We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views but average food and laughable service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mooney Mooney Club

Mooney Mooney Club
5 Kowan Road, Mooney Mooney, New South Wales 2083, Australia
02 9985 9244
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great views but average food and laughable service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

A disappointing experience.

We had been looking forward to a lovely summer Sunday night's dinner on the way back to Sydney. However, That was not be be. The food was mediocre, and the service so rude it was laughable.

The place has great views, with a number of tables on the deck overlooking the river. We asked for one of the many free outside tables on arrival, but were told they were all booked out. This turned out to be a downright lie, as most of the tables were not filled throughout the entire evening. The waiting staff just could not be bothered. Even with getting our cutlery.

The food was not much better, particularly given the $30 main prices. The tempura prawns came with normal soy sauce and wasabi. The vegetarian risotto was ok, but the salads were limp and tasteless. The chips look and taste like they are fresh from the freezer. Yikes. And did I mention the Whitney Houston music and tv screens.

Be warned!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    29
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Top place for a meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

A really great place to come for a meal and drinks with loads to choose from and good service. You do need to book as it seemed really busy for lunch but it has a great position over the Hawkesbury river and you could spend many hours there admiring the view

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Top food, top venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A great place to eat just off the M1 (F3). Fortunately we booked as the restaurant was full of Sunday lunch diners. Our table was ready for us on arrival, the service from the staff was first class and nothing was too much bother for them. Our drinks arrived quickly after ordering and the staff gave us plenty of time to peruse the menu. The 4 of us each had different meals, Atlantic Salmon, Duck, Black Angus steak and whole Snapper. The portions were generous, very well prepared and presented. I thought our lunch was reasonably priced with 2 entrees, 4 mains, 3 desserts, a bottle of wine and beer coming to under $48.00 per person.
We had an inside table but still had good views, outside dining would have stunning water views.
I will certainly visit here again.
My tip for this restaurant...make a booking

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Coastal Dining, Mooney Mooney Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been going to the Mooney Mooney Club for lunch for well over 20 years now and have always been very happy with all aspects of the restaurant. In the last few years the Revesby Workers Club has significantly upgraded the restaurant with the new name "Coastal Dining" and the standard of cuisine and service has improved tremendously. The Club also provides a commuter mini bus for patrons who make a booking in advance and it is a wonderful place for a group of family for lunch in a comfortable restaurant with lovely Hawkesbury water and bush views.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Vale NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfect time to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We called in here on a Sunday night on our way home from a trip down the south coast. We had called in about six months ago for lunch without a booking when we had to wait over an hour for a table but recalled that the food had been well above average. The restaurant area inside and out is reasonably large but it just gets so busy because it is consistently good and a great place to break the trip along the freeway. It seems Sunday night is the perfect time to visit. There were plenty of tables free and we had a choice of inside or outside. The club was very welcoming from the front desk onwards.

The bruschetta was disappointing with too much onion and rather mushy tomato. However the mains, which both came from the specials board, were great. We had a scotch fillet on sweet potato mash with a spinach sauce and a crispy skin duck on a bed of turnip mash with a mushroom sauce. The Rocher Chocolate cake and ice-cream was suitably decadent. With a couple of glasses of bottled wine and coffees we racked up $128. We will call in more often to break up the trip home in the future but will ring to book if we are calling in for lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mooney Mooney Club also viewed

 
Mooney Mooney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mooney Mooney Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mooney Mooney Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.