We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield to your Saves list
Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 McBride & Son Center Drive, Chesterfield, MO 63005   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Chesterfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We usually rely on tripadvisor, which has not let us down until now. How this hotel received good reviews is beyond us. It is filthy. The first room we checked into had a broken toilet. We were moved to a second room where the ac/heating system was so filthy the dust bunnies were the size of golfballs. (See attached photo.) If you turned the unit on the room filled up with dust. If you kept it off you were cold. We called the front desk again and were moved to a third room. The ac/heating unit was no better. But by then, having driven for many hours, we were too tired and realized that clearly all the rooms would be filthy. When we finally went to bed we found little black dots all over the sheets. At first we thought they were bugs. They were not. Then I thought perhaps they were lint pieces from dark clothing. On further inspection they looked like poppy seeds. We have no idea what they were and why they were all over the bed sheet.

In fairness to the staff, the woman at the front desk could not have been nicer. She tried her best to help us and even showed up at room number two, after inspecting room number three, with a can of Lysol (sp?). Also, to the Hampton Inn's credit we were not charged for the night and as Diamond members were credited with points.

But honestly, have the air vents ever been cleaned? And what do they wash those sheets in? Do they mix it with the spicing in the kitchen? If you have allergies, asthma or simply like a clean place, stay away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
So sorry you had this experience with your stay. A picture says a 1,000 words. We always learn to improve our product and service by your candid feedback. At Hampton, we have the 100% Satisfaction Guarantee, and despite the desk refunding one night's stay and Hhonors points, you are not satisfied, as we understand. We would like to therefore adjust the rest of the charges off of your bill, but I ask you to be so kind as to contact me personally. In addition, we ask if we can re-earn your business by accepting a complimentary weekend stay with us so we can show you that we are a clean, comfortable destination. Again, just contact me personally when you are ready to take your complimentary weekend and I will make your arrangements. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Jon Peterson
Assistant General Manager
Phone: 636-530-0770
Email: jon.peterson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    59
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
96
43
35
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raymore, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hotel was very clean and has a nice decor. Location is great, near restaurants, shopping and movie theater. Our room was clean as well and the hotel was nice and quiet. The front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was fine, typical for a complimentary meal at a hotel, nothing fancy but did the job of providing food so no complaints. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind remarks. We are very lucky to have so many attractions located nearby. I am glad to hear you received friendly service from our front desk staff and had a clean, comfortable room. This is the Hampton 100% guarantee and its something we strive for everyday. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When I travel to the West County Area I always stay at this hotel. Great Staff and you can't beat the Hampton Inn Free Breakfast. It might be a little bit pricier than the others around but you get what you pay for. For Business travel it has everything you would need. Wifi, desk, and a place to hang your suits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We also feel we have the best hotel staff around, and we admit, we are prejudice! So nice to hear that from our guests! As you are well aware, having stayed with us, Hampton promises an unconditionally clean, comfortable room and bed, plus the best service! If we don't provide that, we don't expect you to pay! Hope you will return to see us again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites in Chesterfield for nearly 30 days. I travel all over the States and has been my favourite place to be by far. The staff is über friendly and helpful - they certainly know the meaning of hospitality and always made me feel welcome and appreciated. Tuesday evenings were always a treat as there is a legendary reception with good eats and free drinks. The hotel is within walking distance from car rental agencies as well as the chesterfield commons (a large strip of shops and stores) and there is also a great church nearby called St. Louis Family Church - check 'em out! Having said all that, you definitely want to be here if you are looking for a place to stay near Spirit of St. Louis (KSUS)/Chesterfield.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Aren't Tuesday evenings a relaxing, snack & beverage fest? Tuesday is typically our largest check in night of the week and most guests appreciate the no-hassle of eating & drinking without having to leave the hotel after a long business day. So glad you enjoy our "legendary reception". And, as you say, plenty of places within walking distance to shop, eat and drink if you really want to get out and about. Great mention of St. Louis Family Church, too, which is right down the street! Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were traveling from Florida to Iowa and stopped here for the night. The hotel and rooms were very clean and updated, nice CLEAN WASHED duvets, choice of pillows in the room. The free breakfast was exceptional! Scrambled Eggs, ham, hard boiled eggs, rolls, strudels, cereal, yogurt, etc. Right off I64 with many restaurants on the same street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Wonderful! I do believe I remember meeting you at our front desk, the trip to/from Florida and Iowa sticks in my mind! If so, you and I discussed how happy you were with breakfast selections, comfortable bed and our helpfu, outgoing hotel staff. Thank you so much! Please come stay with us again on your way to/from Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel is convenient to campus and has a movie theater, shopping, and restaurants in walking distance. In the hotel, there is a nice complimentary breakfast buffet, with a variety of options, and fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon by the front desk. Coffee and hot water for tea or cocoa are available all day long, and the hotel is clean and well kept up. The staff is the friendliest you could ask for, and very helpful. The only downside is that the beds are not the most comfortable--certainly not the worst we have experienced, but the greatest weakness of this hotel. I would stay again for the price and convenience, unless I can find better beds nearby!.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Delighted that overall your stay was a success and we showed you great Hamptonality! We apologize for the comfort of the bed. At Hampton, we have an unconditional 100% Satisfaction Guarantee and we would want to invoke that for your uncomfortable evening by reimbursing your room and tax charges. Please contact me directly at peggy.messmer@hilton.com, Also, we would appreciate learning more details so we can correct the issue in your room. The mattresses are rotated quarterly to assure even wear and there might be a bigger matter that needs attention. Since we don't sleep in our own beds (oh, I wish some days we did!) we learn our best information from you, our valued guests! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites for a hockey tournament just a few weeks ago and all I can say are good things about the hotel and its staff. The manager and sales manager in particular did a great job accommodating our 29 person group and went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The front desk staff was very kind and helpful, no matter the circumstance, which at times with 26 young men walking around could be difficult.
The breakfast at the hotel was great, and the breakfast/kitchen staff here were extraordinary as well...very friendly, very helpful, and always had the hot and cold breakfast bar stocked. The courtyard at the hotel was great for relaxing on one of the nicest days this spring.
Lastly, the location of this place couldn't have been any better. Located walking distance from "the biggest strip mall in America" it gave the guys on the team options during their down time as well as for team dinners as there were many nice restaurants in the vicinity. Not only that, it was located only 1 mile from the Hardee's Iceplex (formerly the Summit Ice Center) where our tournament took place.
The one point of criticism I would have is about the rooms. Rooms were sort of out-dated, but still made for a great stay with plenty of room.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any team staying in the area, it made our trip very enjoyable. Ask for Jill or Karen, they were great in helping us put our stay together!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy-GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We loved hosting our hockey team! All were amazing mature young men, very courteous and pleasant. Glad your stay with us was so comfortable and come back to see us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield

Address: 5 McBride & Son Center Drive, Chesterfield, MO 63005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Chesterfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chesterfield
#2 Business Hotel in Chesterfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chesterfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to a great vacation...Welcome to the Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/Chesterfield. Missouri offers plenty for visitors to our Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in St. Louis/Chesterfield to see and do. Play a round of golf on one of our gorgeous courses (we have six near our hotel in Chesterfield). Take the kids to ride a roller coaster at Six Flags. Brush up on your ice skating skills at the ice-skating rink in the Hardee's Ice Plex. Venture with your spouse to see the lovely vineyards of Missouri's wine country. Enjoy excellent shopping at the Two Brand New Outlet Malls, Chesterfield Mall and the Chesterfield Commons, all located within just a few minutes of the Hampton Inn & Suites hotel in St. Louis/Chesterfield. We invite you to come see for yourself all of the fun things to see and do in and around our hotel in Chesterfield. With all our golf, dining, shopping and family fun, we hope to be your gateway to a great vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites-Chesterfield Hotel Chesterfield
Hampton Inn Chesterfield
Chesterfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn and Suites-Chesterfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.