We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Food, GREAT Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceano Bistro - CLOSED

Oceano Bistro
16125 Chesterfield Pkwy W, Chesterfield, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fontaine dr.
Tyler, Texas
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Solid Food, GREAT Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Menu has ample selections, but went expecting more seafood options. Still, our experience was wonderful. Katy was our waitress, and couldn't have been better. Her recommendations were on point. The petite filet was a great piece of meat, and cooked to perfection. Due to an allergy, it was clear they make everything from scratch. The lobster risotto was excellent as well. Nice microbrews on tap....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The food was good but service some of the worst. Server took our order and that was the last we really saw of him. Did not get all of our order (bread starter and ordered coke to drink). If I was to base my review of my servers service it would be a 1 all around. The food however was very well prepaired and delious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,IL
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Over the Top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Oceano Bistro but it will not be our last!!! The setting is excellent and we wish we had be able to go onto the patio. We enjoyed scallops, grouper and excellent aassortment of vegetable. Our friends like wine and said the selection was wonderfu. Friendly female waitress Christi--- who helped with a smile. Fine meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“SUPRISE - SUPRISE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My sister, her husband and I visited this restaurant because someone she is acquainted with spoke well of it. My brother-in-law opted for the salmon which he described as good. My sister ordered a filet and a side of mac-n-cheese with lobster claw meat. The steak was cooked properly but the side was bland and not cheesy. This brings us to my experience, I ordered an off menu "special" that consisted of 3 courses. The first was a plate of 3 medium-large cocktail shrimp with a sriracha inspired sauce ( tasted horse-radish inspired). The main course was Australian sea bass. Good, but hard to judge with only a 3 to 4 ounce serving! The last course was 1/4 of 2 - 3" chocolate cookies with vanilla ice cream in-between. All in all OK (what there was of it)- but wait for it - this "special" was almost twice the price of most of their menu entrees'. Needless to say, we won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We decided to try Oceano fore our anniversary. The weather was perfect so we asked to dine on the patio. The ambiance was superb with the waterfall, trees and a perfect night. The wine list is very good. As it was our anniversary we decide to splurge on one of our favorite more expensive wines. The waiter was excellent. She was patient and did not rush us to order. She had several little tips about what we could order or how to customize certain items on the menu. We both had the halibut. It was very good, we've had better but only in Alaska. Disappointing that the cappuccino machine was not working.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceano Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceano Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.