on the ceiling.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you during your next anniversary.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Charles, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel in nestled in the heart of Clayton and what a charmer! Love the old world feel with modern touches. Staff is superb and attentive. The courtyard is amazing and it's own little getaway for meals. So enchanting and relaxing.

Would definitely stay again.............and again..........and again!!!!

Staff is Amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the staff was so amazing. The entire staff takes such pride in their jobs and in the hotel and making our guests feel welcome and its always so nice to hear how much our guests appreciate that.

We sincerely appreciate the kind review and we look forward to seeing you again and again!! Its always such a great feeling to have loyal guests.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This property combines vintage charm with modern conveniences. First off, the location is great. The property is within walking distance to everything in Clayton. My room was quite large - twice the size of a normal hotel room - with a great bed, nice flat screen tv, free wifi, and a modern bathroom. The hotel is only three stories and does not have an elevator. This annoys some, but actually appealed to me as the halls are much quieter. Service was fantastic. Each evening they provide free cheese and wine and each morning they have a free continental breakfast. For the price I paid, this hotel is an absolute steal. I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the many amenities we provide.

We are on the National Historic Registry and in keeping with the history of the hotel we do not offer elevators but we do have staff on site that is more than happy to assist you with your bags to and from your rooms or we also offer rooms on the first floor.

Its with out guests feedback that we can continue to improve and grow and strive to please our guests.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This my third time at 7 Gables and I enjoy it more each time! The king room my daughter and I shared was huge. The bed was perfect and there was a couch and reading area. This bathroom wasn't as updated as the room I had last time. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. There is a lovely courtyard that I would have enjoyed if it wasnt 104* outside. It's only minutes to West End, The Loop and Forest Park. Head south and you're minutes away from a huge shopping mall. I think of Clayton as a swanky neighborhood (lots of upscale restaurants close to the County Square Courthouse) but it's clean and charming. Seven Gables is excellent!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you want a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay.

Our Courtyard is a wonderful place to sit and relax when weather permits.

Our beds are extremely comfortable and our staff strives to make every guest feel as if they are at their home away from home.

We appreciate your continued business and look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I LOVE this place. I have stayed here once before and will be staying again 8/8/12. I will be bringing my wife and mother-in-law with me so they can experience how great this place is. Very nice, very cozy. I used to always stay at the Omni when I would come to St. Louis for business but I am grateful my friend recommended this place to me. LOVE IT.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and the hotel staff.

We look forward to your return visit!

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is wonderful! nice people, great breakfast coffe and water all the time. curteous and kind always making sure you have eveerything you need. they are working on better internet service, it's spotty. But they don't have knowlege of Entertainment card and thats where i heard of them. we still had a very nice time.

Room Tip: room 316 doesnt get internet very well at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GablesManager, General Manager at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we actually have just replaced all of our wireless access points so the internet is stronger and better than ever.

We can only continue to improve with our guests feedback and we sincerely appreciate your business.

Warm regards,
Stacey Wallace
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 26 North Meramec Avenue, Clayton, Saint Louis, MO 63105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Clayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Clayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seven Gables Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Groupon, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Clayton
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Saint Louis
Seven Gables Inn Clayton, Saint Louis, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.